We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cape Rose Cottage to your Saves list
Cape Rose Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow what a place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had never been to south Africa before. - this was to be our holiday of a lifetime. We chose Cape Rose Cottage to start our two week adventure after readung other reviews. And what a choice! There are no words that can really do it justice. The location overlooking the bay is superb. We chose the lavender suite with a magnificent vista. Five star room with its own kitchen and a shared lounge next door. Our hosts Pam and Steve made us so welcome. We were treated like friends, not guests. Nothing was too much trouble. They recommended places to see, places to eat (even gave us a bottle of wine to take with us on our first night out). The best compliment we can give is that this felt like our home away from home in a most beautiful corner of the world. Thanks Pam and Steve, hopefully see you sometime soon. If you are heading to cape town make this your place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
240
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

From the moment you drive up the avenue and you see the stunning mountain range in front of you and then you go through the gate and walk down the steps to this gorgeous cottage, you just know you are going to love it here and that you have made the right choice. It is a picture perfect postcard cottage and Pam greeted us with a lovely warm smile and made us feel very welcome in their home from the outset. When you are taken upstairs to the beautiful lounge and all you see is the wide expanse of blue ocean which almost takes your breath away you feel so happy that you are staying in this beautiful place. Then you are shown to your room which is decorated so tastefully in beautiful aqua colours and everything is so fresh and light and romantic. So much thought, care and attention to detail has gone into making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible and all the loving touches make you realise that this is not just a B&B but an extension of Pam and Steve's beautiful home which they obviously love and take good care of. The lovely garden was in full bloom and so pretty and together with the majestic views makes this place so very special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A brilliant B&B well maintained and first class accommodation with stupendous views and wonderful hosts who are on hand if you need any information. Much more preferable than staying in a hotel where they are all much of a kind but Cape Rose has everything you could possibly need in a homely atmosphere but yet offers luxurious accommodation where you feel totally at peace and at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

To say the least Pam and Steve openly and warmly, invite you into their beautiful home with the most amazing loving welcome that makes you feel at home immediately. We were overwhelmed with the Lavender suite which was spacious, beautifully decorated with the most spectacular view of the ocean including a back view of the Apostle mountains. We enjoyed being able to have breakfast at leisure on the balcony with a well stocked kitchenette of breakfast eats. The spacious lounge with comfy sofas, honesty bar, selection of books and DVDs provides the setting for enjoying beautiful sunsets while sipping your favourite drink. The added luxury of the beautiful four claw bath and separate shower with a selection of exquiste bathing products adds to the luxurious feel and decor. We were sad to leave and will definately be back. We highly reccommend Cape Rose Cottage for an unforgettable experience of exquiste luxury. Thank you Pam and Steve!

Room Tip: The Lavender Room is beautifully decorated with the luxurious sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in Capte Rose Cottage 4 nights. We chose the bottom apartment, which had a very well equiped kitchenette, a nice patio which was great for breakfast, and was quite private, although it was next to the owner's private quarters. Pam and Steve provided everything that a tourist can possibly need or forget to bring along, from body lotions to painkillers, had wi-fi, a good TV, sound system, lots of books, movies and CDs to keep you entertained. It is located in a residential area, not on the beachfront, but 5 minutes from it by car, which I thought was ideal, because it's away from the hustle and bustle and you can easily escape there for some peace and quiet. But what really made it special was Pam and Steve's warmth and the care you can feel they put into their business and their guests. They gave us great tips of places to go to, made reservations for us, and even offered a later check-out if we needed. There's no doubt in my mind that I'll be checking-in at Cape Rose Cottage on my next trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: If a beautiful view is top on your list of priorities, choose one of the suites on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our stay at Cape Rose Cottage was absolutely fantastic. We are two couples travelling from the UK celebrating our 50th birthdays and Pam and Steve couldn't have given us a warmer or more genuine welcome and to top it all champagne to celebrate on arrival! They were also so helpful with itinerary and restaurant suggestions which were all first class. The accommodation surpassed our expectations and is even more stunning than it looks on the internet. Our spacious rooms were so charming and beautiful with heavenly views of the ocean and twelve apostle mountains. Cape Town is such a beautiful City and we were completely blown away by the magnificent scenery and the warmth of the South African people. We will not hesitate to recommend this establishment to all of our friends and family and our only regret is that we did not stay here long enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay in a beautiful location at Cape Rose Cottage with the most gorgeous, comfortable and romantic room and beautiful sea views. This was a great place to just relax and chill out in the middle of our trip and take things a bit easier. We loved sitting out on the open deck with the wide expanse of blue ocean and spotting dolphins in the bay on one lucky day which we were thrilled about. This is a wonderfully located spot whether looking for a romantic holiday, sightseeing in and around Cape Town or just staying put in Camps Bay with its stunning beach and many restaurants, bars and cafes. Beautifully appointed and decorated rooms and attention to detail a given, A very definite recommendation and looking forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rose Cottage

Address: 8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in Camps Bay, Cape Rose Cottage is a 4 star graded guest house nestled under the Twelve Apostle mountains and is a beautiful haven for the discerning traveller offering breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, magnificent sunsets, peace and tranquility, beautiful gardens, the sound of birds and gorgeous upmarket accommodation close by to the beachfront and restaurants. Pam and Steve invite you to enjoy three beautiful, romantic and luxurious suites with heavenly views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Cape Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Rose Cottage Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Rose Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.