We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dysart Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dysart Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Dysart Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Dysart Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Ascot
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Just the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our first-ever visit to SA, starting in Cape Town - what a city, and what a wonderful place the DysART is! Friendly, welcoming, a terrific room and outdoor area for breakfast, a swim and a chat after dinner with other guests.- and close enough for just a walk down to the V&A. Peter, Lo and Martin have just the best staff, and the lovely Zinny is worth the price alone! I don't know about 'Taxi Alex' not showing up at the airport for 'EllalnThe Sky', but he was there for us after the long flight from the UK, and then we had a brilliant day touring with him - what a great guy! I'm not normally prone to hyperbole, so let me just say that the DysART was A1A for us in every way, and if we're ever back in the Cape, the 'D' will be our first stop. Thank you all so much from June, Jess and me.

Room Tip: Not needed - only six rooms, and everybody we met juast loved what they had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    13
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
157
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have spent only one night at the Dysart hotel and we regretted not having stayed longer!
The hotel is to be fiound in a residential aera. They were meant to send us a taxi driver (Alex) to pick us up at the airport but Alex failed to show up. We took another taxi and he struggled a bit to find the hotel, as it is in a small side street. Nevertheless it is very well appointed; our room was huge and trendy, yet cozy. We liked the extremely comfortable big bed and the fancy shower gel in the big bathroom. We were greeted very warmly by Martin, and a little later, by Frank, one of the owner, with a glas of wonderful white wine. The staff is very knowledgeable and booked us an excellent restaurant 5 min away from the hotel, the Hussar Grill - a superbe place if you like a good piece of meat.
Will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff were wonderful and accommodating, the rooms were fantastic, the pool and outdoor area was beautiful. Amazing bathroom - complete with rain fall shower. Convenient location in a residential area about 1Km from the V&A Waterfront. There are only 6 rooms in the little treasure, but the quality is that of a 5 star hotel. My only issue with it was that we had asked if they had a twin room - they ended up putting us in a room with a double bed, and two single duvets. It also wasn't the same room that we had booked. Pricey enough but worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent over a week at Dysart and absolutely fell in love! The staff (Denis, Zinny, Neefa, Martin) were incredible. Their attentiveness and warmth will definitely keep us coming back! The rooms were stylish and comfortable and the back deck (complete with pool) was a marvelous place to have breakfast or just relax and sunbathe. Don't miss this one!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very nice B&B (or small boutique hotel) with warm hosts. Is in a residential neighborhood and indeed is probably a reincarnated house. Rooms were modern and clean. Breakfast was exceptional and the breakfast kitchen-staff were instant family. One of the more memorable B&Bs in my 30 years of traveling. Location is a solid 20 minute walk to the Waterfront along a poorly lit road with not much pedestrian traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

From Alex, the 'nicest taxi driver in Cape Town', to Martin who mans the desk in the evenings and at night, the people who work at dysART are charming and attentive. The Guesthouse is in a nice in-town residential pocket of Cape Town. We walked to restaurants in the evening and jogged along the seafront every morning. They've done amazing things with the space they have and it's all beautifully designed. I was on the top floor of the house and my room had a large balcony and an amazing shower/bathroom. I stayed for business and it was a great place to work (quiet, good connection) and relax.

The hotel staff are very helpful. Martin called dozens of restaurants when we arrived late from London after most kitchens were closed. He couldn't confirm anything so Alex helped us track down (by car) a restaurant still serving- and he refused to be paid for the ride because he was on his way home. While I waited for my ride after checking out the owner offered me a glass of wine as he was enjoying one himself, and some help with tracking down a lost coat at the airport. Not at all the kind of service you would get from a large hotel!

Deserves 5 starts and more.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was the best of the three I saw. It is on the top floor with a large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Everything about our stay at dysART was wonderful. After a week on safari, the ability to relax and enjoy Cape Town was a joy. We had a small patio off of our room, that was surrounded by an age-old grape vine. We were spoiled by the heated floors in the bathroom and our bed area. All of our reservations were made by the staff....Peter, our host, was most gracious and willing to help us with whatever we were interested in learning. Just a short walk away is access to restaurants and attractions. Peter arranged for private tours that we took, which were amazing. Do NOT miss the wine country. Spectacular. Would stay here again, for certain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 Dysart Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dysart Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.