We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com
and 12 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Before going, realize that it is a 15 minute (free) shuttle ride into V & A Waterfront, and there is no ability to walk anywhere from the hotel, especially at night. With that said, it's really an excellent hotel. If you can get past that, the breakfast buffet is excellent, the views, terrific, and the spa was relaxing. Decor was tasteful, and even if you get a bad room without an ocean view, as we did, all you need to do is go to one of the countless rooms with stellar oceans views on the property. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    65
    23
    15
    15
See reviews for
92
401
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have traveled the world and have never stayed in a hotel with such exceptional service as The Twelve Apostles. All staff are amazing and gave us the best service and advice possible. Dinners was outstanding and breakfasts totally blew us away! Whenever we go to Cape Town again, we will stay at this hotel!! Outstanding quality and service!

Room Tip: Choose sea view rooms - they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was very happy that we met your expectations and have passed on your kind words to the team who makes this all happen.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the Leopard Bar on our last night in Cape Town (May 2013) for some drinks at sunset. We took a taxi from Camps Bay which took about 7 minutes and cost about 80 rand. The bar has a beautiful interior - stylish and glam. We had a great bottle of wine and some delicious cocktails. The bar has a long balcony where you can sit outside if it's warm enough and the staff were super attentive and professional. We had dinner at the Azure restaurant which was fantastic - incredible food and wine, and again, impeccable service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and I have passed on your kind words to them.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the moment my sister and I arrived at the Twelve Apostles Hotel we know we were in good hands. After a grueling flight from the US, the staff put us at ease. Our room was delightful and we slept well, eager the next morning for the “Jet Lag” spa treatment we had booked earlier. The spa was beautiful and we agreed jet lag was avoided! Keep in mind the spa has some complimentary services for hotel guests. The Azure restaurant provided a lovely breakfast each morning with every breakfast fare imaginable. In addition, they offered freshly squeezed orange juice, omelets, and eggs served to order upon request. The servers, after the first morning, knew us by name and had our favorites waiting. The Leopard Bar had a beautiful view of the ocean and was the perfect place for a sundowner. The concierge, Masood, proved to be the ultimate professional and booked private tours for us as well as the complimentary car service to various spots. I might add John and Russell were exceptional. We explored the mountain walks and picnic spots the hotel had to offer. When I thanked anyone for service they always replied, “Pleasure”. It was indeed a pleasure staying the Twelve Apostles.

Room Tip: Our room, 410, was facing a wall---so the view wasn't good. But it didn't seem to matter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking. Our goal is to always provide a "home form home" experience.

I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Masood, our Head Concierge, John and Russell, hotel drivers, had a positive impact on your stay with us. All three gentlemen epitomise the service values and ethics we strive to uphold and I will make sure that this is shared with them at our next employee appreciation party.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at 12 Apostles from May 19th thru may 22nd 2013. From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable. Our arrival made us completely forget that we had been on a long flight from the U.S. The hotel is nested in the Table Mountains with a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean. All meals were superb. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and paid attention to every detail that we requested. The concierge Dale took care of arranging for a private driver so that we made the most out of our excursion to the wineries and the excursion drive to Cape Point. If you are planning to visit Cape Town, you will be completely satisfied with your stay at 12 A. Q'Juan Gray

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Gray,

Thank you for your lovely review following you recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. Dale, our assistant Concierge, epitomizes the service values and ethics we strive to uphold at the Hotel and I am overjoyed to hear of the positive impact that he had on your stay with us.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

From our warm and friendly welcome by the charming and hospitable staff right up to our sad goodbyes, we had one of the most pleasant 3-day experiences of anywhere we've ever stayed. The staff, the meals, the rooms, the Leopard Bar where we had sundowners, night caps and midnight suppers...all topped off with 24-hour TLC. And, although it's a few miles from the harbor in Cape Town, a complimentary shuttle is provided.

Room Tip: Although we didn't have a room with an Ocean View, we had a garden terrace with a table and chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely review following you stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that it was one of the best hotel experiences that you have ever had. “A perfect 10 in every way!” - what an accolade?

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgton, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It goes without saying that The Twelve Apostles is one of the loveliest hotels on this earth. But the people of The Twelve Apostles put this hotel over the top. We have never encountered such graciousness, kindness, competence, and warmth—to a person. A special bonus is the car service every hour in and out of Cape Town. We highly recommend staying here rather than in town. Every night we fell asleep to the sound of the ocean pounding. The hotel nestles into the mountains after which it is named. On a rest day we enjoyed wandering on the trails behind the hotel and having a picnic. The location gives you a sense of what the Cape Town area looked like when only nomadic tribes wandered here, so wild and beautiful. And then in minutes you are into the heart of Cape Town and modern times. The best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here that makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa a very special place to work and for our guests to stay in. All of the team here always tries their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs. I have passed on your very kind words to them and I hope they we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The Twelve Apostles Hotel
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list