We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to enjoy Cape Town and surrounding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primi-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Primi-Royal to your Saves list
Primi-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SEE OUR ♥SISTER♥ HOTEL
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
R.E.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy Cape Town and surrounding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

First of all consider Camps Bay the right place where to stay based if you want to enjoy both Cape Town than all surrounding areas.
Said so, Primi Royal is a beautiful hotel where to stay. It is just few steps form the beach and the main street where you will have to several restaurants, bars and shops but more than this the hotel is really nice and the staff is amazing. They are always very friendly and available to give you perfect suggestions about places to visit, how to get there and about the best restaurants in Camps Bay.
Room are very clean even if not extremely big, but fine for two people. The only weak point was the wifi connection which was quite slow and linked to some voucher you can have for free at reception but which expire quickly as they don't allow you for a big amount of data transfer

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    90
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
24
172
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We arrived early from our flight and were able to store our luggage until the room was ready. The location was excellent as we felt quite safe walking around Camps Bay at night. We didn't hire a car, but managed just fine with two different City Bus tour routes stopping in Camps Bay and a group tour to the Cape of Good Hope. Breakfast choice was limited, but the food was good. There was limited room on the tables for coffee in the morning, but we managed with a bit of juggling and the coffee was great. We really appreciated the free internet and being able to print out pre-booking for local attractions. Byron and Liberty were very helpful with local advice. There was even a braai (BBQ) on our final night which we really enjoyed. I was a little disappointed in the size of the room, as we had been shown photos from friends who had stayed here, but I think that was more our expectation as we had only booked a standard room and the friends must have been in a luxury room. The bathroom did need a bit of an update as there was some mould around the edges. As a standard room it was good. In summary, a good location, good value for the Cape Town area and very friendly team.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
hi gyes.

many thanks for your kind words!!
we certainly are looking forward to your return in the near future.

warm regards

the primi royal team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Having read the other reviews I don't necessarily disagree with some of the constructive comments. But our overall experience of Primi Royal was fabulous. From the moment we arrived (early one morning so too early to check in to our room), Liberty offered us a cup of coffee and to store our luggage while we went to try and go up Table Mountain. Unfortunately it was shut so we ended up doing a bit of a tour down to Cape Point and didn't return until 5pm, by which time Byron was on duty. He promptly showed us our room which was much better than expected. Massive terrace with whirlpool bath overlooking the ocean. Lovely big bed and huge bathroom. Yes, the decor could do with a little updating but the overall feel of the room and the hotel is friendly, homely and I think perfection can be a bit clinical sometimes. Byron was positively proactive in recommending things to do and places to eat. He suggested Bayside Cafe amongst others for their pork ribs, which proved to be delicious and we returned there several times during our stay. Breakfast was good, agree that the coffee is a little over-complicated but easily remedied. The girls serving were quite shy but that wasn't a problem for us, they were very willing and friendly, which is the main thing. Location is perfect for Camps Bay, Cape Town and exploring Cape Point. Would recommend a car but you can use the Red Bus Route and you can even book stuff online and print off receipts for free, which most hotels don't offer. Would definitely return to this hotel! Thanks Primi team for making our stay so great.

Room Tip: We had room on top floor with huge terrace and whirlpool. Think the other room has the double sided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
hi gyes,

many thanks for your review and we certainly will be looking forward to your return.
our motto is "work is love made visible"

regards

the primi royal team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel is at the bottom of Camps Bay drive near to the sea front and is perfectly situated for a visit there and access to the city. It is tired and could do with a little TLC but the main problem is with their plumbing. We booked a superior room which had a lovely balcony over 20 metres in length and the room had plenty of space. However, at lunctime on our third day the water had to be switched off because of some problem with the hot water system. According to the staff who dealt with us this is a regular occurence and we were shown the water staining on the ceiling where it comes into the rooom if not switched off. As it bwas a Sunday they could not get (or pay for) a plumber to fix it so we were left without water. I asked for another room or tranfer to another hotel but neither of these were an option and we had to make do. 24 hours using a bucket to flush the toilet and 3 floor decent to wash your hands is not ideal or hygenic. When we spoke to management they said sorry, only just, but that was it. I asked for a refund but that was not an option either. In terms of service level this place was by far the poorest in the 3 weeks we spent in South Africa and I would suggest if you do decide to stay here avoid the extra cost of the superior rooms as you well have to experience what we did.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
i gyes,

many thanks for your review.
firstly it was a burst geyser and geysers can burst at any given time which is not in our hands.
being a sunday all the suppliers are closed and we could not call a plumber to repair the burst geyser as that is not possible the geyser needs to be replaced so we had to switch off the water to avoid the room from flooding.
we did offer the guests shower and toilet facilities in the meantime until we could replace the geyser.
the geyser was replaced the very next day and all water systems are working.
with regards to the refund please advice me who you spoke to as i am the general manager and i was not asked for a refund???
we cenceraily do appologise for the inconviniance caused over that night.

