We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hussar Grill Greenpoint

Hussar Grill Greenpoint
107A Main Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
+27 21 433 2081
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
uk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great choice for steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

On our first trip to Cape Town, our son said we would like this restaurant and he was right. The food, particularly the steaks were excellent and there was a good choice of wines at reasonable prices. Make a reservation if you want to eat here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    123
    29
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dinner Below Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I went on Hussar Grill Greenpoint at Cape Town, hoping that I would find the same great quality and taste in food I found in Hussar Grill Stellembosch just 1 week prior. Big mistake!!! This Restaurants just have the same name and same menu, but not the same food quality. While in Stellembosch everything was great, on the Hussar Grill Greepoint only the tomato soup, I ordered as start, was good. I Ordered a medium rare Sirloin with Bernaise sauce on the side, and creamed spinach. The only good thing was the point of the meat, that was right. The meat itself came without salt and taste, and the Bernaise sauce was really not good. The creamed spinach was not good too (at Stellembosch Hussar Grill I had the best Bernaise sauce and Spinach cream I ever had). The chicken that my wife orderer, identical (on menu) to what she had in the Stellembosch, was not good too, without salt and with the mustard just average. Would not recommend this restaurant. The Hussar Grill Stelembosch is much better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hussar Grill Greenpoint, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Good evening,

I am very sorry to hear about your recent poor experience at our restaurant. Could you please contact me at hussargrillgp@telkomsa.net so we may discuss the matter further?

Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at Camps Bay for 5 days and had 2 evening meals there which was well cooked and reasonable price. Would certainly recommend it. Reservations are advisable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Best steaks in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were looking for a good place to eat, when my friends (locals) recommended the place as having the best steaks in Cape Town. They were correct! We found the place, a little hard to find at first (its on the main road and is tucked in between many other buildings), but we were determined, and we found it.
Excellent fillets and steaks, delicious vegetables, and a lovely and original deco & ambiente!
There is also a corkage fee (which means one can bring ones own wine)
The food was soooo delicious, that we went back the following day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Perfect meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We were at rhis restaurant last year, six of us. We all liked the food so much, that rhey did not want to go anywhere else for dinners.

Now we are back and have read som reviews that the food was less good now. So we just had ro try.

I can try to persuade you - this is good food at its best!
Go for it, we dont think you could be disappointed. We enjoyed every bit of our food!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hussar Grill Greenpoint also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hussar Grill Greenpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hussar Grill Greenpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.