We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camps Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Camps Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Camps Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 3000, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The team helped with everything I requested, nothing was too much trouble: restaurant bookings, excursions, car hire, photocopying, printing. Excellent I will be back. problem is with this feedback, a minimum of 200 words is far too long .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    109
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
120
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only stayed one night at the end of a trip to Cape Town. I love the Camps Bay area, really nice place to hang out and relax. Note if you're looking for more action (i.e. wider range of restaurants, more shops) you would be better of staying in City Bowl or near the Waterfront, however for relaxing and scenery Camps Bay is a good option. I was in a self-contained apartment with cooktop, microwave, and full size refrigerator. As per other reviews the room fittings are old, but the room was clean and everything works. The room faced onto Camps Bay Drive so was a little noisy although not too bad. Staff very helpful and friendly. There is a small pool on premises but I didn't use it. The best thing is the location, literally 2 minute walk from the beach. Only other comment I have is that when I was here it was actually very expensive, so I don't agree that this is a budget option - although Camps Bay in general is an expensive area by African standards.
Overall a pleasant stay - recommended for those wanting a self contained apartment close to the beach, who don't need all the amenities of a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fantastic location, just seconds from the Beach and main strip. The pool area is a nice place to sun bathe and access to the Bay Hotel is a great bonus, as the pool area here is even better. The accommodation is fairly basic and if you're up for luxury, this isn't the place for you but if on the other hand you're after a great spot from where to explore the area, or relax in some beautiful surroundings, then Camps Bay Resort is a great option. The staff were also really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were given a room in the Brighton block (third floor) which has 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, bathroom and living area.There was nothing too wrong with the room but .......

Pros
Excellent position in resort (across the road from the beach, the Cape Town tourist bus stop was just down the road, supermarket on the corner, restaurants on your door step)
Very clean
We had a voucher each to the total value of R160 to spend in the Primi Piatti cafe to cover breakfast (don't know if everyone gets this or just people who book through Trail Finders). This amount provided you with a feast and the quality of all the breakfasts we had were of excellent. We loved the Primi Piatti!
Parking is available but you have to pay per night (from memory I think this equated to £6 per night)
You can use the facilities (pool, sun loungers) at the Bay Hotel according to the literature in the room (we didn't try this)

Cons
Loads of steps to get to the room or reception with no lifts
Parts of the apartment were tired looking (eg Bathroom needed updating / sprucing up)
No WOW factor when entering the room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Another great holiday here this time in Beach studios Really great room with selfcatering facilities Still no bottle shop in Camps Bay the only let down
Weather perfect & use of beach club at The Bay Hotel is great to lie relax & chill out!!
Only criticism paid for wifi that I couldn't get despite numerous phone calls but iPad kept jumping to home network Anyway. Just provide it for guests would be easier

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a self contained apartment here. It was right by the road and quite noisy but very central for the beach and restaurants. The apartment was tired and a bit shabby, but everything worked. We didn't use the pool as it was a bit of a walk. The good thing was that the reception staff were really helpful with their advice and with booking taxis etc.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in a studio overlooking the pool. It was o.k but not as nice as other photos showed but it was convenient for the seafront. However We are a retired couple and in spite of the lovely beach area we found it to be a young persons place. We were there over a weekend and the restaurants were so busy and noisy we could hardly get in or hear ourselves speak for the noise of excited young people.
The people at the resort were very helpful and friendly and the studio was cleaned every day except Sunday. Good value if you like a busy area with lots of bars etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camps Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Resort

Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 3000, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Resort boasts a selection of 40 rooms, studios and apartments which have been prepared to guest specs. The resort is walking distance to the shopping centre and the world-famous Campsbay beach and well-known "Strip," which is lined with restaurants. When the sun goes this is the place to be!!! 1.Family Stays 2.Honeymoons 3.Adventure 4.Extended Stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Camps Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Resort Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.