We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was referred by a friend to stay at the 12 Apostles and what a disappointment. I've had the privilege of staying at wonderful hotels which by the way are much better priced than 12 Apostles and had much better service.

The 12 Apostles hotel' interior first off really needs an upgrade. If you guys are going to charge R6000 p/n for a room at least let me feel it was worth the money spent.
For a 5-Star hotel the food in the restaurant also wasn't anything special. One good meal followed by one bad one. I would give 12 Apostles 3 Stars.

The only thing that 12 Apostles has that's maybe worth spending a bit on is the view but for the prices they charge to enjoy that view I definitely wouldn't do it again. There are other hotels with better views in Camps Bay that offer much better service, has much better decor, much better views and are much better priced. I've already made a booking at one.

Bottom line,there are better ways to waste my money, like a casino, at least I stand a chance to make back the money I've wasted.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    95
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
133
570
20
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We , as locals stay at this warm and vibrant hotel at least twice a year !!
Its always a very pleasant stay where staff are engaging and happy to
take care of your every need. We always look forward to our next visit.

Graydon and Robyn

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel overnight with my partner on the night of our friends wedding, what a fantastic hotel, the view is to die for and the facilities first class. The food in the restaurant and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Twelve Apostles. It is a luxurious hotel and the service is fantastic. I loved how the rooms were decorated and the sunset from our terrace was stunning. In terms of location, it is slightly far from the Water front, but since we stayed here for half the time of our total vacation in Cape town (moving to another hotel close to Waterfront later) it did not really matter. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Nibley
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We popped in for cocktails after lunch at Hout Bay. Champagne Cocktails and Klippies and Cokes abounded (the two extremes of cocktails!) and the sun shone and the drinks kept coming. What a lovely afternoon.

It's a great cocktail bar and the veranda outside the Leopard's Bar gives you magnificent views of the ocean.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to this hotel for lunch. A stunning location overlooking the sea and the food and service was magnificent. We have been to another of their hotels, The Oyster Box, and both a great experience. Both are beautifully furnished hotels with great friendly and welcoming staff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have had many visits to the hotel and this year we tried the main restaurant and the bar upstairs, always good service and great valve for money for a five star hotel, this year we have had big fires on the mountain side all around Table mountain and the Park area.
They do good cocktails & the Seafood platter is huge for two people.
Easy parking for Non Resident customers.
Great views from the bar/balcony, this year we saw Wales which were early for the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.