We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Lovely Views!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Lovely Views!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the 12 Apostles. The service that we received from Tasneem at check in was extremely outstanding. We had a mountain facing room which was OK. No amazing views. The room, although extremely clean was however unexpectedly small and felt a bit cramped.

We also got excellent treatment at the spa. watching the sunset from the pool area as well as the balcony at the restaurant was such lovely event. There was virtually no sitting space at the restaurant balcony during sunset. We had high tea at the bar and received even more excellent service from Mlungisi who treated us like royalty.

Dinner was probably one of the highlights. There was a variety to chose from, right from the starter all the way to dessert. We tried different types of exotic dishes including springbok and sea food. The waiters were extremely humble, courteous and willing to go the extra mile.

The pricing for this hotel is on the higher end of the market. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms though slightly more expensive probably have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here that makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa a very special place to work and for our guests to stay in. All of the team here always tries their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs. I am overjoyed that Tamzin and Mlungisi had such a positive impact on your short stay with us. I have passed on your very kind words to them as well as the rest of the team.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    87
    29
    17
    16
See reviews for
117
502
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a very busy summer for me basically living in a 5 star hotel working every day and getting used to that level of service, my husband and I finally tied the knot in the fall and came down to South Africa for our honeymoon. Our first stop was Twelve Apostles for 6 nights and lordy it set the bar high. We were treated both warmly and like VIPs from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We loved our room (thanks very much for the complimentary upgrade), booked the honeymoon package which was great (amazing massage and spa services), rose petal and candlelight in our bedroom, some bottles of wine and bubbly. A lot of little thoughtful touches that made it so very nice.

We both loved the food at Azure too (springbok was phenomenal), and the breakfasts on their terrace were amazing, watching dolphins swim past with a glass of bubbly, eggs benedict and fresh oysters? Amazingly decadent but just another touch that made our stay here unforgettable.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, if you can afford it, do stay here! We had a rental car and easily got to/from Cape Town and other parts in the area we wanted to visit, highly recommend renting a car to have the flexibility although the hotel does offer a shuttle service to/from the main tourist/business area of Cape Town.

Room Tip: We had mountain view and was very beautiful, I know everyone wants a sea view but I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice to celebrate your honeymoon.

I am absolutely overjoyed that you were made to feel like “royalty” by our team of very dedicated staff members at our beautiful hotel where guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back on many future anniversaries.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I spent one evening at this amazing hotel and really enjoyed the experience.

We booked for the winter special, taking in dinner and a movie.

5 star status is all about service and we begun our evening by being upgraded from a deluxe suite to a deluxe suite with a sea view. Only in HK have I ever experienced more luxury (at twice the rate) The view over the Atlantic is magnificent and we enjoyed our pink gins on the terrace as the sun set over the ocean.

We were given a tour of the excellent Spa and the hotel by the Joanne the Spa manageress

Dinner was decadent, the special included four choices for each of the three courses and the service was excellent.

Breakfast was exceptional with Champaigne and Large Oysters to enjoy with the buffet.

All this after suffering from food poisoning from an earlier lunch in Cape Town.

I will definitely return to do more justice to this incredible offer from a top hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite with a sea view is def worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

...and amazing. Perfect location and like many of the Red Carnation hotels the service is impeccable. 12A really showcases South Africa, and is a must for foreign visitors, even if just for a day visit (possibly for a spa treatment and high tea!). One of the most vital and handy services is the free shuttle service running to the V&A Waterfront or Camps Bay. You can really relax and let them take care of you. Unlike other 5 Star establishments food and drink prices are reasonable, so you can actually spend much of your holiday at the hotel. Together with the Oyster Box in Durban, these two hotels are the best I've seen in South Africa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your travelling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Before going, realize that it is a 15 minute (free) shuttle ride into V & A Waterfront, and there is no ability to walk anywhere from the hotel, especially at night. With that said, it's really an excellent hotel. If you can get past that, the breakfast buffet is excellent, the views, terrific, and the spa was relaxing. Decor was tasteful, and even if you get a bad room without an ocean view, as we did, all you need to do is go to one of the countless rooms with stellar oceans views on the property. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have traveled the world and have never stayed in a hotel with such exceptional service as The Twelve Apostles. All staff are amazing and gave us the best service and advice possible. Dinners was outstanding and breakfasts totally blew us away! Whenever we go to Cape Town again, we will stay at this hotel!! Outstanding quality and service!

Room Tip: Choose sea view rooms - they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was very happy that we met your expectations and have passed on your kind words to the team who makes this all happen.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the Leopard Bar on our last night in Cape Town (May 2013) for some drinks at sunset. We took a taxi from Camps Bay which took about 7 minutes and cost about 80 rand. The bar has a beautiful interior - stylish and glam. We had a great bottle of wine and some delicious cocktails. The bar has a long balcony where you can sit outside if it's warm enough and the staff were super attentive and professional. We had dinner at the Azure restaurant which was fantastic - incredible food and wine, and again, impeccable service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and I have passed on your kind words to them.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.