We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomberg Camps Bay

Save Saved
You added The Bloomberg Camps Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bloomberg Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Number 6 | Link Street, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent the 2nd week of our holiday at The Bloomberg, transferring from Winchester Mansions at Sea Point. I had originally found the apts on the internet in July last year & having emailed, I received a phone call the next day & booked direct via Capsol - an efficient, helpful, friendly letting agency - many thanks to Gaby, Gaynor & Anke, it was a pleasure dealing with you.
For the life of me I cannot understand how anyone can complain about this place - the location is perfect, on a side street, behind the police station & literally 2/3 mins stroll to the promenade. A very secure property, private, quiet & spotlessly clean thanks to the efforts of Stocking & his team, who never failed to assist, if needed.
We stayed in apt 8, 3rd floor which was perfect for watching the sunsets, looking directly out to sea. Fully equipped with Bosch appliances, washer, dishwasher,microwave etc. Full size oven & hob, all crockery, utensils etc, all of which were very clean.
Huge bed & daybed, soft towels plus pool towels, liquid soap, room sprays, also powders for washing machine & dishwasher, washing up liquid, sponge, tea towels, even milk coffee & sugar plus 2 bottles of water. Apt cleaned , rubbish removed, towels collected daily. Bed linen changed at least 3 times - what more could you ask for?
During our first week we had already done 2 full day trips - Cape Peninsular & Winelands tour which included many places of interest Cape of Good Hope, Boulders Beach, Paarl Stellenbosch. Frankschhoek plus all the bays, so we felt no need to hire a car. The highlight of our 2nd week was to be Table Mountain, & we asked Stocking to book us a taxi, having decided that the weather seemed perfect . Halfway there we saw a sign saying the cableway was closed due to strong winds at the top, so we arranged to go the next day. Being so close meant the taxi fare was minimal ( R50 ) per trip.
The Bloomberg does not have free wifi ( was not expecting this anyway ) You can however purchase internet time via Skyrove - quite easy & available in varying size bundles, just follow the instructions on the card in the apt. Very useful as I was able to check the cableway status on my ipad before booking another taxi. Think I paid about £5, meaning I could keep in touch with family. No use for business users but surely they would be in hotels.
Just as you reach the promenade there is a good sized supermarket Pick'nPay, well stocked, (including hot takeaway food) plus the numerous café bars & restaurants. Particularly recommended are Hassars for steaks & The Codfather for seafood & sushi.
You should be aware that Camps Bay is a "dry" area - you cannot buy alcohol anywhere apart from bars etc. We took a supply with us from Sea Point & Winelands. I did notice that a bar called Dizzy's selling takeaway pizzas, did allow a couple to purchase a bottle of wine to go, along with their pizza - don't know if this is a local practice or not.

We had a wonderful week, walking everywhere, we didn't use the pool, which although small had 8 loungers, 2 large umbrellas plus 2 stainless steel barbecues - never saw many people out there. We never tired of looking at the 12 Apostles, Lions Head & even the Cable house at the top of the mountain is visible from the side street. Didn't want to leave & would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Top floor best for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Positive: good location right behind the police station, nice view, secured entrance, closed parking, washing machine, spacious apartment ( nr.9)
Negative: although it was advertised free wi-fi, it wasn't. For a foreigner without SA-an SIM card, there was no option to access internet. After several complaints, we received a free voucher.
Towels stained and dirty, bed sheets and pillows in bad condition.
Overall good, but you need a car if you want to go downtown.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights in Suite 3, which is on the ground floor, but in a private area at the end of the pool which other guests cant access. Very happy to have had this apartment, as I would not have liked to have opened our curtains with a view of other people swimming around. Stocking and his team were wonderful and friendly and looked after us. Just a couple of moans from us, first, there is NO shade in the afternoon and believe me the sun is sizzling hot, they need to put some umbrella's or a sunblind because we could not bear to sit out there without any shade, it was a suntrap. Strange, because there is a 'stand' for an umbrella and Stocking said that they were away being fixed. Second, the water pressure is really not good in the shower, took me ages to wash and rinse and then condition my hair, please sort out the pressure!! Also one evening I wanted to have a bath and it took forever to fill up, almost gave up, ended up having a bath in a small puddle. Overall the decor of the apartment is lovely and neutral, very light and airy, good quality towels and bed linen, excellent air con unit (gets cool nice and fast) and a fully equipped kitchen. As you have read from other reviews, its a great location for walking to the bars and restaurants in Camps Bay and to the Pick n Pay supermarket, all just around 3 minutes walk away. Loved it and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 3, nice private terrace and private access to the pool. View is fine, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for 10 days in apartment 1. It's is probably the least private as it leads onto the terrace by the pool but this didn't particularly bother us. Very clean and well kept with very comfy beds.

