We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I were treated like royalty. Stayed one night, definitely to be prolonged in the future. A hidden treasure, perfect to go and eat, spa day, celebrate birthday, anniversary.. Anything done in absolute luxury. Queen and King style! We loved every minute.

Room Tip: Always choose a sea facing room. It is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Very happy to read that we were able to treat you like royalty even if it was only for a day! On your next visit I will ensure that the red-carpet is rolled out too and that we exceed all your expectations once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    87
    29
    18
    16
See reviews for
117
503
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This grand hotel exudes opulence in an understated manner. The staff were exceptional, engaging and the epitome of professionalism and friendliness. The Azure restaurant for dinner was phenomenal; gourmet meals with tasters from the chef meant we were truly spoilt. Food was delicious and beautifully presented with a diverse menu on offer. The location of the hotel is perfect with awesome views. Hiking trails on hotel property if you're feeling adventurous. 5 star luxury ensuring Mrs Domingo's birthday be an unforgettable one. Personalized fruit sushi was a quirky and creative touch for sushi craving pregnant wife :):):)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Domingo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

It is with great pleasure that I read we were able to exceed your expectations. My staff are always looking at ways to create a memorable experience and the fruit sushi is a great example of the innovative measures we go to especially given the fact that that you are soon expecting a bundle of joy.

I hope we will have the opportunity to personally meet the little one once he or she is born and would be a great opportunity for you to come and relax a little too.

We look forward to welcoming the family back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Words cannot describe how amazing this place is! The service is awesome, everyone is friendly, food is great, the rooms have the best view in Cape Town, the reastrant is beautiful, all the staff are helpful, the rooms are STUNNING, the pools are even beautiful!, the spa is lovely. You have to go to this place, who ever gave it a bad review clearly doesn't have a clue about taste, style and life. Do yourself a favour and go! It's a must.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

We will have you back anytime and sooner rather than later! Thank you for the wonderful comments which I will definitely share with all my staff. Comments like these are great motivational tools and ensures that our staff will always try to improve and exceed expectations.

Don’t forget that we also have our very unique hiking trail behind the hotel with 8 picnic spots for those guests wanting to explore a little more. Also another must do is the most scenic helicopter flip from the hotel from our private helicopter pad to the V&A Waterfront.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

stayed six days July 2014. Seaside room view was outstanding. Service was without peer. All the staff were happy, helpful, neat and attentive. All in starched uniforms. Nothing sloppy. Masood the concierge was outstanding. The shuttle service to V&A was a lifesaver, and the driver was often willing to drop us off somewhere else near but not exactly the V&A dropoff.

My only complaint was room 303 suffered from water pipe noise one night we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Thank you for your comments regarding my wonderful team which is the biggest reason for our success and Masood is a great example of this. I will ensure I share these comments with him and the rest of the team.

The shuttle to the V&A we know is the lifeline to the city for our guests wanting to go do some shopping or visit the city centre.

My apologies for the water noise that disturbed you at night but can advise that the source of the problem was found and rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a superb stay in Cape Town in June at the 12 Apostles, can't speak highly enough about the staff, the views, the rooms and most especially the food! Everything was absolutely spot on and I don't think we will ever stay anywhere else when we go to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the sea view I think, we didn't but will definitely do that next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Thank you for the wonderful comments which I will share with my staff. We are indeed very fortunate with our location and we have a view for everyone, be it ocean or mountain.

I am also very proud of the Executive Chef Christo Pretorius who has been hard at work designing and creating some wonderful flavours for our guests to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and for many more year to come.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a great experience!! The view was breathtaking. The service was outstanding. We felt at home right away, spoiled so much that we contact the travel agent and extended two days and still did not want to leave! The fine dining was excellent. Then something totally unexpected. They have an in house cinema , with popcorn , milkshakes and sweets! What I treat. We did not want to go out of the hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

It is really wonderful that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent visit to the hotel. I will ensure that your comments are shared with all our staff during our monthly staff tea party as they do enjoy these comments and makes a big difference in staff morale.

We have a truly amazing location and the most breath-taking views, not to mention sunsets in front of the hotel. With the occasional whale and dolphin in the bay it does make for a memorable experience.

Glad that you were able to enjoy our private 16 seat cinema with all the treats which is perfect for some of the wintery and rainy days in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked the 12 Apostles as a splurge for our 10th wedding anniversary. Nestled in the Twelve Apostle Mountain Range, across from the sea - it is breathtaking. The grounds are equally gorgeous with gardens and pools. Since it was winter, we really couldn't partake in the pools. Staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful. At times I felt as though they were said what they thought we wanted to hear ... "The Robben Island ferry never gets cancelled." Of course it was cancelled 2 days in a row. The breakfast was lovely, although food was cold (eggs, sausage, etc.). Our dinner at Azure was a bit of a disappointment as well tastewise, but the presentation and service were excellent. Still, the hotel had lots of lovely touches - fresh and dried fruit throughout, a movie theatre and in room DVDs, excellent shuttle service, wine tasting, etc. The spa treatment was very good - again, the pools could have been a bit warmer!! I would recommend this if you are going to splurge for a vacation -- just make sure the staff know you're there for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded Mountain View room. Due to the winter fog, you cannot see the mountains ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

It is with great pleasure that I read your feedback following your recent stay with us. Congratulations once again on your special 10th wedding anniversary and thank you for sharing this special occasion with us.

We are truly blessed with the wonderful views we have at the hotel and there is something for everyone being located in the Table Mountain nature reserve.

Your comments with regards to the food for both breakfast and dinner has been noted and discussed with the Executive Chef Christo Pretorius and thank you for making these observations. It is only with feedback like yours that we are able to enhance our service and guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.