We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true 5 star experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A true 5 star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spend our last two days of our family trip in this luxurious hotel. We had a sea view suite that was just big enough for a family of four. For 4 persons it was maybe not so luxurious as everything else in the hotel, but the sea view and the balcony were great. We stayed those two days in the hotel and enjoyed its bars, restaurants, pools and the great spa. Remember to book spa appointments in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your last 2 days of your holiday at the Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa. As you saw we have a number of activities and venues available including our award winning spa. I agree that reserving treatments prior to your arrival is most definitely recommended and the same would be for our restaurants. This is just to avoid disappointment when you arrive and they may already be fully allocated.

Although our suites can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children under 16 it would be advisable to book an inter-leading room for the children if they are still young which means you would have direct access to them and have additional space.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    86
    29
    17
    16
See reviews for
117
500
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vila do Bispo, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here four years ago and were very disappointed in our room, small with no view. On leaving we did not complain but just wrote a note to that affect in the guest comments book. When arriving home there was a message on our answer machine from the manager apologising and offering an upgrade if ever we returned. Four years later, last week, we returned and were given a sea view facing suite having only booked and paid for an entry level room. Even more to our surprise we had a complementary dinner, all this despite a change in manager over the four years, but I did produce the e mails offering the upgrade on booking. The hotel staff and facilities are superb and the breakfasts second to none, thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is wonderful to read that we managed to change and enhance your perception of the Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa. We know that we will not always get everything perfect and should a guest mention anything to us we see this as an opportunity to be better.

I am glad that we had the opportunity to welcome you back and offer you the view you expected the first time you stayed with us. We are very proud of our wonderful staff as they truly make the ordinary into the extra-ordinary and we can’t do it without them.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more future visits.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolseley, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We recently booked in here as two couples sharing our wedding anniversaries and what a treat it was! Took the local (SA Citizens) spa package and had a wonderful spa treatment, amazing sea view room - although can be noisy because of the road, but spectacular views, dinner at Azure and breakfast the next morning! An affordable package for the locals! It is great to be a tourist in your own city and this is a real treat!

Room Tip: Sea views can be noisy but spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

Firstly a happy belated anniversary once again. I am very pleased to read that you had a wonderful dual anniversary celebration with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back every year.

I know that the magnificent scenic road in front of the hotel has been mentioned in the past and would recommend that you look at booking our Luxury rooms which are located on both sides of the hotel and offers views of the ocean and mountain or our beautiful mountain facing rooms or suite with views of the majestic Twelve Apostles Mountain range.

There is no better place in the city to enjoy breakfast with a view and what better way than to start your day with sparkling wine and oysters all part of the breakfast buffet.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here very much, the location is outstanding and having breakfast just next to the ocean is the perfect start of each day! The rooms are very comfortable and have all amentities, excellent food at the Azure Restaurant, be prepared for a dinner with special effects!
The pool area might look small but there are nice little sundecks hidden in the park. We will come back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

You are right, our location is very unique and we are very fortunate indeed. Breakfast is definitely a highlight and just the right way to start the day. I can’t think of a better way than to start the day with a glass of sparkling wine and if you like an oyster or two.

We have a number of hidden areas in and round the hotel including hammocks for all our guest to have their own peace and quiet whenever they need it. The hotel is in the Table Mountain Nature Reserve with no neighbours which is very unique and gives our guests to opportunity to take a leisurely hike behind the hotel with 8 picnic spots on the way.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just stayed at the 12A for a few days and couldn't have been more happy with our stay. The views from the hotel are incredible, the location is superb and the service is second to none. We had a mountain facing room and were considering upgrading to ocean facing however the mountain facing was beautiful as well and we ended keeping the original room. The breakfast buffet was tremendous. Best waffles I ever had! The prices for food and drink were reasonable and the quality was superb. The only problems were the main road is in front of the hotel so you can hear the cars going by at the pool and the bathroom (at least in our room) was nice but a little tacky (mirrors everywhere). Overall one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

Your comments are very welcome and will be shared with the staff too. We are very fortunate to be nestled between the twelve Apostles Mountains and Atlantic Ocean with no neighbours. I am glad you found the mountain facing room so beautiful and all our rooms are of similar style in décor.

We also have our second pool next to the Café Grill which may also be an option if the Atlantic pool is a little too noisy for a relaxing day around the pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Beautiful accommodations and super service from the concierge staff and shuttle drivers. Housekeeping muffed the shampoo and conditioner, leaving us three bottle of body lotion. My wife had to sit around for about 40 minutes waiting with wet hair in a bathrobe for them to get around to rectifying it. Breakfast was amazing - delicious and plenty of variety. Dinner was less successful. After being served our first course in a timely manner, a group of apparent VIP's took a table close by. Wait staff immediately forgot about us and fawned over the group. It took 45 minutes between finishing entrees and being brought dessert menus. Horrible service. The worst we had anywhere in Africa. Nice linens in the room though!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

My sincerest apologies for not exceeding all your expectations and in particular for housekeeping omitting to have shampoo in the room and for the less that timely service you received in the Azure restaurant. I apologise if you felt that once the table was seated next to you your service was not as attentive as in the beginning. I have raised these concerns with both my Housekeeping Manager and Food and beverage manager to put some procedures in place to avoid any other guests experiencing the same challenges.

I am glad to read that you did enjoy our wonderful breakfast with one of the best views in town, the perfect way to start your day.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As usual attending the Mining Indaba in the CTICC, we stayed at the 12A.

This is not a business hotel, but one chosen as it some distance away from the centre so if you have down time (rare) you are truly off duty.

However at the end of the week I did have some time to enjoy the hotel and SPA.

The service is great, the concierge is outstanding! He alone is worth staying at this hotel, he is an asset and knows the area and where he might send people to get the things that they want.

Rooms clean spacious and extremely comfortable,

The bar can get busy and the restaurant equally so, but the cafe staff are so accommodating it is outstanding - good menu, but happy to allow you order off the main menu if that is what you want.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.