We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem - with Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ezard House

Save Saved
You added Ezard House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ezard House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Theresa Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Gem - with Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ezard House should be on your list if you looking for a place to stay in Camps Bay.
The hotel has fantastic views over Camps Bay. The service is some the best we have received. In all the places that we have stayed in around the world it would be in out top 3 for service. The staff are “butlers” and treat the guests accordingly.
The ocean view room was excellent, very large with fabulous views. The housekeeping was first class.
Finally it was a great place to dine with good food and a view that few places could equal.
Although it was slightly out of the centre of Camps Bay it was only a few minutes by car or cab, the fare was 40/50 Rand each way.
The owner Don Ezard takes personal interest in the hotel and talks to all his guests which makes it quite a personal place to stay.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: An Ocean View is a must for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
43
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in 3 hotel in cape town. But I think this one was the best
Even though this hotel is little bit far from the ocean, this hotel has perfect view and calm circumstance and very perfect staff and very good zacuzzi view.
And owner (Ronald Ezard) is perfect CEO.
Before I go to this hotel, I've read most of tourist said that this hotel was better than they expected.
I've come to know that they were right.

I stayed about 120 hotel on world wide
I think this hotel was the best hotel in my lifetime
(This one was much better than Westin cape town.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is fair to say that we had not chosen to stay at Ezard Hse but due to water damage at our chosen boutique hotel we were transferred here as the only accommodation having availability over Christmas.

The hotel is bright and spacious and the head waiter Elton does a sterling job. All the general staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located in a fabulous position and has a feel of calm and tranquility.

In general in our opinion the hotel did not have an individual bespoke boutique feel compared to others we have stayed in.

No welcome drinks were offered on arrival and after a total of 21hrs on the go from the UK to Camps Bay it would have been a nice gesture.

We stayed over the Christmas period and were disappointed that nothing out of the ordinary was laid on for the guests. Indeed having spoken to other guests at a nearby hotel we know others had gone that extra mile to make it special. Sadly for us the Hotel Chef took both Christmas day and boxing day morning off leaving the head waiter rustling up breakfast. When Chef took up post again on the 27th it was hard for staff to get his attention in the open plan kitchen as he was busy on his i-phone; that is until the boss arrived and things seemed to speed up. Unfortunately that day my husband ended up with egg shell in his scrambled egg.

When pondering over value for money It is difficult to define what was Superior or Luxury about room 10. It was big, it had deep pile carpet and a large comfortable bed, but hey I have all these things at home. Whilst it had dual aspect terraces the one over looking the tiny pool area is not private and guests in the adjacent room shared the terrace furniture. Both adjacent parties can see into each others room at certain vantage points. Guest sunbathing by the pool also have the potential to see into room 10 meaning you have to keep the blinds closed hence blocking the very view you have paid for. There are no blackout curtains in the room so early every morning whether you like it or not you are woken by sunlight seeping through the sides of the blinds.

With the exception of the coffee table all other room furniture had a bland 70s style feel to it. The TV was an archaic cathode ray tube TV.

Wifi was not accessible in Room 10 and around the rest of the hotel it was slow and intermittent.

The jacuzzi seemed old and its shell had seen better days; I went to use it late one afternoon only to find it had not been switched on and heated. One of the staff kindly switched it on explaining it had been raining early morning so had been left off. However after an hour and a half of waiting for it to heat to temperature I gave up.

All in all I fail to see why this hotel is rated as it is and would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great rooms,fantastic views, superb helpful staff ,helpful owner.
It's not cheap but it is value.
My wife and I stayed for 6 nights and thanks to Don's advice we saw the best Cape Town and its surrounding areas had to offer.
Elton's breakfasts set us up for the day,great food served with a smile.
The rooms are a joy,the beds probably the most comfortable we've ever slept in.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A small boutique hotel above Camps Bay, very secure. 10 large suites, half of which overlook the ocean. Great staff, super breakfasts. Great bathrooms and stunning views. Very reasonably priced and a lot more personal than the big hotels in Cape Town. The Owner is a delight and they will arrange anything you need bespoke, from personal chef, to seafood special, drivers, etc etc. Very good indeed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I spent the night at Ezard House. The service was fantastic from the greating while still in our car outside to the service we got booking in. We felt most welcome and got a tour of the property and the stunning views.
After we had checked in and had a drink in our room( Ocean view 2) we asked about nice places to eat. They asked what sort of food we felt like. I said I felt like fish and my wife was vegiterian. Not only did they make a recomendation but also made a booking and got a cab to take us to and fetch us from the restraunt. The food was fantastic and they had reserved a romantic table for two out of the way of the rest of the people.
The rooms are big and have all the plugs we needed for UK devices. We also took advantage of the fast Wi-Fi to update and check our mail.
This was my best stay in Cape Town and would strongly recomend Ezard house even if just for one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

WOW!!!WOW!!! this is the best word too desrcibe our stay..When we arrived at the place the "manager was extra friendely to us.Offcourse we didnt know it was the manager.He was very proffesional.It was pouring outside but inside the friendlyness was beyond warm.The porter came to assist us.Never in our lives did we receive this kind off 5 STAR service....WOW!!!!Everybody was so friendly.Barry was extremely friendly and showed us our room..WOW!!!! Beautifull seaview room.CHRISP CLEAN AND NEAT...
The highlight off the evening was to me, It was my husbands birthday and I took a change to ask the butler if we can do something small for a surprise...WOW WOW he made the most wonderfull surprise for my husband.A Malva sticky pudding, wrote a little note with chocolate sauce.WOW!!! PEOPLE YOU ROCK!!!! We are really impressed!!!!!We will be back sooner than you think......Pieter and Maria

Room Tip: Room 2 or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ezard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezard House

Address: 20 Theresa Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ezard House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EZARD HOUSE, Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa. Ezard House, a true boutique hotel, provides a luxurious experience, a setting unequaled for the majestic grandeur of nature with open space and vistas - a setting only dreamed of. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain in prestigious Camps Bay, Ezard House, an exclusive 10 bedroom boutique hotel, provides luxurious accommodation in complete privacy, offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and the surrounding mountains with the Twelve Apostles sweeping away into the distance. Rising from the landscape in structural elegance, Ezard House is a landmark of sophisticated design and convenience, a haven for the traveller looking for the standards set in world class hotels, but with the personal attention of a boutique retreat. Ezard House has a superb restaurant which is not open to the public. However, guests may invite their friends or business associates for breakfast, lunch or dinner and if they would like something that is not on the splendid A la Carte menu the chefs will, given notice, prepare anything the guest may request. The food will be served with fine wines from the extensive wine list. Guests can relax in the private, heated pool, or the roof-top Jacuzzi. Ezard House is only 50 metres away from the start point of a mountain trail so guests can walk up Table Mountain and enjoy the far-reaching views and the flora and fauna of the park. The hotel has its own qualified, experienced guides and drivers. Full or part-day accompanied or unaccompanied tours along with shark cage diving, whale watching, paragliding, veteran and classic car hire, golf tee off times etc are all on offer. Children over 14 are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ezard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezard House Hotel Camps Bay
Ezard Hotel Camps Bay
Ezard House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ezard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.