We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Francolin Road | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Homewood, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Atlantic View in May after being on Safaris in Zambia and Zimbabwe. The location was perfect for us as Camps Bay is quaint and quiet and there are so many gorgeous beaches within easy access. We hiked on a trail from the AV to the strand and beaches each morning for a quick run. Breakfast in our suite was absolutely amazing! The presentation and personalized service with attention to my gluten free needs was impressive. Greg was very hands on and available to personalize our booking process. We loved our excursions in the Range Rover, I'd recommend doing at least two of them. We went to wineries, saw the ostrich farm and the leopard sanctuary! The views are breath taking and we enjoyed Monsur, our guide for the excursions, very much. Born and raised in Cape Town his narrative was rich with history and personal experience. We enjoyed ALL of the staff and to top it all off, got to meet "the family"!! So great! I even used the gym. Our evening gatherings and wine tasting in the family room at sunset were lots of fun, met other guests and shared lots of smiles and laughter. Thank you for such a wonderful visit. We will be back soon!!

Room Tip: Express your needs to Greg and he will make the perfect recommendation for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    38
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
459
21
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Atlanticview in February 2012 for 5 days. Alas, during our stay I was unwell and the staff and owners went out of their way to ensure I had everything I needed even though the owners were not on site. We loved the personal touched, being whizzed down to CT for dinner in one of the hotel cars, Jaco and Dale going cigarette shopping for my other half and offering us the opportunity to use another room as a late checkout option on our last day; superb. The evening get together was a nice way to meet our fellow guests and watch the sun go down. We had an interesting chat with a couple from London who like us, were enjoying the very individual mix of paintings and sculpture in the rooms and public spaces. The nibbles etc were sufficient as an aperitif before dins in CT.
We had the penthouse suite which, ironically enough, had the Catherine Wood painting we had wanted to buy from her website the year before, hanging over the bed! As with any other busy hotel, there are a couple of knocks and scratches which could do with a bit of attention but I have not seen a hotel yet, even some 5* London establishments, with a room that didn't have these minor issues. I don’t allow shuch things to get in the way of a good holiday. We updated the staff before departing on a couple of very minor repairs which were necessary in the suite we had. Overall the room was very comfy with a stunning view. Breakfast was excellent though I opted to skip the daily juice but did order extra whole wheat bread which arrived promptly and continued to be included in our daily order without any additional request.

At the core of this hotel is the 5* touches particularly the personal service. We certainly enjoyed it very much. What I liked most was that it was not the usual generic McPlain Wrap place with taupe painted walls and old bits of antelope strategically placed above uncomfortable equally boaring taupe hotel lobby furniture. And for those of you reading this who feel that it might be a little too positive, read my other reviews on this site....I don't hold back!


The website is clear, this is a boutique hotel offering breakfast, light snacks during the day and the courtsey wine and nibbles in the evening. I do not beleive that the site is misleading. As with any other busy hotel, there are a couple of knocks and scratches which could do with a bit of attention but I have not seen a hotel yet, even some 5* London establishments, with a room that didn't have these minor issues.

At the core of this hotel is the 5* touches in terms of personal service. We certainly enjoyed it very much. And for those of you reading this who fele that it might be a little too positive, read my other reviews on this site....I don't hold back!

Room Tip: Opt for the penthouse for stunning views and a great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I spent 6 nights at atlantic view this was the second time I had stayed there
As the first time the second time was just fantastic all the staff are fantastic and so very very helpful the bedrooms are beautiful and the views looking own on to camps bay are just awesome

The breakfasts were great wether you had it in the bar/ dining room or served in your room

I met some lovely people who were also staying there and it is just a fun loving friendly boutique hotel I am looking foreword to returning again next year and I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Cape Town

My thanks to all the staff for making my stay the perfect choice

Best regards
Stan

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely it all depends on your own personnel choice The rooms on the south side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our African honeymoon started off with 5 nights at the Atlanticview. Friends told us how wonderful it was and we were not disappointed. Everything from the friendly Jarred who collected us from the airport to the smiley housekeeping staff and chef who helped make our stay one we will always remember. The Sunset room was perfect and so was the food. Evening sundowners with other guests is a great idea. We met some interesting people and sampled some very well chosen wines from nearby Stellenbosch.
There were some very tasty foods to accompany them.
Everything was perfect and the attention to detail was beyond what we are accustomed to.
We are already planning our next visit to South Africa, so will be in touch. Thank you Dale and Chef Flint for your special attention to my dietary needs.
David and Judith
Hove West Sussex, England

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent a total of 9 nights in 2 different rooms, and would say both rooms are vastly different. Of course, the price range differs a fair bit too.

Overall a generally good stay with the most gorgeous views of Camps Bay. In my opinion, we were paying more for the view than anything else. It was a big house turned into a small hotel.

Staff was welcoming and accommodating in general, and did their best to help us out whenever we needed.

Pluses:
The view is absolutely amazing. Depending on what the weather is in the morning, you might get a completely different view of the bay in front of you.
The beds are super king, and comfortable with enough pillows and the sheets are of good quality.
Both had a deck area right outside your room, though there's a room next to room 4 that next door guests might just walk by.
There is night security looking after your vehicle (if you have one) though it feels a little pricy.
They have a sundowners hour for all guests that includes drinks & canapes (not too specific on that as we were never in for any of the sundowners session.
Breakfast was a nice selection of cold cuts and cheeses but hot breakfast selection was limited to 2 types. Not a great selection when you stay there for 9 nights, which was why we only had about 3 breakfasts in. Do note that regular rooms generally don't get served that pretty platter as you see in the picture. I reckon it might just be for the suites.

