We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nearly perfect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camps Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Camps Bay Resort to your Saves list
Camps Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nearly perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

This accomodation was perfect for us in many ways - 20 mins drive from the V+A waterfront in Cape Town, near the restaurants and beach in Camps Bay, and a perfect backdrop of the Twelve Apostles.
What a shame on the last night that the 'near perfection' was ruined because we had a power cut and were unable to get hold of any member of staff (either on the premises or on the out of hours telephone) and had to spend the night wet and cold and unable to get warm or see anything. So very close..................!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    116
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
79
124
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We had a standard studio called 'Copacabana' in the Beach Studios block. It was one of the ground floor rooms opening out onto the poolside, close to the reception. I'd highly recommend these particular units - we had no problems with traffic or noise from nearby bars that other reviewers have mentioned. Our room did not have an updated bathroom unlike the other ground floor rooms opening on to the poolside, but it was a great size with all we needed, a fantastic bed, and it was clean. Only criticism I have was that housekeeping leave all the lights and TVs on for late night arrivals which seems unnecessary, and on our final night the adjacent room's TV was on really loud all night as the people who were taking the room hadn't arrived.

The breakfast provided was actually at a close-by cafe with views of the ocean because it was the off season I think. Breakfast could be taken between 7am and 1pm and was good but there wasn't really a healthy/ light option (full english, omelette or muffin with tea/coffee).

The reception were really helpful at all times with booking activities, sorting out any issues with the room etc etc. Parking can be reserved for an additional R50pn which is reasonable, and they have a selection of alcoholic drinks available for a reasonable price (these services weren't advertised, so just ask at reception).

We got a fantastic rate through Expedia - 4 nights for c£100 total incl. breakfast in May, which made Camps Bay Resort ridiculously good value for money! We'd have happily stayed there for twice the price.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed here in January for four nights. We started off in room towards the beach (rather than nearer the pool) and although the room itself was large with sea view "glimpses" it was very noisy - you can hear the cars roaring along the road and the bars closing at night - we were there during the week so I can imagine this problem would be even worse at weekends. Although of course if you are planning being out in Camps Bay till the early hours then this would not be a problem at all. The other issue with this room which was a one off but was frustrating was that they were continually painting the floors outside the room so everytime we returned to our room we had to skirt around the edge of the staircase or got stuck on the wet paint! However, we spoke with the receptionist who was very helpful and we were moved to one of the rooms directly by the pool which was much quieter. Throughout our stay the staff were excellent with good advice when needed and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are very spacious with excellent quality bedlinen and comfortable beds. As we were eating out we didn't need the kitchenette and I do find it slightly odd sleeping in a room which feels like a kitchen with a bed in it! But for people with children or those on a tight budget I am sure it would be great. The breakfast was good although only one "healthy" choice which we were tired of after four mornings - muesli, fruit and yogurt. All the cooked choice were big breakfasts and not what we wanted in the heat. The pool was lovely and large with a few sunbeds and staff supplying drinks if required. Another excellent perk is that if you need to use the internet but don't have a computer then you can use the business centre at the lush Camps Bay Hotel up the road - which I must admit is where I hope I will be staying next time we are in Camps Bay - if the budget allows!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Well the twist for my visit was two fold as my first trip to SA, 1) as part of a honeymoon 2) taking a city and beach break in one. This hotel delivers on both levels although I would rate as clearly as 3 star compared to UK and other international hotels, this would not rate as 4 star on SA Standards.
Arrival: Finding the accomodation is reasonably easy (South African road signage is sometimes pretty poor compared to UK standards - tourists are not given much help) road works in Cape town for the World cup currently do not help matters when trying to get to Camps Bay for the first time. When you arrive at the hotel you will find only two arrival car parking spaces, which is tricky with limited on road parking, when I imagine most arrive in a car. Hotel provides secure parking at resonable rates. The inital welcome I would rate 7/10, awareness that many English vistors arrive on overnight flights ensured our room was ready early for our arrival (11am). Points for improvement on arrival would be to be given full attention when greeted and processed (other issues often distracted receptionist), a greeting drink and cold refreshing towel would always be welcome for those extra stars after a long flight!
Room: 7/10. Rooms or "Unit" is of reasonable size. Romantic package was well delivered and recommeded. The rooms are clean and fresh no visible dirt/dust, although generally dated (style aside). Nice wooden flooring throughout. The cleaners do a good job with what they have. The bathroom in 39 requires updating, mold patches around shower which could be dealt with in a room which is well ventilated - time has caught up with it. Bed medium firm, bedding/linen crisp and white. New fresh towels daily. Room did not have A/C but fan provided, noise from road outside limited having window open at night when its hot! Kitchen area, like the bathroom is dated but clean. Complementary drinking water not provided in fridge which would have been a nice touch compared with competative set, fridge noisey old and a bit of a hummer..! Television reasonable choice but did not provide all the channels listed and picture quality on some channels below average, English Sky news available. Laundry service slightly expensive but good quality. Single door to the room did not feel too safe in terms of strenght and robustness for security.
Food: Breakfast was good, cereal with yoghut and fruit followed by a hot breakfast of the day (no choice), English tea as it should be. Breakfast served to you, service polite and quick. Eat on the decked or covered area by reception. The hotel recommends (could be linked with) a bar/restaurant called Primi, next to hotel - Although Primi is cheap, I have to say unfortunatly it was worst meal on whole trip to SA when the food in SA is excellent. Quality of food at Primi very low, my wife did not agree to well with the food afterwards. Camps Bay offers some excellent places to eat (i.e Kove. 5*) many in easy walking, do not waste your evening at Primi. Poor food & service 3/10.
Location: If you have a car, perfect for Cape Town (10/15mins drive) and surrounding attractions, tour bus stops nearby, 2 skips to the beach, amazing sunsets (on beach). Many rooms do not have seaviews even though hotel is virtually on beach. Cash machine (ATM) in a convenience store opposite ("Pick n Pay" a national chain - bit like Tesco/Sainsbury express). Warning some evenings outside the store attracts people from social poverty backgrounds, occasionally feels threating in the dark, would avoid taking cash out of the machine in the evenings.
Good for: Couples, Honeymooners. Not so good for, young, elderly or disabled (lots of steps to rooms)
Overall a pleasent stay, would I go back - maybe...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

