We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked most of the boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primi-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Primi-Royal to your Saves list
Primi-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
♫ CRAZY WINTER SPECIAL ♫
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ticked most of the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here earlier this month. (June) This small, boutique hotel is well positioned just off Beach Road in beautiful Camps Bay. If you walk 10 minutes up the hill from the hotel, you will reach the Hassar Grill which is a fantastic and renowned steakhouse with no charge on corkage. I highly recommend it. If you walk 5 minutes downhill in the opposite direction, you will reach the beachfront, full of upscale bars and restaurants.

Our stay was part of a trip taking in Safari and Victoria Falls. We selected this time of year to coincide with the best time to see the Falls and so were aware Camps Bay in June (SA Winter) is very quiet due to the fact the weather in the Cape at this time of year doesn’t lend itself to sun worshipping. However, being there in Winter does not take away from the beautiful scenery of the area with the beach, promenade and the 12 Apostles Mountain range in the background.

You enter the hotel via an intercom system and FOB key. Once inside you can get the elevator to 1st floor which houses reception, a sitting area, a small dining area (breakfast) and sliding glass doors leading to a small plunge pool and sun chairs.

Our room was large, comfortable with a lovely balcony overlooking the street with views of the Ocean in the near distance. The only issue I had with the room was the shower and more precisely the positioning of the shower screen. The way it was designed was bizarre and meant it was impossible to have a shower without soaking the bathroom floor. Other than that, I have no complaints about the accommodation. Breakfast each morning was very nice and the staff at the hotel were welcoming, helpful and friendly.

The only overall small negative was that if you chose to take the stairs rather than the elevator you were always met and faced with climbing over bags of laundry and extension cables. I assume the hotel management presume everyone will use the elevator and thus feel guests will not be privy to the untidiness of the back stairs area. It wasn’t a big deal but just something I haven’t encountered before.

All in all, the hotel was excellent value for money at the rate we paid and more than met our requirements for a short stay. We plan to come back to Camps Bay during mid to high season one year to see it in its full glory and enjoy the beach. When that time comes I would certainly consider returning to the Primi Royal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi 'Roeboy'

Thank you for a great review of your trip! You do write very informative & real reviews of everywhere you travel to, for which I applaud you for! Good to hear you had a good time in SA and more importantly that your experience of SA was one to remember.

And so to the shower. I know the shower over bath is not ideal, but I think a simple maneuvering of the shower head (albeit stiff) may have sorted your problem? :-))) We are upgrading that specific bathroom by the way. Cant wait!

And sincere apologies for the stairs too. And yes I'm sure its been a small irritation factor for other guests too. But as you may remember we had signs everywhere regarding the many repairs & renovations happening in the hotel? eg. New laundry room, storeroom & dry goods store. This unfortunately impacted on our rear service stairs because of the cramped area for the workmen to work in. We had no choice but to have the daily dirty laundry being sorted on the floor of the 3 meter long rear stair passageway immediately outside the old laundry room. This is not always the case I can assure you! And it'll be pure bliss when the renovations are all done - so you can have the stairs all to yourself again. :-)))

LOVE that you're prepared to come back in the near future!
Looking forward to when I can give you a personally guided tour to show you the improvements! And re a previous article you wrote about another glorious location....I promise I wont charge you for the tour! haha xx

Best regards until then!
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    99
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
28
186
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were welcomed by Liberty on arrival and shown to our wonderful rooms. What a view! We were lulled to sleep at night by the waves crashing on the shore and woke to wonderful views of the sea and the mountains. The beds were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Liberty organised trips, taxis and supplied us with all the information we needed. All of the staff were amazing and the customer service was faultless. Breakfast was fantastic (I'm sure we put on weight eating all their wonderful food) and nothing was too much trouble. We really couldn't fault the Primi Royal and would definately return there. Now we just have to save up again so we can come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Well hello to PittyPat in Melbourne Australia!!
We don't get enough of your countrymen! Ozzies are always such 'good-feel-happy-people'!.
It was pure pleasure having you and thank you so much for the really excellent review.
We absolutely love it when our guest are appreciative of what we have to offer.
Now save up quick & get on back here!
Best regards till then
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Hi, This is a great little hotel in the lovely Camps Bay Area. I wouldn't quite describe it as boutique, but the rooms are good, we managed to park underneath the hotel, and the breakfasts and staff were very good. It has a lift (good), but the stairs are a bit hard and grey. Bathroom fixtures also a bit basic. I can recommend this hotel though. Well done guys, keep up the good work! Oh and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you PTFE (difficult saying that one... :-))
Glad you found us worthy of recommending!
Yes I admit - our stairs are rather hard & grey - as rear stairs sometimes are. It's actually an expensive & highly specialised technique made of a 4-5ml self-levelling cement compound with a luxurious, natural, mottled smooth finish which in the industry is commonly called a 'screeded raw cement floor'. (So in old fashioned language its just plain old smooth & shiny cement). But it's actually 'Very Fashionable' as a floor finish in Africa & goes with the semi-African feel we have throughout. And bonus: it's easy to keep clean! :-)
And thank you so very much for the encouragement to staff... Much appreciated by them!
Hope you get to come back some day!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It was a wonderful break away. The staff and management were very friendly and made the stay even more special. The views from the room were breathtaking. The room was so comfortable. Felt like a home away from home.