Minuses:
Coming from asia, we are very used to having bedroom slippers in the room, they weren't provided to the guests, but would definitely appreciate them especially when i saw how staff was walking around the room i was staying in with shoes.
Each bathroom is different, but generally spacious. However, for both rooms, there was only an overhead rainshower. Would have preferred if there was an option for handheld shower as well. One night, our hot water ran out before either of us took a shower but the staff was efficient enough and solved our problem relatively quickly.
Internet for room 4 was intermittent for the duration of our stay. There was also a download limit per day. Therefore, check your emails, Facebook, but not your videos. Suite 6 was a lot stable, and internet didn't drop.
Housekeeping wasn't consistent - one day there was a glass in the room, the next day, there were 2, and day 3, there were none. Face towels weren't replenished when used. Sheets and duvet cover probably weren't changed either, i noticed a spot on the duvet cover from day 2 and still there at the end of our stay.

Room 4 generally wasn't a great room, it was right next to the main breakfast area, if you are in the bedroom, its alright, but along the walkway, you could hear muffled sounds if there were other guests having breakfast outside. On the deck side, you have the next room guests walking past (seems like that's the only way to get into that room). In the bathroom, the bin broke off from behind the door, and there was a obvious chip on the vanity mirror.

Overall, its got a fantastic view, but cab drivers aren't that familiar with how to get there. Tip to note: rent a car from and to the airport, it will make your entire trip a whole lot cheaper not to mention convenient. There's a supermarket about 5mins drive away right next to this fabulous restaurant Hussar Grill

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pick the suites. They'e probably more private and a lot more comfortable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We got married in Durban South Africa in January and my husband found this gem of a boutique hotel for our honeymoon.

Words to describe this amazing place-idyllic, peaceful, luxurious, romantic, plush, perfect, picturesque, heaven!!!

We stayed in one of the rooms and had our own decking area for sunbathing. It was a real sun trap with an amazing view of Table Mountain.

Breakfast was delicious.....fresh fruit juice to start, yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly cooked breads, meats and then a hot breakfast if you still had room.

At 6.30pm I would retire to our room to get ready for the evening whilst my husband got ready for the meet and greet in the bar for complimentary wine and canapés at 7pm. It was the perfect setting for watching the sun go down.

The hotel staff were approachable, helpful, friendly and ready to recommend activities and restaurants. The Cod Father in Camps Bay was a great recommendation.

We returned to our room one night and the staff had petals on the floor leading to the bed with champagne chilling.

The only negative was that we should have stayed longer than a week.

The boutique hotel was the perfect location.....close to Camps Bay, the Table Mountain and the centre of Cape Town.

We would definitely go back.....hopefully for one of our anniversaries. The best honeymoon ever!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great views high up in Camps Bay, nice rooms and deck, good security and staff. Can be prone to wind, but this is compensated for by the views. Ideal for sundowners. At these high prices parking should be included (hint for management).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

Address: 31 Francolin Road | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Graded Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel has 9 rooms and suites. This unique Cape Town Boutique Hotel is set high atop fashionable Camps Bay along the Riviera of South Africa. It has the most spectacular views of the sea and mountains. The position is perfect and convenient to all tourist attractions. Atlanticview Cape Town do not permit small children into the property. This is very popular with honeymooners and couples who wish to just get away with a bit of peace, quiet + relaxation. Well behaved teens and singles are welcome. This Cape Town Hotel has stylish air-conditioned, non-smoking rooms (three fifty to three ninety sq ft) and suites (six hundred to seven fifty sq ft). All with spectacular views, quality furnishings and percale linens. Guests can have a work out in the gym, a dip in the pool, a relaxing massage or a run on the beach. Rates incl Taxes, Welcome Refreshments, Breakfasts, WiFi, use of the Gym, 2 Solar heated Infinity pools, Guests Computer plus a generous amount of Quality Wines with delicious home made Hors-d'oeuvres and Canapés every evening to celebrate the magnificent southern Atlantic sunsets.To serve you there are 18 young hotel professionals to 18 guests. Atlanticview Boutique Hotel Camps Bay has its own in-house fleet of new air-conditioned Mercedes for airport and local transfers to the beach, restaurants or tourist attractions. There is a Range Rover for private tours to the Winelands or Cape Point or wherever you would like to go, all with a friendly face from the hotel behind the wheel. Atlanticview is the only Cape Town hotel of its size to boast this service as well as two Infinity pools for their guests to enjoy. Rates for the car service are little more than local taxis. It is excellent value as well as a safe, comfortable and convenient way of getting around.Camps Bay is one of the safest up market communities in Cape Town and is the only Atlantic Seaboard beach town with a promenade packed full of world class restaurants and bars.Reservations are all handled personally by the US owners. Cuisine Technology SA, the hotels sister company supplies all the top chefs and restaurants in the country making dinner reservations in the top venues possible. The owner is known for ringing the chefs private cell phones on occasion to get guests in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlanticview Capetown Boutique
Atlanticview Capetown Boutique Camps Bay
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel Camps Bay, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.