We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding & wonderful stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wedding & wonderful stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our wedding was on the 4th May 2013. I spent two nights at the hotel and will without a doubt tell anyone, The best decision we ever made for our wedding was to have it at this hotel.

The Gardens overlook the ocean and the mountain was our backdrop. The Atlantic Terrace for reception had the most spectacular view of the ocean at sunset. It still feels as if it was all a dream.

Stephanie Hall comes with the wedding venue and she was so bubbly and from the start she made me feel that it didn't matter that I didn't have a clue what I was doing because she did. She recommends suppliers that she trusts and that will not let you down. She sends you updates and makes sure that on the day there is no stress for you at all. All of those involved in the wedding did that for not only my husband and I, but also for our guests.


Now on to the Hotel Stay.

You are greeted with champagne and your bags are in your taken to your room for you.
The lobby reminded me of The English style hotels you see in the movies. Everything in its place.

The room was the ocean view suite and I have stayed in a few other 5 star hotels and this was the first time I jumped up and down like a kid at Christmas when I first went into the room.
The view of the ocean, the open plan split level design, the little touches that made me feel like I never wanted to go home. It had everything one could want with extras, like 5 different choices of pillow, movies on demand. Spa products as in room Bathroom necessities and a bed that felt like it was made just for me.

There are so many other wonderful parts to this hotel that I could only say good things about, However there is one standout reason why I would recommend this hotel to anyone and that is simply because the staff are among the best in the world. They made me feel like they really loved being there as much as their guests.

It was the wonderful wedding and 2 night stay at an unforgettable place.

Thank you. :-)

Room Tip: The Sea View Rooms if you want an ocean view are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! We feel extremely privileged to have been part of your very special memories.

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to celebrate such a special occasion.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Stephanie Hall, our personal wedding co-ordinator, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. Stephanie epitomizes the service values and ethics we strive to uphold and I will make sure that this is shared with her at our next employee appreciation party.

Reading such a great report on our service and facilities is a real pleasure. I am happy that you enjoyed and appreciated all the small touches that we believe makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa truly special.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on many future anniversaries. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    70
    25
    16
    15
See reviews for
98
439
15
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Twelve Apostles Hotel in August 2012 for four nights. We arrived in the evening (after a 20-minute drive from the airport) and were greeted with champagne. We were luckily upgraded to a suite - #109 - the 2nd best room in the entire property next to the presidential suite. The room was absolutely incredible with a view of the water with a "walk-around" balcony. We enjoyed breakfast every morning at the hotel's upscale Azure restaurant with oysters and champagne - we also enjoyed dinner here one evening. We spent one afternoon at the Spa and enjoyed it as well. The hotel's Leopard Bar is great too.

The hotel was very helpful in making reservations off of the property - restaurants, tours, etc. One afternoon we hired a licensed driver (and certified tour guide) for a private tour of the wine country - $40 USD per hour. We went to the Stellenbosch region (approximately one hour away from the hotel) and went to five wineries in six hours. We hired the same driver for the following day to take us to the Cape of Good Hope, while stopping at Chapman's Peak and drove back through the Constantia wine region. Sadly the Table Mountain Cableway was closed for two weeks during our stay so we did not get to go up - we would have loved to have seen that view and will do that on our return trip to Cape Town. We also visited the V&A Waterfront, a must see.

All in all - this hotel is repeatedly ranked high among credible lists (ie Travel & Leisure "Worlds Top 100 Hotels" - Twelve Apostles is ranked #41 out 100.) It is a beautiful property with amazing views and service - it's worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

I was delighted to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations. We have a very dedicated team of people who works incredibly hard and who takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a luxury room with partial sea view at the end of our garden rout trip. The rooms are very comfortable with beautiful view of the ocean (ours had the sunset), and the service, really excellent. The staff were always alert and attentive to our needs, when we went out for dinner they took us to the restaurant in the hotel car and then collected us and dropped us off at another location we wished to continue to for a drink, all free of charge. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and we had dinner at the leopard bar one night ordering from the Azure menue and the food was of very high quality. The pool area was very relaxing for an afternoon dip and drink and the walking trail behind the hotel is a nice diversion that will look down on a beautiful panorama. My only comment about it would be that I prefer a little simpler decoragtion, but all together, I highly recommend this hotel and it would probably be my choice again for a future visit.

Room Tip: Room 425 has a sea and sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We have received your review on your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and are naturally delighted that you had such a splendid time. We trust that you will visit us many times still in the future.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

There should be 10 stars for this hotel & location. One of the most beautiful hotels in all the world. The location, the staff, the food, view, amenities. They also have car service to & from Town which is included. Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean. All wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, sharing your experience with us and other travelers. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we've ever found. The service is superb and every staff member we dealt with, at whatever level, gave the impression that they were genuinely interested in being helpful. It's the staff that makes this hotel great, backed up by very good facilities and a special location. I bought the "engagement package" and used the helicopter ride from the V&A waterfront to propose. The staff were in on the surprise and succeeded spectacularly in making this a most memorable stay. Their attentiveness, timing and sensitivity were critical in ensuring that everything went smoothly. They even prepared a back-up plan in case the weather didn't work out, that's service! Thank you very much to the 12 Apostles for the new unforgetable memories and I heartily recommend this hotel, whatever the occasion! Room was great too.

Room Tip: Sea views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent engagement! We are privileged to have been part of your very special memories.

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. Reading such a great report on our service and facilities is a real pleasure. I am happy that you enjoyed and appreciated all the small touches that we believe makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa truly special. Our team strive to deliver the highest levels of personal service and I am delighted that we took such special care of you.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were hugely impressed with the friendly service and incredible stay we had at the Twelve Apostles Hotel. The hotel is certainly situated in one of the most majestic and breathtaking locations on the edge of the Atlantic in the Cape Peninsula. Other aspects that impressed us were the quality and comfort of our spacious sea-facing room, the comfortable bed which provided a great night's rest and the delicious buffet breakfast spread in the mornings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We have received your review on your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and are naturally delighted that you had such a splendid time. We trust that you will visit us many times still in the future.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As we walked through the hotel doors, we were greeted with a warm smile from Lauren welcoming us to Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We were given a grand tour of the hotel and shown to our room. Special anniversary treats were brought to us on a beautiful tray. Lauren called us a moment later to let us know that they had a sea facing suit available for a special rate because of our wedding anniversary. We saw the suit and said yes. The sun sets were beautiful. The hotel is so charming and decorated in keeping with its elegant age but with modern amenities. The setting of the hotel is breathtaking. The meals were very good and the staff were warm and attentive to our every need.

Room Tip: Sea facing to watch the sun sets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations your 30th wedding anniversary! We trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

I am absolutely overjoyed that you were made to feel like “royalty” by the team of very dedicated staff members at our beautiful hotel and that Lauren Tittley, Guest Liaison Officer, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. All of the team here always tries their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and I have passed on your kind words to them.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back on many future anniversaries.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.