We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First hand accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camps Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Camps Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Camps Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 3000, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First hand accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

15 minutes from City bowl by car via Kloof;
Primi Piatti convenient with good food and staff;
Also a lot of other restaurants;
Next to the Theatre on the Bay;
Rest of Camps Bay is walking distance;
On the hop on hop off bus route through the Peninsula;
Sunny with excellent views to the Atlantic and the Twelve Apostles;

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny for autumn months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    108
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
120
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Superb location just 2 minutes from the beach, supermarket and restaurants.. The room was large albeit basic but perfectly adequate for a weeks stay given we didnt spend too much time in the room. The Primi Piatti restaurant around the corner was superb--great food, super atmosphere and lovely staff. We had vouchers from Camps Bay resort to use for breakfast there but they were quite happy that we used them for evening meal and this proved a great saving. Our only slight niggle with Camps Bay was that the bed linen was not changed mid week as advertised and despite 2 requests we still didnt get new linen. Was also good that you could use the pool facilities at the Bay Hotel 2 minutes walk away. Car parking available at modest cost for hire car and above all this was a perfectly safe venue. Also bus stop for Cape Town hop on hop off bus just around the corner. In short a very suitable spot for a weeks stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear SallyP
Thank you for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not restrict the use of the breakfast voucher for breakfast only and are redeemable for lunch and dinner. Our dedicated and supervised housekeeping team provides daily (Mon-Sat) refresh service as well as linen and towel change after every 4th night. On Sundays and Public Holidays, housekeeping can be arranged on request at an extra charge. As guests of the Resort you do have access to Sandy B Beach club at the 5 star Bay Hotel.
Kind regards
Alan Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were upgraded to a room with an ocean view, two bedrooms, two bathrooms a large kitchen with all necessary utensils...
Check in was smooth and the wasstaff very accomodating and incredibly nice..
If you get stuck nights with alot of rain, it would be nice to have a few more channels on the TV and better internet connection. The location was spectacular within a min walk to everything...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This resort is awesome, we checked in late around 20:00hrs on Sat 6th April 2013, but were well received . Many thanks to Gift, who checked us in efficiently and helped us with choices of activities around Cape Town. We stayed in Satorini room which is upstairs and there was no noise at all. What we liked most was the spaciousness of the room. It was immaculately clean and the, the free standing bath tub was excellently positioned and could watch TV while relaxing in the tub. Because of the weather, we were unable to use the pools, but they are positioned.

The only snag, was the bed, they put 2 3/4 beds together making sleeping a little bit uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs as you can view table mountain and the beach nicely. We were in Santorini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Kaze798
We are so pleased that you responded on Tripadvisor. Our Reception hours are from 07:00 until 22:00. For any later arrivals either one of our front office staff or houseman will be available to welcome guests. We do encourage that guest provide an estimated time of arrival to avoid any delays in rooming. The king bed in most of our apartments can be converted into twin beds to accommodate guest that do not necessarily want to sleep in one bed.
Kind regards
Alan Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's the second year we stay at Camps Bay Resort .Last year we stayed in a apartment facing the Road ,nice and spacious just a bit noisy at night.This year we sayed in a nice big room facing the pool.This is an ideal place to stay for my wife and I, as i come to CT to do the Cape Argus cycling toer,and my wife likes to chill in Camps Bay with all the restaurants and the beach and Sunday she can see all the cyclists come past....We can also enjoy having some sun downers at the pool at Camps Bay Hotel as we also have accesses to All in all a very nice place to stay....

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are exellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location....but no free parking..and in camps bay parking is a problem...so why not include the parking in the price ??..loved our room and it had an iron and ironing board which was great as we had been travelling all week ..our clothes needed an iron !!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Wix_12
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we are limited in the number of parking bays available on the premises. However there is on street parking bays within walking distance of the Resort. We do encourage our guest to pre book parking to avoid disappointment. Our apartments do cater for most guest needs and irons and ironing boards are available in all apartments. We do also provide a laundry service.
Kind regards
Alan Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and this was a great location. We loved the apartment with its 2 bedrooms, huge beds, kitchen, dining room, lounge, bathroom, en-suite, laundry rooms, TVs etc. We were looking over the beach & sea. The whole site is secure and gated. Staff were very friendly. Two mins walk from some great restaurants,.

Room Tip: Sea view apartments were excellent - though you get a little noise from a) the road, and b) the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camps Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Resort

Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 3000, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Resort boasts a selection of 40 rooms, studios and apartments which have been prepared to guest specs. The resort is walking distance to the shopping centre and the world-famous Campsbay beach and well-known "Strip," which is lined with restaurants. When the sun goes this is the place to be!!! 1.Family Stays 2.Honeymoons 3.Adventure 4.Extended Stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Camps Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Resort Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.