We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Riviera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Riviera to your Saves list
Cape Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Belvedere Ave | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cape Riviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The rooms and en suites were fantastic, lots of space and nicely decorated.
The staff were all very friendly, offering great advice on where to eat and where to go.
I'd recommend this guest house to anyone, we had a great stay.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
67
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I arrived at 7 o'clock in the morning and received a warm welcome, a hot cup of coffee and a tasteful breakfast. My room was ready in an hour, which was vey nice, I could freshen up, leave my luggage in my room and start a fresh day in Cape town, The ambience of the hotel is classy, neat and warm. Spent many houers on the balcony, enjoying the view over Capetown. It was a 15 minute walk downhill to city center, and another 10 minute walk to the Waterfront. Ideally located at the foot of the Table Mountain and not far away from Camps Bay. I enjoyed my last days in Capetown which was patly due to this great hotel and very friendly staff!

Room Tip: I slept alone in a double room with a small patio. Very nice, clean and spacious bathroom, no compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Sadly we didn't even have 24 hours at Cape Riviera but for the time we were there, I was really impressed - our room was fantastic, the staff couldn't have been friendlier and the breakfast was one of the best I had while I was in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We are an elderly couple. The stairs to the rooms were many but fortunately there is a small lift. Very central location to CTN city bowl. Rooms large and comfy. The breakfast was not up to scratch for the price you pay. If you came letr in the morning there was nothing left and staff had to scrounge for some items. We looked into the kitchen and it was also not clean. Service on the whole was poor in the absence of supervisory staff or owners, especially in the breakfast area. For the price the rooms were OK but not service and the breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is our third visit to Cape Riviera over quite a number of years and we have never been disappointed - nor do we expect to be. The service is great and they are happy to assist in any way possible - always nice to meet Owen when he is there. Travelled this time with our 30 year old son and he was suitably impressed with everything. The location of this venue was perfect and the amenities were everything that we required as a family. Took the opportunity to make use of the overnight covered parking and do this each time that we stay - just ask! Will stay again of course, in probably four years time, when next we visit South Africa and the Cape area.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11 and 12 have the best views but the others are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The service was great. I had asked for several specific things to be organised which is not normally included in the stay and this was kindly carried for me by the staff.
The location of this venue was perfect and the amenities were everything that we required. The venue was also very close to well known and popular restaurants, bars and nightclubs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a most welcoming ,beautiful and spacious guest house in a perfect location for walking to many of Cape Towns attractions. Breakfast is excellent and all staff friendly and helpful. Our 3rd time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Riviera

Address: 31 Belvedere Ave | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cape Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Riviera Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Riviera
Cape Riviera Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.