We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Dreams Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added African Dreams Guest House to your Saves list
African Dreams Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 A Francolinrd | Camps Bay, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had a great stay at African Dreams. Fanie and Jeanette bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and couldn't have been friendlier. Camps Bay is a great option in itself - close to the city but relaxed and picturesque. We stayed in the Elephant Room which was as spacious and comfortable as we could have wanted. The walk to the Bay is about 20 minutes. We would definitely recommend hiring a car as this works out much cheaper than getting taxis everywhere. We also did a great wine tasting day with their son Hansie who runs his own tour operator business - couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights over Christmas December 2008. We were in the Leopard Suite which can be made up as a twin or double, and was really spacious with a sofa, kitchenette and en-suite bathroom. There were large glass sliding doors which looked straight out onto the pool and the ocean view beyond.

The location is set high above Camps Bay, and it would be quite a walk down to the bars/restaurants. We drove as the hike back wouldn't have been very easy!

African Dreams is family run, and extremely welcoming. Breakfast is taken either outside or inside depending on the weather. But either way you get the most amazing sea view.

I would defiitely stay here again as it's a great location for Cape Town, Camps Bay and other attractions.

  • Liked — Location and friendly welcome
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We stayed for 7 nights in Feb and would firstly just like to say a big thank you to Fanie and Jeanette, for making our stay so enjoyable. They are really just great hosts and will book, sort out and arrange just about anything you want. Nothing was too much trouble. Great location and breathtaking views of Camps Bay. The only thing I would point out is that the walk down to the Bay is about 30 mins and some of the walk is steep. We never walked back (Taxi was £3.50) and with such great food and wine, it did us no harm in burning off a few calories!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

We were lucky enough to have the Penthouse room with fabulous views over the bay. The whales were out in force the evening we arrived blowing out on the bay making our sundowner drinks on the balcony even more unforgettable. The welcome we received from the family meant we felt like we were staying with friends, not just a hotel or guesthouse. They were all so warm and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They helped with road maps, ideas, etc. - all of which added so much to our enjoying our stay. Breakfasts were fabulous - again nothing was too much and it was so good a start to our day we never needed to stop for lunch!! The room we had was great - kitchen, wonderful bed, views on three sides, great bathroom. Faultless and superb value. Only minutes away from the great restaurants in Camps Bay like the Codfather - a must for fish lovers! I highly recommend this accomodation if you want to feel at home in Capetown yet have the best of views and food as well. A true home from home in a superb setting!

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

I would thoroughly recommend staying at African Dreams. We stayed there for 4 nights in November this year and the sunsets from the pool area were amazing. Jeannette and Fanie are so helpful and friendly. The breakfasts on the balcony are also something special. A special mention as well to Hansie (Jeanette and Fanie's son) who will arrange day trips and tours for you through his company African Pulse (www.african-pulse.com) - again, thoroughly recommended - we did a 6 day Garden Route tour with Hansie and it was great fun! The guest house is well located for the beaches of Camps Bay & Clifton and also for Table Mountain and all you desire to do in Cape Town itself. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed in South Africa for the first time this year. When we arrived we had a B&B pre-booked but after a few days we went around Cape Town to find another accommodation (the first one was nice, too). Luckily, we found this lovely guest house in Camps Bay. It is nicely situated so you have a wonderful ocean view. Rooms are very stylish and nice. Both hosts, Jeannette and Fanie, were wonderful and helped us a lot when we asked for a restaurant reservation or general tips. They also serve a wonderful breakfast on their terrace which is the best start of a wonderful day. The next time we come to visit Cape Town we will make sure to stay at the African dreams guest house.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

African Dreams...Wonderful Guest House in Camps Bay, recently spent two weeks there with my family (party of 5, including two young children). Lovely rooms and great facilities, lip smacking breakfast, the most amazing views over Camps Bay and absolutely wonderful hospitality. The guest house can also arrange tours, day trips etc with a great guy ,Hansie, we actually took a wine tour with him for the day and had a fabulous time. Highly recommend this guest house accommodation and the great facilities they offer.

  • Liked — Friendly and Helpful, excellent facilities, breakfast and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Dreams Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Dreams Guest House

Address: 17 A Francolinrd | Camps Bay, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — African Dreams Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the slopes of Table Mountain in the heart of magnetically beautiful and picturesque Camps Bay, African Dreams Guest House delights guests with elegant, private and relaxed bed & breakfast accommodation. Known for our warm hospitality and service, African Dreams provides an extensive range of services and facilities to cater to all the needs of our guests. Allow yourself to be pampered in our exclusive in-house beauty salon, or simply lie back and relax at the pool with a cocktail, taking in the amazing panoramic views of the mountain and shimmering beaches. African Dreams combines outdoor living with excellent facilities and services, as well as a unique and warm South African charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your African Dreams Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Dreams Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Dreams Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.