What a poor place, the "blocks" are like pre war London Flats
The staff were good enough but this place is definately NOT 3*, at best it is 2*
We would cerainly not go there again and would advise others from going

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Helpful & friendly staff, great breakfasts served on the patio, small but pleasant pool area to chill out after your long flight. We initially had a room that backed onto the road and we asked to move to somewhere a little quieter, and the staff were yet again very helpful and for a small fee we moved to room with lovely sea views, where we watched the dolphins jumping every night over sun downers. More an apartment feel to the place, ideal for exploring Camps bay and the Cape.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

It was our first visit to South Africa and our first port of call and Brighton Court in Camps Bay was perfect. Its beachfront location is superb and our 3-bedroom apartment had a fabulous view through its huge bay window overlooking the beach. The only downside to the apartment was having just one bathroom between the 5 of us (2 adults, 2 kids aged 16, 11 and 11). We stayed on a self-catering basis and bought breakfast from the local supermarket which was more than adequate. Breakfast was provided for guests in a small area near the main reception office for those on b & b or for a charge. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful when booking excursions, restaurants etc.

Camps Bay is a perfect location for all the sightseeing in Cape Town. The hop-on, hop-off sightseeing tour bus stops just outside the Bay Hotel and is a perfect way to get your bearings around the city.

The restaurants along the beachfront are bustling, lively and so reasonable (compared with UK prices) and if the exchange rate is good you can eat very cheaply indeed and enjoy great cuisine. You should also be aware of the "leisurely service" in all restaurants!

Camps Bay itself is in a beautiful setting with the 12 Apostles as its back drop, just 10 min drive to the V & A waterfront and lovely beaches ............ what could be better?

  • Liked — its beachfront location and proximity to Cape Town
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camps Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Resort

Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and a stones throw from the most beautiful beaches in Cape Town, Camps Bay Resort is perfectly located for your dream holiday in this idyllic location. Within walking distance from an abundance of day and night activities, cafe's, sundowner spots, cocktail venues, fantastic restaurants and places to be seen, staying at Camps Bay Resort is both fun and convenient. A favourite pastime at Camps Bay Resort is to soak up the sun at the two swimming pools located on the property. Boasting a selection of 47 rooms, studios and apartments which are serviced and immaculately prepared, you'll find the perfect accommodation for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camps Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Resort Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.