We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Tafelberg Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added De Tafelberg Guesthouse to your Saves list
De Tafelberg Guesthouse
Molteno Road 68 | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Antwerp
1 review
“Welcoming home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have been there many times before, and each time we enjoy the fantastic location near De Tafelberg and the beautiful view over the city and the ocean.
The breakfast is always scrumptious with delicious South African and Belgian specialties. Ann and Kris give good advice concerning restaurants, trips, etc.
They and their children have become friends, and do everything they can to give a helping hand with the luggage and to make sure you get a good spot on the secure parking place.
Once you start talking to them, do not look at your watch because time flies.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bazel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying a few times at Ann & Kris' wonderful place during my annual biztrip to S.Africa. Each and every arrival at Molteno Road 68 feels like coming home. The warm welcome, excellent rooms, and not to forget the breathtaking view over the Mother city, the port and the Cape Bay, whilst enjoying a superb breakfast on the patio, is simply unforgettable.Very friendly and accomodating owners and staff.
Simply the place to be whenever in Capetown!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefbex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Very nice and quality-full B & B in Cape-town, with excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I had a very nice stay with Ann & Kris! The rooms are beautifull, everything was decorated with taste. Breakfast was also very various and tasty :-)
I would recommand this guesthouse to all my friends! Especially the view of Capetown from the terrace you will never forget...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cádiz-Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We spent two wonderful weeks at this beautiful guest house. We can't imagine visiting Cape town and staying anywhere else! Outstanding hospitality, with uniquely designed, cosy rooms.
Our hosts Ann and Chris went out of their way to think of every little detail to make our stay relaxing and memorable. The breakfasts were picture-perfect and tasted even better. We are looking forward to another visit real soon!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Most of the guesthouses we've been visiting were very friendly, but the Belgian owners Kris and Ann and their family put a new level in friendlyness and hospitality. I stayed 3 nights with them with 2 teenagers and enjoyed it a lot. Wonderful setting, ideally located, perfect rooms and wonderful breakfasts, just to name a few of the highlights. But in the end it are the only the owners who can make the difference between a very good and an excellent guesthouse.
Also every single recommendation they gave us was absolute top as well. Don't even consider about looking for a restaurant by yourself, just make them guide you around and every dinner experience will turn into a real success. At least, so did we!
You need a guesthouse in Cape Town, don't hesitate: take De Tafelberg and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium, hamme
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

The tafelberg guesthouse is a beautiful house on the famous table mountain. The owners of the guesthouse our Chris and Ann from Belgium, 2 very friendly people. They have some nice and clean rooms. Our room had a view on cape Town Bay and the table mountain!

Actually you stay a little in the people's house, they give you a key and that's it. You can come and go as you like. In the morning Chris made you a nice breakfast and he can tell you everything you wanna know about cape Town. He also know's all the place's of interest in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to De Tafelberg Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Tafelberg Guesthouse

Address: Molteno Road 68 | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tafelberg Guesthouse is situated on the upper slopes of the world famous wonder of nature, Table Mountain, that gives Cape Town its unique character. From the guesthouse there are breathtaking views over the city, the harbour, Table Mountain, Signal Hill and Lion's head. The guesthouse offers 8 well-appointed rooms, all en-suite with either a view of Table Mountain or the city. The memories of an unforgettable breakfast, served on the superb terrace with stunning views over the city bowl and the pool, will remain with every guest forever. Situated in the residential area of Oranjezicht, guests can relax and stay refreshed around the tranquility of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Tafelberg Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tafelberg Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Tafelberg Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.