We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, no frills but great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 St. Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #54 of 103 hotels in Cape Town Central
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, no frills but great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for exploring Cape Town. If you're looking for luxury, great decor and lots of space this isn't for you, but it's very modern and clean, all the mod cons. WiFi didn't work in our room but was fine in the bar. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Cape Town is situated in the perfect area for our guests to shop, dine and have ease of access to many tourist hotspots in Cape Town.

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding the WiFi not functioning in your room, the necessary steps have already been taken to rectify this issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    173
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
118
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

HIE is my home away from home when in Cape Town but this time around I was very disappointed with my room allocation - carpet stained, bulbs out, switches not working and TV remote not working. My breakfast experience was not that great either - It was very busy and a number of tables were not cleared leaving it up to me to try and make myself comfortable. It appeared the staff were overwhelmed. On the more positive side, the bed was comfortable and bathroom clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear pusrp

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It's regrettable to see the room conditions were not fully satisfactory, however I was happy to see the bed was comfortable. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Look, it's called "Express" which means "get out as quickly as possible". You wouldn't want to be holed-up here for days on end but this place has virtues aplenty.

It is on the delightful central streets of Cape Town, albeit on a pedestrianised street so your cab will have to drop you round the corner.

It is small and friendly and all the staff seem to get on with each other. God knows why this place needs three lifts but it has them and they all work perfectly.

The Holiday Inn Express brand means certain bits of corner-cutting. No hot food, no laundry service etc.but that's fine because there are lots of fabulous local restaurants, some of which have a bill-back arrangement with the hotel and you can get away with wearing almost anything in CT.

The bar in the evening is generally supported by middle-aged business types with laptops who need a place to unwind but are too whacked or uncool to venture out.

They (actually we) get a drink and somewhere to catch-up on emails in an environment that is functional, clean, friendly but ultimately heartless.

Sometimes that's just what you need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn that you found our location to be convenient. We are well placed for leisure and corporate travellers with great access to malls, corporate offices and easy access to many top tourist hotspots.

We offer the complimentary Express Start breakfast which includes three hot breakfast items. Our same day guest laundry service is outsourced and our decked terrace is a great way to unwind with a chilled glass of South African wine

I was also pleased to learn that you found our hotel and services to your liking and I hope that we will be able to be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we spent 2 night at hotel. Everytime someone flushed the toilet it sounded like water gushing through the walls, the Reception services were not adequate, for South Africans travelling with their own vehicle think again, your car is parked away from the hotel, and on phoning reception to fetch the car, it is totally ignored. Other than that if you are out exploring the city, it was very central.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for pointing out your areas of concern during your recent stay. My sincere apologies for the problems that you encounted with our service levels as this is not the standard of service that we are striving for.

We have very limited parking below the hotel and we have therefore contracted an outsourced company to assist with the parking of guests' vehicles in the building next door to the hotel. I will certainly take this matter up with the outsourced company. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

My sincere apologise once again for any inconveniece caused. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Value for money- Good hotel and very helpful staff. The central location makes it a good choice. Approximately 5 minutes from Long street famous for good restaurants and great night clubs ;), 20 minutes to Table mountation, V&A waterfront. People are worried about safety in SA but trust me the area is very safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. It is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback from our loyal customers. It is the aim of every team member at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town to make each person's stay enjoyable and memorable. I was especially pleased to learn that you found the access to facilities in the area easy to reach.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Holiday Inn was one of the most sensible places to stay in Cape Town. It was an ideal combination of a decent hotel and at a more so decent price. The hotel is extremely well connected and is close to the Waterfront at Cape Town. Me and my husband dont mind walking and we would walk for 10mins to the Waterfront.
The hotel is just next to Taj, Cape Twon which gave us easy access to great Indian food!
In december, the road in front of the hotel had artisans displaying their wares. The evenning market was walking distance and so was the "Eastern Bazaar" - a delicious food joint serving some of the best food!

Room Tip: Try to select a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many thanks for your write up on our Hotel. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I use this group a lot and can say this is a great place. Sometimes with an Express anywhere in the world they can be remote or not in the best area. My first trip to SA and with all the reported issues, I was sceptical. No need to be. Its in great downtown plsce too. About 3 mins from Long Street.

Its like any big city, just on a small scale. Security is everywhere. If on your own keep your wits about you. Large groups will be fine. Simple as that. V & A waterfront safe. Beautiful scenery everywhere and fantastic value also. The £ goes a long way.

Special mention for all staff. All were superb.

Good luck in the AFCON but after the Norway game I watched at the bar with some staff I cant see them going far in the tournament. Why the Cape Town stadium isn't being used is beyond me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We truly value our guest feedback and we are pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay with us during your trip to Cape Town. We are very conveniently located to many tourist attractions within the City Centre.
Our Team takes great pride in ensuring that our guests feel welcome at the Hotel and I am glad that you made reference to the friendless of our team. I will definitely pass on your feedback to them.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 St. Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.