We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benson's views...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primi-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Primi-Royal to your Saves list
Primi-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
♫ 15% DISCOUNT ♫
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Yangon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Benson's views...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have visited hotels (for one reason or another) all over the world and the view from this one is within the top three of any that I have had the fortune to stay. Good value, great location, staff lovely and they cooked my poached eggs to perfection, the latter not easy to achieve.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dearest Edward,
One word (well 3): You're a darling!
Thank you so much for your kind review. Very much appreciated.
I agree: We are good value; our location is truly great & yes we do have lovely staff.
Thrilled to hear about our perfect poached eggs...! That IS good news!
I'll have to test drive them myself - as I have the same problem ;-).
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    77
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
150
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel, close to the action but quiet with fabulous views from our balcony. Huge room (10) with baths inside and out! Breakfast only to be had and great car parking underneath the hotel itself, which was very convenient.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Jenny!
Thank you for taking time to review us and delighted that you left us happy.
We need reminding of how blessed we are with our fabulous location and views.
Please do come again - you're only around the corner after all!
If I can tempt you with special rates for return guests.... ;-)
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at Primi Royal for 6 nights this January. We had Room 10 which is their superior room on the top floor with a big balcony overlooking the beach. It was a very spacious, comfortable room and a very relaxing base to come back to every day. There were one or two imperfections (small marks on the carpet, small tear in the curtain) but they didn't detract from our enjoyment. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was first class. The hotel was perfectly located within 100 yards of the beach with many restaurants close by to choose from. Our favourites, The Codfather for beautifully fresh fish, and Hussars Grill for delicious steaks, were both a short walk away. When we go back to Cape Town we will definitely stay at Primi Royal again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view but Room 10 was particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hello Orchard105 all the way from Totnes.... :-)
Thank you so much for 10/10 rating.
We are truly thankful & very appreciative.
Look forward to seeing you again soon!
PS: An order for acres of lovely new curtains has just been placed.
♫ Happy dance ♫
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Within easy walking distance of Camps Bay with its trendy bars, restaurants and shops this is an ideal place to explore both the city and the Cape peninsula. The comfortable rooms come with a sea view and are tastefully furnished. Breakfast (which was very good with excellent choices) can be taken in the dining room or on the small terrace. Helpful and friendly staff with good knowledge of surrounding area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hello Vivian
Your short & informative review is just perfect for potential guests - thank you.
Yes, Camps Bay is a perfect base for exploring Cape Town which by car is just 12-15 minutes away. And the Royal is really good value for money, plus having the added advantage of being located in a little village beside the best beach in Cape Town.
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel was comfortable and clean and the staff went out of their way to be helpful in every respect. Cape Town runs a very efficient bus service and the bus stop was right outside the hotel. Our room had its own little patio which made the stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hello Graham
Coming from the seaside city of Durban, we're glad we could offer you a different perspective of life on the South African Coast. We are very blessed to live in such a beautiful location and its always our genuine pleasure to share our little corner of paradise with our guests.
Thank you for your review and we do hope you'll visit us again sometime soon.
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff, nice room with good size bathroom although problem with the water flow in the shower( too little)
noisy air conditioning unit unfortunately sited over the head of the bed!
Otherwise a good stay. would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Ah Adrian,
Thank you for your review. Once you've experienced Camps Bay, you'll want to come back because it is a gem of a village! And thank you for your other heads up on the shower flow and noisy fan motor in the AC unit. Thankfully our maintenance team sorted it all out. Overall we're happy you enjoyed your stay and you're most welcome to come again!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Spent 13 nights here in Jan 14 and had a lovely time,the hotel has only 10 bedrooms and every one is different.We stayed the first 9 nights in room 4 which was a huge and very comfortable,the last 4 nights we stayed in room 10 which was again a huge room.The room had a 4 poster bed and a roll top bath,also a spa bath outside on the balcony,a real luxury time.The staff was lovely also friendly,hope to come back again to this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hello Brenda!
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your 2 week stay! And wasn't it great that we were able to offer you a different view, feel and perspective between middle of the range Classic room and then the Superior room? Almost like going on holiday twice! We loved having you and sincerely hope you do come back sometime.
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Primi-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi-Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom Boutique Hotel just 100m up from the Beach, Restaurants, Bars & Miami-Beach Style Nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange Half-Day & Full-Day Tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine,Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best Vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, Museums, Table Mountain, Day Trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, Whale Watching, Shark Cage Diving, Helicopter Trips, Tandem Paragliding & other Extreme Sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Primi-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi-Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primi-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.