We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awful !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Simona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Simona to your Saves list
Villa Simona
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Theresa Ave | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Awful !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you want to enjoy your stay in Camps Bay, do not stay here! The only decent thing about this place is the view and maybe the pool. The rooms are absolutely disgusting, filthy and so terribly run down it was revolting. I cannot find anything nice to say about this place, such an extreme disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    4
    32
See reviews for
7
22
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Villa Simona offered an expensive room with a view BUT absolutely nothing else. We had to cart our own luggage over several flights. Simona hid behind a one-week  'assistant' and did nothing to welcome us. It felt like an intrusive search to find anyone for an iron, a hairdryer, a pot of milk, internet access, extra loo paper....
Despite staying in the middle of summer we had fleecy winter sheets on the beds and the linen was tired. In fact, our whole room seemed cheaply constructed with an alarming mis-match of furniture and colours from blue, to red, to brown, purple, cream and a startling yellow ceiling in an otherwise ok bathroom. As the previous reviewer mentioned, there were barking dogs, that I could live with,  but we had the added bonus of construction workers shouting and cement-mixing on site from 8am two days running. As a passionate ex-Capetonian who ran a succesful holiday rental home in Camp's Bay for many years, it makes me cross when people like Simona  jump on the tourism bandwagon and offer nothing in terms of service levels or quality in return.
As a final straw, the assistant barged into room shortly before checkout, demanding borrowed hairdryer from my daughter while I was changing in the bathroom. Like we would pay her rates and steal a crappy hairdryer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I was blown away by the website but be warned this guesthouse is well below standard. The room was disgusting and service levels non-existent.

You get no help with your luggage on arrival, paper thin walls which mean hearing your neighbours every word and the TV, owner never appears and hides behind incompetent staff, dogs yapping from 6 am, sewerage problems when we were there, building site next door which wakes you up and goes all day, no hairdryer, iron etc........ Faulty Towers is 5 star compared to this place!

The house overall is very tired and in need of repair and the owner has no clue on what they doing.

Go Elsewhere there are some lovely guesthouses in Camps Bay, do not waste your money!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

very unpleasant owner operator.have two dogs that bark early every morning and most of the day.rooms are not private.people walk past your glass sliding door to get to there rooms and look right in.have to sleep with your door open for ventilation.kitchen is bare minimum.cheap everything.hard to find anyone during normal business hours.have wi-fi but you pay.there are no extras at this guesthouse to make you feel like you would ever want to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Our experience at Villa Simona was good. We stayed at this guest house from the 10th November to 12th November. Room were neat and tidy, bathrooms were clean. Not used to leaving the rental car outside and not parked in a garage over night but the owner said it was safe and nothing happened to the car so it was okay.

I went with my family from the UK (Bradford) and they used to staying in hotels and they felt this guest house was okay. Only they are older couple and was difficult for them to walk up the stairs to the rooms in the evening as there is not enough lighting and rails to assist them up.

Room Tip: Leopard room where I stayed was good, but try asking for rooms facing the sea, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

3 years ago I came the first time to Villa Simona and since this time I came/come back every year for 3 months. It is a loveley place! The rooms are clean and practical / affectionately prepared, with TV and WiFi. The owner, Simona, is very friendly and helpfully. I can not understand the negativ comments here! I can really recommend "Villa Simona" for everybody, who is looking for a place in a breathtaking natur and just wants to relax. The centre of Cape Town is reachable in 10-15 minutes with car... I booked already "my" appartment for next year :-) . D.Lübben, Germany

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starnberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We had a great week staying in this Guest House. We booked the leopard room, it was very comfortable, stylish and the views from our window over Camps Bay and the Atlantic Ocean were stunning. Everything was immaculate. Simona (the owner) is very friendly and always ready to help out with tips on restaurants, activities, etc. Lovely walks behind the Villa and a good spot if you want to hike the table mountain. We would recommend Villa Simona to anyone and if possible come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Simona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simona

Address: 29 Theresa Ave | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Simona 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Simona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Simona Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Simona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.