please feel free to call the hotel so we can discuss the refund as i am willing to refund you the 1 nights stay.(byron holm)

warm regards

the primi royal team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is the first holiday we've done reviews for but felt we had to share our great experiences of South Africa. We spent our first 5 nights at the Primi Royal, Camps Bay earlier this month and it was a great start to our holiday and to Cape Town. It's in a great location - minutes from the beach, nice restaurants and cafes and a few shops for the 'essentials'. A car isn't essential as Camps Bay is on the Sightseeing City Bus Blue Route which if you want to do a few different things in a day is worth using as it's cheaper than taxis but it does take a bit of time. That said, on any further trips, we'd probably get a car for more than just the recommended day of driving the Cape Peninsula as it gives you a bit more flexibility (the hotel does have parking). The hotel is lovely but maybe the outside at the front doesn't really do justice to the inside, where especially the decking area and views of of the sea from there and our room (superior/luxury) were great. Byron, Liberty and colleagues were very friendly and helpful, lots of useful suggestions and tips for places to eat, things to see; if they advise going up Table Mountain, go, the cloud is unpredictable enough to ensure no guarantees of a second chance! Having also stayed in Seapoint (on our last night of the holiday) we will definitely return to Camps Bay as a much preferred base location for future visits to Cape Town - we just hope the Primi Royal has availability when we do!

Room Tip: We understand the superior/luxury rooms are a little larger than the standard rooms - space you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
hi gyes,

many thanks for your kind review.
we will certainly be looking forward to your next visit!!

warm regards

the primi royal team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great location just back from beach, looking out to sea (and terrific sunsets, as it faces due West over Atlantic Ocean), within an easy stroll of the many Eateries and drinking holes that abound on the front. It is however on a major road and despite being placed on the very top floor, we found it quite noisy with traffic. As stated, our Room ( No 9) was on the top floor and huge, with double-sided balcony, sea-view and a raised dias for the bed, but so much furniture and lacking sufficient lights, that it felt crowded and dark. In fact, we felt that the decor in the entire place needs a re-think - the apparent objective of being a cool, trendy boutique Hotel is very close, but not there - orange is a tough colour to base the scheme on. Staff were very friendly and keen to help and we benefited from 2 Tours. Breakfast was good, but everything was too cramped in that space and coffee was an over-engineered production - the tables cannot accomodate that much crockery. There is a clear need for more training of these most willing ladies - 'poached egg on toast' should not prove that tough. Camps Bay was a far nicer location to my last vsit to CT, where I was in City and felt very unsafe. Here, we could walk around, even at night - great improvement, but the front is an, at times, very noisy, brash, see-and-be-seen hip spot for the flash and brash, where some behaviours are borderline !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
hi gyes,

many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the primi royal.


warm regards

the primi royal team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

well, i read the previous reviews, and it's all been said. there's nothing i could add!
the place is really well-located, a 2-minute walk from the beach, and the beach road, with restaurants and cafes, and there's a pick n pay around the corner.
the hotel is small, but our room had a breath-taking view, as two walls are entirely glass, so imagine!!
Breakfast is delicious, although not much to choose from, but very well prepared and excellent service.
Byron, the owner, is very friendly and was very much help, gave us very good tips for getting around and things to see.
but i find a bit pricey! but other than that, it was a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Ask for room with the two-glass walls (i think it's the only one!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
hi gyes,

many thanks for your kind words!!
it was a pleusure having you stay with us and we certainly look forward to your return!!

warm regards

the primi royal team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Primi-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi-Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom Boutique Hotel just 100m up from the Beach, Restaurants, Bars & Miami-Beach Style Nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange Half-Day & Full-Day Tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine,Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best Vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, Museums, Table Mountain, Day Trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, Whale Watching, Shark Cage Diving, Helicopter Trips, Tandem Paragliding & other Extreme Sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Primi-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi-Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primi-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.