  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Heloo Khatijia!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and for your kind comments.
We do hope you will come again!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great Location, (This is not a city hotel or is it near the waterfront in Cape Town) but is a very nice boutique hotel for Camps Bay
Small hotel but great big rooms, felt really homely, staff were friendly & they had free parking which is a bonus if you have a rental car in this area. Easy walking distance to many restaurants and the beach. We also used the hop on hop off bus and the stop is just down the road so was perfect for that too. They were doing some renovations while we were there a few soft furnishings were needed especially in the bathrooms but this did not interfere at all with our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello Taz
Thank you very much for taking the time to send a review. Very much appreciated!
Yes - Cape Town CBD & Waterfront is a mere 10 mins drive away.. just over 2.5Kms. So we are perfectly situated & have the best of both worlds - close to the city & 100M from the beach!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast -Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked directly through the hotel’s website and was able to arrange a transfer from Cape town airport. This was with an external agency and was R350. It was about R400 on a metered cab on the way back.

We found the staff in Primi Royal fantastic, from Zane who checked us in and spent time telling us about different things and giving us good advice, to the night porter / barman who chatted to us about what it’s like to live in South Africa and Liberty the manager who came to greet us at breakfast, told us about the different things to do and booked everything for us (table mountain, gold dinner reservations, the best of the cape tour) We definitely felt well looked after.

Reception is on the first floor and there is an elevator up to it or you can use the stairs. There was some refurbishment going on while we were there, there were signs explaining it, but we actually never seen any of the workmen or heard any noise whatsoever so it didn’t impact at all on our stay

We had room 7 which didn’t have a balcony but had 2 walls of windows looking out over Lion’s head and the beach / sea. Absolutely gorgeous view to wake up to. The room was a great size with a huge bed (much bigger than a king) facing the great view which was really comfy, TV, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini bar (additional drinks including bottles of wine can be bought at the 24 hours bar at reception). One great thing was that there was a UK to SA adapter in the room. This was a godsend as we had left our adapter in Addo. The bathroom was a great size with a huge shower bath which had great power

Breakfast was included in the rate and consisted of a cold buffet of cereal, yoghurt, pastries, fruit and then the hot food was made to order, bacon, eggs, sausages, omelettes and toast. Definitely set you up for the day. Breakfast was held in the bar area at reception with a view looking over the sea, but on a nice day you could have it on the table outside in the sun.

The area by the small pool had tables & chairs and sun loungers which caught the sun and was very peaceful and relaxing. One great thing as well as the hotel has a shower room with towels and toilet so after check out we could lounge in the sun by the pool ant then shower and freshen up before getting out taxi to the airport. This was definitely a plus and most hotels don’t offer this

I hadn’t realised that Camps Bay was as far out from downtown Cape town and the V&A Waterfront (about 20 mins driving) but we utilised the Red bus tour bus which has a stop on the main beach road just down from the hotel (2 mins walk). As table mountain is the last stop before camps bay we took a taxi to that (~R80) and then jumped on the bus from there and hopped on and off.

The beach in Camps Bay gives a beautiful view of sunset with the light hitting the back of table mountain. Absolutely gorgeous, definitely take a picture
The main beach road has a number of restaurants to sit over lunch or dinner with a drink and watch the world go by. There is also a Pick & Pay supermarket at the corner where you can buy snacks, drinks, fruit etc.... which is really useful

Overall we had a fantastic time in Camps Bay and staying at Primi Royal. The service, helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was exceptional and the location and view was beautiful. We were also impressed with the price for the hotel and facilities as we have paid much more in other hotels for less

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Well Little Miss Neve - You have a job as our new advertising Manager if you wish! Thank you so very much for all the kinds things said. Absolutely thrilled we gave you the kind of service that illicits this kind of reaction. Wonderful feeling for us that we're able to make guests so happy.
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Clean rooms with great views at a value price (at least in low season)!

If you're looking to stay outside of Cape Town without the hustle and bustle this is the place. We had a great view of the ocean in our room. When we headed upstairs for breakfast we got a stunning mountain view.

We rented a car and had no trouble finding street parking. The area was safe, so we didn't have to worry about our car being parked outside. Also, we took the hop off-hop on, and it was about 2 blocks from the hotel, so we were able to just walk down there to catch the bus.

They also arranged our transport to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review us.
Very much appreciated!
And we agree - Camps Bay is a Gem!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Primi Seacastle Guest House
#10 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#11 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi-Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom Boutique Hotel just 100m up from the Beach, Restaurants, Bars & Miami-Beach Style Nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange Half-Day & Full-Day Tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine,Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best Vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, Museums, Table Mountain, Day Trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, Whale Watching, Shark Cage Diving, Helicopter Trips, Tandem Paragliding & other Extreme Sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Primi-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi-Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primi-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.