We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just pure luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Cap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge du Cap to your Saves list
Auberge du Cap
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   77 Theresa Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newton Abbot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just pure luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have just returned from a 9 night stay in the penthouse suite, i could not fault anything the extra touches (fluffy white towels, bathrobes, candles in the bathroom, toiletries, a fridge full of wine, beer and cider!!) immaculately cleaned every day, the views are just amazing. The breakfasts served out on the balcony overlooking the whole of camps bays was just breath taking, the choice of food for breakfast was fantastic a different hot option every day. As for our hosts Mike and Morgan two of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, nothing was too much trouble they were extremely helpful, just lovely people, thank you for making our stay so special and just perfect. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
155
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights at Auberge. The facilities were everything we needed and more. For us, this was true luxury! Mike & Morgan were extremely helpful suggesting things to do, places to eat etc. The driveway was so much fun... the little Toyota Aygo made it up with no trouble!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights here, staying in the Bordeaux Suite and couldn't have asked for more. This spacious suite featured an expansive private deck which afforded fantastic views of Camp's Bay and Lion's Head - especially nice for enjoying a sundowner in the evening. Thanks to Morgan and Mike for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Enjoyed our second visit to Auberge du Cap one week, thanks to Mike & Morgan great hosts stayed in Ocean Suite again just love it here .Thanks for everything could have stayed for longer but had to return chilly Scotland!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights after touring Mozambique and South Africa. The location on the slopes of table mountain affords incredible views of lions head and Camps Bay.
Beer and wine in the fridge, luxury toiletries and an amazing breakfast - the place is perfect!
We didn't want to leave but enjoyed our glass of champagne in the pool that the owners gave us on our last day!
The driveway is very steep but great fun after your first, slightly daunting, run up it in the car.
We hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

There is not much more that I can add to the already well written, truthful reviews.
We have just returned from our second visit to Camps Bay in 12 months and stayed at Auberge Du Cap this time.
We had the Penthouse Suite which was amazing and exactly as described on the website and in these reviews.
Mike and Morgan were perfect hosts you will not be disappointed.
Thanks for a lovely 9 days

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed in the Penthouse Suite for 4 nights at the very beginning of our Honeymoon, what a wonderful start to an incredible trip!

We were told we'd receive a complimentary bottle of bubbles as it was our Honeymoon but didn't, no big deal though, everything else was fabulous!
The room is wonderful, very spacious, high ceilings so nice & cool in the summer (does have a fan also but we didn't need it), a split level room with a lounge area downstairs (with fridge, TV etc) & a bedroom upstairs with a huge & very comfy bed, masses of closet space & a huge bathroom with shower, twin sinks & a jacuzzi bath (with spectacular views from the little bathroom window). Lovely fresh clean linen & towels, the room was kept spotless for our entire stay.
Although we found the room very comfortable we rarely spent time inside as the outside space is what makes this place so special!!
A sliding door from the bedroom takes you out onto your private balcony overlooking the pool & then a few steps up & you're on your very own private rooftop with 2 sun-loungers & a 360 view of Camps Bay. The view really is one of the most breathtaking I've ever experienced, we were totally mesmerized every time we went up there! You can see the whole of Camps Bay beach out to the Atlantic, sun sets are just divine & then behind you is the dramatic Table Mountain & 12 Apostles backdrop - really stunning.

Breakfast is served out on the terrace overlooking the Ocean (weather permitting), both very healthy & plentiful, the omelet's are delicious!

As advertised this is a Guesthouse not a Hotel, whilst Mike & Morgan are extremely friendly & helpful they're not on-call 24/7, this wasn't a problem for us at all as we prefer non-intrusive, private accommodation. The only thing that I felt was perhaps missing was access to a phone to make local calls (to book cabs/ make restaurant reservations etc), this would have been helpful as our mobile's weren't working.

Camps Bay is a fantastic base for a Cape Town trip, 20 mins drive to the International Airport, 15 mins to all other major sites such as The Waterfront, Green Market, Hout Bay etc, plus Camps Bay itself is great with a huge beach & heaps of restaurants/ bars on the beach front.
Auberge du Cap is set up on Camps Bay Hill (the reason why the views are so extraordinary) so not directly on the beach which was perfect for us, so much more peaceful than the bustling beach roads.
We didn't have a car so we walked to the beach, it's not far at all, about 20mins downhill, the area felt very safe & cabs back were around R 60, you can walk back up but it was a bit too hot for us!

Overall we had a superb stay at Auberge du Cap, we highly recommend it & absolutely plan on returning in the near future to experience those stunning views again!!
Thanks Mike & Morgan!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampsBay, Owner at Auberge du Cap, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dearest Guests
Let me start by thanking you for the wonderful compliments with regards our Penthouse Luxury Suite and our superb, uninterrupted sea and mountain views!! As you rightly pointed out, we are a guesthouse and do not have a 24x7 reception desk – we do live on the premises and contactable most of the time. In our check in folder we indicate that our guests can buzz us on the intercom situated in the common area should they need any assistance. TIP: Visitors can buy a local SIM card for R5 – five rand - and just top it up to use for local calls during their visit in South Africa, so this is perhaps a good tip for fellow traveller and visitors who plan to come to South Africa !!
With regard to the bubbly and flowers – this is a huge oversight and human error on my part. We were trying out a new booking system and had to transfer the booking data – and my footnotes must have gotten lost in the process. I cannot apologise more profusely for the disappointment as we try to add a little romance for our Honeymoon couples. This has not happened to me in 11 years of running the guesthouse. As a token of our deepest regret and commitment to restoration, we have offered our guests a 1 DAY FREE STAY during their next visit !!
We are delighted to see that the overall experience was very good and satisfying!! Looking forward to hosting you again during a future visit. Morgan and Mike – Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Cap

Address: 77 Theresa Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Cap 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive and unique villa, nestled against the famous Table Mountain Nature Reserve and ruggedly beautiful Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, capturing the ultimate in sea views, spectacular natural splendor and tranquility! Magnificent heated pool, sun deck, stylish and elegantly appointed accommodation ensures superior comfort and a quality experience. TGSA 4 Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge du Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Cap Hotel Camps Bay
Auberge Du Cap Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.