We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel recently. It was a treat I planned for my husband to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I am suitably impressed with the outstanding service we received. From the moment we arrived until the time we left the staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. A big thank you to Lauren for her exceptional service with a smile. We would also like to compliment the staff at the Azure restaurant, especially Jabu. Most probably the best waitress we have had in years. Jabu provided us with exceptional service and made our evening very enjoyable. The food at the restaurant was excellent! We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Congratulations once again on your 10th wedding anniversary!

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice in celebration of such a special anniversary and for sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

I am delighted that you appreciated our service, we do take great pride in ensuring that are guests are well looked after. I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Lauren, our Assistant Concierge, and Jabu, Azure restaurant waiter, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. Both of them epitomizes the service values and ethics we strive to uphold at the Hotel and I will make sure that your comments are shared with them at our next employee appreciation party.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    95
    37
    19
    21
See reviews for
138
575
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a perfect setting for our wedding in April, the hotel, the venues for our ceremony & reception, everything was perfect and the weather with stunning views just added to what was an already perfect day. We would like to thank Stephanie Hall and her staff for such wonderful personalised service. We would recommend The Twelve Apostles to anyone, both as a holiday destination and wedding venue.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but obviously the sea view rooms are the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! We trust that the day was filled with happy memories of the past as well as bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to celebrate such a special occasion. We are delighted to have been part of your very special memories.

I am overjoyed that our staff took such good care of you on your special day and that Stephanie Hall, our dedicated personal Wedding Coordinator, had a positive impact on your time with us. Stephanie epitomises the service values and ethics we strive to uphold at the hotel. I will ensure that your comments are shared with her and the rest of the team.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to welcoming you back on many future anniversaries.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Fanstastic hotel of the highest quality, in a super setting that few can match. Staff most efficient, and understand one's needs and find the right balance between assisting and allowing you the freedom to enjoy your time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely review following you recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had 3 nights here to end my holiday with a bang! Great location, great food, fantastic friendly staff! Not really anything to complain about, except maybe the Mountain Trail should be made better (clearer) if they don't want people wandering all over the Nature Reserve! But it's worth the walk for the view! Plus I was able to watch a school of maybe a 100 Dolphins from the walk, brilliant!
The staff in the Spa are great, and I had a wonderful massage! Almost beat the pants off me, but it felt great!
I also took the helicopter ride into V&A Waterfront, Awesome is the only word!
The Azure Restaurant is really nice and all the staff were great, but I actually preferred (being a lone traveller) the more relaxed atmosphere of the Café Grill. Same standard of food too! Same menu with extras! Also popped in there for the High Tea! Sandwiches were okay, deserts were Awesome (I say awesome too much!!).
All in all a most enjoyable stay. If I ever win the lottery I'll be back!

Room Tip: I think I was in one of the cheaper rooms (if Cheaper is a word you can use with this hotel!!), Moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you enjoyed all the unique experiences that our beautiful Hotel has to offer - the incredible views that you can experience whilst enjoying a helicopter trip from the hotel to the V&A Waterfront as well as enjoying a leisurely walk along the mountain trail at the back of the Hotel. Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the signage at the mountain trail – I have already raised your concern with our gardeners and can assure you that this is being looked at as a matter of urgency.

I am very pleased that you recognised our high level of service. We have a very passionate and dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is most rewarding to read that you did.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your travelling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us and for allowing us to be part of your very special memories. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We wanted a memorable ending to our first African safari trip and the 12A hotel was perfect. Beautiful location, attentive staff and excellent food/service. The room was lovely. But most impressive was the staff's helpfulness - from getting us a terrific hiking guide, Margaret, for a climb to the top of Table Mountain, a beautiful tour along the coast, dinner reservation at the fabulous Codfather in Camps Bay, to just everyday things like the shuttle around town and the hotel restaurant service (the breakfast was outstanding). The sunset was wonderful with a big patio where everyone comes to watch - even the guests were friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would (hope to) come back.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, check the room out first to see if it's a good view. Some of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I am very pleased that you recognised our high level of service. We have a very passionate and dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is most rewarding to read that you did.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We took a helicopter from the Waterfront to the Twelve Apostles. We were very warmly welcomed by Masood who was so kind and friendly. An excellent host. We had a drink at the Leopard bar, followed by a divine food and wine pairing on the balcony at Azure - was superb. Special mention to Edward our waiter, who looked after us so well. Food was out of the world. Absolute top-class experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Our “Two flights package” is such a unique experience that can only be enjoyed at our beautiful hotel. The helicopter flight from the V&A Waterfront to the hotel offers awe-inspiring views of the Atlantic Ocean, Robben Island, Lions Head, Camps Bay and Clifton. Add to this an exquisite lunch and “flight of wines” in our award winning Azure restaurant – what more can you ask for?

Our dedicated staff members work incredibly hard and takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests by striving to uphold our service philosophy of “No request too large, No detail to small”. I am overjoyed to read that Masood and Edward had such a positive impact on your time with us. Both of them epitomize the service values and ethics that we strive to uphold at the hotel and I will ensure that your comments are shared with them.

The team at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Is SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel was beautiful. The only problem we had was that we didn't get to enjoy it. Our schedule was very hectic and we would leave at 8:00 am and not return until 6 or 7 in the evening. The food was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.