We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 St. Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it made a very good impression on me.First of all, its location deserves to be mentioned.It's very central, just opposite the main Adderley street but it's located in the pedestrian zone which is very quite at night.You don't hear the transportation noise but restaurants and shopping centers are all around.The room was very clean.The bathroom doesn't have a bath but the shower is very good, everything functions well enough for a pleasant stay. I liked the breakfasts with probably not a big choice but everything was tasty. It's nice to start your day with fresh fruits like pineapples,passion fruits etc.The front desk staff was very polite.They can provide you with an adapter which should be returned at check out.And the last but not least point to mention, though it's a 14- storey building , you don't have to wait for an elevator.They are fast and quiet. All in all, it was quite a pleasant stay at Holiday Inn Express,
and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for your great review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that you found our team friendly and helpful and that the location was convenient and easy to reach the places you needed to be.

Our breakfast offering is one that we are justly proud of and many compliments are received about our breakfast buffet.
We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    203
    49
    13
    2
See reviews for
40
130
52
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The front desk staff was AMAZING!!!! They were helpful, sweet and couldn't do more to make our first stop in south africa easy. Hotel is in a great location, lots of stall shopping right out of front. Only one down fall, only queen sized beds.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. Convenience and location are what most of our guests find to be helpful and add value to their stay. Your comments regarding are Front Desk team are most gratefully accepted and will be passed on to them as this is a great motivation to make every stay for our guests a memorable one.

We do hope to be of service to you in the future and once again thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for three nights using Priority Club "point breaks" in May of 2012.

We were treated really well, upgraded to a room on the top floor with views of Table Mountain.

The breakfast spread was quite nice, especially for a Holiday Inn Express, and the hours were more extended than I am used to in the US. There was a bar in the lobby that offered reasonably priced drinks in the evenings.

Staff really wanted to please, very friendly people.

We were also really happy that we could charge restaurant charges from a couple places around the hotel to our room and just pay one bill. The hotel also arranged transport to and from the airport for us at a reasonable rate.

A good, solid choice in a great location for exploring Cape Town. We would definitely stay here again if in town!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Grateful thanks for your glowing review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. Our team is doing an excellent job of ensuring guest comfort and ensuring a trouble free stay. The unique selling point of our hotel is our location, surrounded by restaurants and shops located on the tree lined pedestrian mall. We are certainly central to the most popular tourist spots with ease of access to the hop and hop off bus right round the corner from us.

Once again thank you for your comments about our hotel and in particular the compliment to our team. We look forward to being of service to you when next in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Fantastic staff at reception always helpful and with a smile; we arrived much earlier than their usual check in time due to morning arrival of flight from UK and they found two rooms for us with no extra charge. The rooms are decent in size and well maintained. Breakfast was far better than expected with a good choice of food.

Room Tip: If you travel with BA and book with them they will request early check in for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Many thanks for your many compliments about our hotel and our team, who are delivering excellent service to all of our guests. It is great to read how we were able to fulfil your request of an early arrival so that you could rest easily after a long flight.

Our location is one of our strengths and certainly provides all services, shops and entertainment that our guests could wish for.
We do hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed at the holiday inn express on a recent trip to cape town . The location of the hotel is very convenient , on a pedestrian only street , next to the Taj and across the stretfrom the Mandela Rhodes apart hotel. Very nice shopping on the street below.
We stayed in a family room which we found to be a little on the smaller side. The rate includes a free breakfast which is good and at par with any other holiday inn express breakfast.
Overall a good hotel in an excellent location

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for your very favourable review of our hotel during your recent stay.

Ease of stay and a convenient location are some of the factors that many of our guests are finding at our hotel and our aim is to provide everyone with a memorable experience. It was pleasing to note that you enjoyed our breakfast that you found our team to be professional.

We do look forward to being of service to you in the future when you are next in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had 1 night booked here on the 19th May 2012. But ended up staying another 2 nights - 2 days later.
We have stayed in many hotels of various types, ratings and value in many different countries but have to date, not encounted desk staff more friendly and helpful than those here.
We can not single out anyone in particular, they were all great.
On once occasion when it was apparent that we had the incorrect travel adaptor (and the hotel did not have one), one staff member offered to purchase one for us on her way to work the next morning!
Without doubt these are the best hotel reception staff in the world!
The hotel :-
The location is fairly centrally located in the shopping district. The location feels more than safe during the day but during the night the deserted shopping streets (as per most shopping districts around the world) give an eerie feel but nothing really to suggest unsafe.
The hotel itself is modern, doesn't have a restaurant but does have a large bar / lounge area with Tv's and doubles as the breakfast area for the morning.
The buffet breakfast is very nice, there is a wide selection of both hot & cold item, fruit juice, pasteries, ham etc - very nice.
As is usual in SA, the waiting staff can be a little slow in keeping some items topped up (African time! they tell us).
The rooms are spacious, modern and clean - no bath but large & powerful shower. No wardrobe - just a limited hanging space for clothes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Many thanks for your many compliments about our hotel and our team, who are delivering excellent service to all of our guests.

Our location is one of our strengths and certainly provides all services, shops and entertainment that our guests could wish for.
We do hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Cheerful, helpful Reception & Reservations staff.Hotel is located on historic ,St. Georges' Mall , convenient to Green Market Square, shops , restaurants and walking distance to tourist attractions . Included is generous , "English style" breakfast, daily newspapers which can be enjoyed inside or on balconies.. We stayed 5 days and found HI Express offered the best value and central hotel experience ..Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for higher Floor with views of Table Top Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Many thanks for your excellent review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn that you found everything to your satisfaction in particular the interaction with our team members.

Our breakfast is one of the services that most of guests look forward to on a daily basis and we have received many comments regarding our restaurant. Our location is one of the features that many of our return guests find convenient and easy to reach.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 St. Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.