We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hussar Grill Greenpoint

Hussar Grill Greenpoint
107A Main Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
+27 21 433 2081
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I ate my rump so slowly and carefully as each mouthful was sublime.
I piggishly added creamed spinach, onion rings and garlic sauce. It was divine! The chocolate vodka is decadently delish! The staff was so friendly and helpful. The manager was great. So helpful and knowledge able. Al in all a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    106
    22
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good steak in Greenpoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

THe Hussar Grill remains a favourite steakhouse in Greenpoint. Last nights visit was no exception again - great food, even better service and impressive menu / wine list.

If you need a steak fix, this is the place.

However, the fish that vegetarian wife ordered was a bit dry, but what do you expect if you go to a STEAKhouse? ;-)

Otherwise no fault at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A bit over rated...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Good food, excellent wine, seating a bit cramped for comfort. Lets start from the start; I booked well in advance (1 month) to be seated on a 'communal' bench while my wife face me and the green wall behind me. I would've liked to be seated in the middle of at least at the window with a view. Service was excellent! waited roughly 7-10 mins for my ostrich steak, which was lovely. the Reasonably priced bottle of Pinotage blew me away - it was absolutely delish!
The floor layout is a bit cramped. You literally sit less than a meter away from the other tables, so talking in privacy was a no-go (especially if you there on a romantic date).
all in all not too shabby, however there are allot of better steak houses of the simlilar nature in and around cape town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times and it's absolutely fantastic. The best Calamari in Cape Town. The best Steaks. The best Beef Short Ribs we have ever had. The service is great and the setting is perfect. Can't wait to go again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks at Green Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had had perfect steaks at the Hussar Grill - a medium pepper fillet and a rare sirloin. Very tender and well prepared meats. Friendly, smiling and attentive service. Nice setting and atmosphere. Good wine list. R900 for aperitifs, pepper fillet and sirloin with sides, a bottle of good wine, desserts and espressos was very good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hussar Grill Greenpoint also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to Hussar Grill Greenpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hussar Grill Greenpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.