The staff here are wonderful including a Stocking, they were so friendly and just couldn't do enough for us.

Location was perfect as it is close to restaurants and beach and has secure parking should you wish to take a trip out further afield.

Only slight problem was that we had a complaint about the noise made by our children in the pool. They weren't naughty, just excited so we were disappointed at such low tolerance by other holidaymakers.

Wifi also needs resolving. We had to buy wifi which is just unheard of in this day in age.

I believe they are having a makeover shortly so it'll be interesting to see how this affects prices. At the moment it is very reasonable.

All in all, I would strongly recommend The Bloomberg.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bloomberg Apartments in Camps Bay.

Stocking and his team were very friendly and they keep the rooms and the common areas spotlessly clean. It was very quiet at night, with only the sound of the ocean breaking on the nearby shore. We also enjoyed the swimming pool in the late afternoons when we returned from sight seeing.

We stayed in apartment 7 on the top floor and there were lovely views of the sea. It's only a 2 minute walk to the beach or the shops and restaurants of Camps Bay. It's also convenient to the V&A Waterfront - 15 minutes via the coast road.

We can highly recommend the Bloomberg and we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Top floor (apartments 7 - 9) have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at The Bloomberg Camps Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Paravelle,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your time at the Bloomberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Excellent location and amazing views. Really nice and spacious rooms. Close to restaurants and right across the road from the beach. Easy access to Chapman's peak drive and 10 mins from Waterfront. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at The Bloomberg Camps Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear ilzevh,
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Bloomberg after the delay in your travel arrangements.
We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Bloomberg apartment 8 for one week in january. The apartment was perfect. Nice view on the ocean, a great kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. The building is also close to the restaurants and little boutiques. Just a few minutes walk. It's really clean. A big hello and thanks to Stocking and Raidsan. They were both very helpful. This is the perfect self-catering apartment. We will return!!!

Room Tip: There is no liquor store in Camps Bay. You have to drive to Sea point (5km). The grocery store clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomberg Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomberg Camps Bay

Address: Number 6 | Link Street, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Specialty lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bloomberg Camps Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Cape Town villa in the heart of the beautiful and prestigious suburb of Camps Bay, make sure that you visit The Bloomberg Camps Bay to experience the height of luxury whilst living in the heart of Cape Town's vibrant Atlantic Seaboard. With its nine beautifully appointed apartments, The Bloomberg offers the perfect setting for an idyllic break with friends, or a romantic getaway with a loved one. The apartments offer breathtaking ocean views, with a private balcony plus a table and chairs - the ideal vantage point to enjoy sundowners as you watch the spectacular sight of the sun setting over Camps Bay or a relaxed breakfast as you witness the hustle and bustle of one of Cape Town's trendiest neighbourhoods. Each one of these beautifully adorned luxury apartments in Cape Town features a full en-suite bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and an open-plan living area exquisitely furnished in simple, stylish whites. The living area of the apartment includes a flat screen TV, mini DVD system, select DSTV channels including news and sports, plus each apartment also includes air-conditioning, a pool area with sun-loungers, barbeque facilities, secure garage parking with lift access to the apartment levels, and a domestic cleaning service from Monday to Friday provided at no cost. Each apartment also features a spacious open plan bedroom, with adjustable sliding doors for privacy. The Bloomberg Camps Bay is perfectly situated in one of the most exclusive suburbs of Cape Town. The Atlantic Seaboard has a host of highlights to offer visitors, including a number of beaches, eateries, shops and bars. As the undisputed jewel of the Atlantic Seaboard, Camps Bay is known for its high-end luxury and stunning sea views - making it the perfect location for your holiday. A range of stylish restaurants and the beautiful Camps Bay Beach are situated within walking distance for your convenience, and key attractions such as the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and the thriving Cape Town CBD are less than twenty minutes away. If you are seeking an accommodation option that offers stylish excellence, then make sure that you choose The Bloomberg Camps Bay - where you will experience luxury Camps Bay accommodation that you will never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your The Bloomberg Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bloomberg Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomberg Camps Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.