We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position; good facilities; lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingslyn Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kingslyn Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kingslyn Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Hill Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
book direct and save
Ranked #51 of 152 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Redhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent position; good facilities; lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at this guesthouse when we were visiting family in Cape Town. The room was well appointed and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. We will definitely book again when we are next in town!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Second time at Kingslyn and booked again for next year.Birgit & staff just cannot do enough to assist.Breakfast is a feast and the spacious room (No 6) has the best bed ever.Perfect location.Top value


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The only negatives is that our room had dirty carpets and the rooms are not very sound proof. Our bathroom was a little on the small side. The shower door opened onto the toilet, so could not open fully. Otherwise a good located and run guest house.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We travelled down for the Argus and the Birgit made sure we fed and ready for the race, she even arranged a braai for us afterwards. The location is fantastic and close to the stadium and other touristy places. We have already booked for next years trip :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Kingslyn is a beautiful little guesthouse with about 6 rooms in a great area of Cape Town. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and tastefully furnished and breakfast is absolutely wonderful. Expect to get lots of tips for your stay in and around Cape Town from the host.

Room Tip: stay upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the Kingslyn Guesthouse our last night in Cape Town and enjoyed it very much. It is located in a nice part of the city, at Greenpoint, in a residential neighborhood, near the water and a beautiful urban park. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and stylishly appointed, our bathroom nice and very clean. The breakfast was delicious: good variety of foods, everything fresh and of excellent quality. Last but not least, the staff was wonderfully attentive and helpful. A very pleasant stay.
We did encounter two small problems: the shower door did not close properly and we ended up with a wet floor. We could not get the TV to work. However these were minor nuisances and we would go back again and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A good and pleasant B&B with old world charm and nice rooms. Well located. Friendly manager and staff. 4 out of 5 for a mid priced B&B. Great price value proposition especially during the peak period in Cape Town.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingslyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslyn Guesthouse

Address: 8 Hill Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingslyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingslyn Boutique Guesthouse, a luxury 4 Star grade bed & breakfast Accommodation in Cape Town, the mother City of South Africa. Close to V&A Waterfront, CTICC (Cape Town International Convention Centre) and the city itself, this Boutique Guesthouse is located in the suburb of Green Point / Three Anchor Bay and close to the Atlantic Seaboard. The Guesthouse a gracious manor house from the turn of the 19th century offers you the charm, elegance and glamour of days gone by. combined with the highest standard of modern luxury and hospitality.We purchased Kingslyn in 2009 where we undertook to completely renovate and refurbish this beautiful building making certain to keep its elegant charm but ensuring it was kept up to date with the highest standards of modern luxury and hospitality. The combination of new South African ownership coupled with highly skilled German management has ensured our guests get the best of local knowledge and hospitality with the added benefit of European innovation and professionalism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingslyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingslyn Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingslyn Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.