We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Meat, I could live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hussar Grill Greenpoint

Hussar Grill Greenpoint
107A Main Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 433 2081
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened it's doors in 1964 and with nearly 50 years of service excellence The Hussar Grill Group has become one of South Africa's premier Grill Rooms. We serve only the fines AAA grade South African beef and game. We do not ever charge corkage and our guests are most welcome to bring their own wine.We look forward to welcoming you to The Hussar Grill.
Bäckebron, Värmlands Län, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love Meat, I could live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best steak ever, most attentive waiter. good wine. And value for money for sure.
None of the 4 of us was unhappy with anything here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    164
    84
    20
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Beef Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great food and with good value. I took the 3 course meal, the food was great from starter, the ribs and even the dessert is good. Nice decorated environment and the staff are attentive and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A firm Family favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This has become our regular Sunday evening family treat place. Always great service and great food. the staff are friendly and make one feel very welcome. Of course by now they know exactly what we will order, Our son is an extremely fussy eater. This restaurant is his all time favourite. Great value, great atmosphere, great service. Cant go wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“It's been ~12 months since my last visit and still EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I can honestly say that eating at the Hussar Grill Greenpoint has been my finest dining experience in South Africa. Having eaten for lunch previously and more recently dinner, I have been been totally impressed both visits.

Firstly, I have always received a warm and friendly welcome from the staff. Having been seated at a table of my choice (options were offered), I was swiftly introduced to my waiter for the evening.

The restaurant was perhaps 40% full on this early Sunday evening with various sized groups, it was a nice atmosphere and I was not overwhelmed with noisy conversations from other diners.

The restaurant is traditionally set out, with screening between restaurant parts. Dark wood, wine bottles and great photographs set the mood.

I have only eaten meat at the restaurant but the fish menu looked just as good. This time, I chose a small starter to be followed by their 200g "fillet steak carpetbagger", accompanied by a nice blended wine.

Service / Delivery was impeccable and the food presentation was excellent, and the aroma and taste even better!

This restaurant provides both high quality standard food and innovative specialities which are well worth experimenting with. You will generally receive a sauce with your meal (as described) but can ask to have them plain (but what's the point in that!).

If you are in Greenpoint, want to have an excellent dining experience whether for business / romance or good friends then I recommend the Hussar Grill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

2 dishes on 2 different evenings. Same good quality food and service. One cannot go wrong. I can recomend this to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hussar Grill Greenpoint also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hussar Grill Greenpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hussar Grill Greenpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.