We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glen Boutique - Richard, Auckland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Glen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Glen Boutique - Richard, Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Probably the friendliest and most accommodating hotels at which I have stayed. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with well appointed rooms and facilities. The breakfast is excellent, and is served until noon which can make for nicely unhurried mornings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    35
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
167
39
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Glen is a unique gem of quality and service without the false pomposity of many other top flight hotels. Genuinely friendly and highly professional staff are attentive yet unobtrusive. The rooms and all areas are immaculate and everything has been so very well thought out. Location is ideal for the rest of Cap Town and well positioned for visiting other areas.
I can't think of a hotel in which can match The Glen for quality ,staff or facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb but we loved third floor with its views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Very attentively and polite staff without be annoying, they arrange everything for you. Perfect hotel for your first night in Capetown close to Seapoint & Waterfront. We've had a huge and comfortable room with a really big bathroom including bathtub and extra shower. We would come back anytime!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel over the weekend. Service and facilities were fantastic and the staff were superb and attentive down to the very last detail. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Glen is a fabulous hotel to stay at if you want a relaxing place with a great vibe. The staff are wonderfully attentive; they were always on hand when we needed the next drink by the pool!

The hotel itself is wonderfully contemporary with great rooms and facilities - if you get the chance, stay in the penthouse! It's huge, glamorous and has amazing views of the sea. The pool area has always got a great buzz, just the place to while away the time under the sun with cocktails while chatting to other guests.

Phil, Mark and all the staff must to be congratulated on creating a great boutique hotel with a great atmosphere. They fall over themselves to make sure you're comfortable, you have everything you need as well as great restaurant recommendations!

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The penthouse. Definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My first visit here but I will definitely be back !! Great and very friendly and knowledgeable staff on hand to ensure u enjoy your stay and time in Cape Town . Customer service is second to none . Breakfast is superb . I will be back next year for sure . If u r a fitness fan, check out the Virgin gym nearby too.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 2 which has a big balcony and bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A difficult question with an easy answer: just go to the Glen in Cape Town. I will explain. I stayed with my partner at the Glen this year from 8th to 15th january. Over the last decades we have stayed in many hotels in many countries and this one stands out. The most striking feature of the hotel is its incredible staff. They made me feel welcome and being looked after in a pleasant way. Somehow you feel that the staff does not consist of a number of employees but that it is a team that considers the Glen to be their thing. I had the impression that the owner wants it to be that way and that he wants to provide more than a simple job. Anyway, the staff are making the hotel.
The hotel could be described as gay-oriented. This is reflected - as is to be expected - in a certain number of gay guests. But is also straight-friendly which is reflected in number of straight guests as well. The mix is very nice as it produces a very relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is a good choice for gay and straight people, for solo travellers and couples.
The location is good. Sea Point is a nice and safe area to stay. It is less touristy than the city centre so it gives a more authentic feel. There are several good restaurants at walking distance and you actually can go on foot because it is not a scary area (on the contrary) and I can tell because I tend to feel unsafe rather quickly. The beach front is at 5 minutes walking distance so it is easy to enjoy a morning run along the seaside with the locals!
We stayed in a deluxe room. This room was spacious, clean and tastefully furnished and it also had a nice balcony. I slept like a baby.
Breakfast was a feast. A lot of options and all good. You can also dine at the hotel but the menu is limited. We ate their our first evening and after that we explored the many restaurants Cape Town has to offer. We asked at reception where to go and we were provided with a lot of good recommendations from basic braai to fine dining.
If you think this all sounds a bit to good to be true then I can reassure you: I have been in a lot of hotels in a lot of different countries and this one is really exceptional. It is a pity there is only one Glen Boutique Hotel because I would like to have a place like this in every city I visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.