We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor quality rooms a lot of noise and limited parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camps Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Camps Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Camps Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 3000, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg
1 review
“poor quality rooms a lot of noise and limited parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

If you are going to explore Cape Town not place to stay parking limited and access difficult. Appartments are extremely noisy with pub that operates to early hours accross the street. bathrooms date from the sixties and minute. Water pressure weak. Second bedroom so small not even room for a cubboard.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    109
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
120
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed in Brighton Court for a weekend at the begining of Feb '10. This is part of the Camps bay resort (well I believe the the flat we rented is now managed by them).

Pro's:
* AMAZING view of the sea pool
* Lovely fluffy white towels
* Decor in the flat was neutral and I really liked it, especially the bedrooms.
* Parking was included in our rate - check if this applies to you - which is great as Camps Bay can be notorious for finding parking
* Easy check in

Con's:
* Air con unit outside our bedroom was noisy in the night - you couldn't open your window
* While the sitting room/kitchen/diner has fabulous views over the sea, the bedrooms had pretty random views of concrete. But to be honest, we were only sleeping in there so this is not really a con, mainly an observation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachbus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Having spent a couple of weeks in Cape Town this was for the money the weakest hotel. But we new you paid a premium for the location and Camps Bay is beautiful. We had a studio and was there for 3 nights. During our stay we didn't get our room cleaned once and with a baby the rubbish was starting to build up. Our room was in desperate need of modernisation but did the job. The pool was beautiful and always managed to get a sunlounger. It was all just fine. Not great but certainly not awful. For a few days i would recommend as you are opposite the beach and have some great bars and restarurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Arrived at 2am on New Years Eve, greeted by the night porter and assisted to our accomodation La Mar Bella, this is a one bed apartment in the beach studios building. This apartment is separated from Camps Bay Drive by a wall so it does get a lot of noise from the road.
The apartment consisted of a large living room/kitchen, a good size bedroom with large ceiling fan which was handy as leaving the window open at night was not an option due to the road noise. There is a safe in the wardrobe which is free. The bathroom had a good walk in shower. There is no full length mirror in the property and the hairdryer is rubbish - bring your own.
Breakfast is served in the palm cafe and was adequate, service was variable, I did think that I was completely invisible one morning!
Reception facities were good and the staff professional, they booked taxis for us and we saw them book tours and trips for other guests. There is a laptop which can be used by guests, R30 for 30 minutes of internet access, we used this to check in on line for our flight home. I was able to send and receive emails on my ipod touch without buying internet access which was great.
Although not advertised it is possible to purchase soft and aloholic drinks from reception, pool towels are also available.
There are 2 small pools but only a dozen or so sun beds, not really enough for the number of guests.
The location is good for exploring Camps Bay, very close to the beach and restaurants. Overall this is a good value place to stay and we would go back.
I have give the accomodation 3 stars due to road noise however not all studios/apartments have a problem with this.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We LOVED the location of this establishment, very close to the beach, restaurants and coffee shops. Just a pitty the weather didn't play along. The resort had all the basics that we needed, nothing over the top. The staff where very friendly and assisted us in planning our day trips. For what you get this resort is VALUE for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

After a night in a hostel in downtown Cape Town this place was pure luxury. So central in Camps Bay with great views of the Apostles i would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Basic but clean
Tired bathroom
No view
Excellent location
Safe
Well equipped kitchenette
Comfortable beds and good quality linen.
would go again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camps Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Resort

Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 3000, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Resort boasts a selection of 40 rooms, studios and apartments which have been prepared to guest specs. The resort is walking distance to the shopping centre and the world-famous Campsbay beach and well-known "Strip," which is lined with restaurants. When the sun goes this is the place to be!!! 1.Family Stays 2.Honeymoons 3.Adventure 4.Extended Stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Camps Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Resort Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.