We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guarantee
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
Tustin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel, rooms, and grounds were just beautiful. And the view of the ocean was fantastic!! Can't say enough about the staff. Customer service at it's finest. They ALWAYS went above and beyond. The spa was wonderful. Very relaxing environment. The food and presentation was spectacular. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and found the facilities and most importantly the service to your liking.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your travelling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    70
    25
    16
    15
See reviews for
100
443
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed here once before and it was equally as good.
The rooms are excellent and cleaned twice a day...the furnishes are comfortable and the bathrooms are wonderful.All the toiletries are earth and people friendly, made with no chemicals or SLS ingredients.
The breakfasts ( which a included in the price ) are really good, with everything catered for...breads, pastries, buffet cooked breakfasts or. Made from the menu...
Bakfast can be eaten outside with the wonderful back dr of the Twelve Apostle mountain range and the ocean....we saw whales playing in the bay.
Restaurant is a little pricey for SA but you get what you pay for....they must have a great team of chefs.

Room Tip: Ask for a side room, although the ocean view is great, there is a busy road between the hotel and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has to be one of the best that I have stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive staff and the ocean side location nestled under the 12 Apostle mountains makes it a superb hotel. A glass of champagne as you check in, first class cuisine, beautiful rooms and an atmosphere that exudes luxury. For us it was an ideal way to finish our South African holiday - two safaris and two hotels preceded the 12 Apostles and it was an excellent way to finish our trip. Even the courtesy transport to Cape Town was a Mercedes. You were just made to feel so welcome and the hotels' own 16 seater cinema was a great touch. My wife and I were sad to leave.

Having breakfast on the terrace with champagne included in the cost of the breakfast was a nice touch. The fine dining was superb and great value and every member of staff you interacted with remembered your name. Bea Tollman must be very proud of this hotel of hers.

The pillow menu in the room was interesting as was the soap menu.

Room Tip: I cannot fault this hotel - it has everything to enable the guest to feel wanted and to be able to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have just returned from this amazing hotel. Beautiful rooms ( we had a free upgrade too) amazing service from staff and fantastic food. However, there was a corporate event and a wedding on our final night and we were told the restaurant was full. Later we were told there was a table at 8.30pm only.We explained this was too late (we had an early departure the next day) We were then told they could fit us in at 6.15pm. We accepted, but then the table was not ready and we were not served until 7.30pm ( the time we would have liked to have booked originally) The meal itself was first class, but I would have expected a hotel of this standard ( and price) to be able to accommodate its guests. I have always wondered why some hotels sell themselves on not taking corporate bookings so as to provide guests with a first rate service. Now I know why. But other than this an amazing stay.

Room Tip: Book meals well in advance if you want to be sure of a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post review following your recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking.

I am sorry to read about the lack of service you experienced with regards to the confirmation of your Azure Restaurant dinner reservation. I hope you will accept my reassurances that the restaurant staff responsible have all been given a reminder about the standards we expect.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

As I was going to propose to my girlfriend I thought that this hotel would be good. I had very high expectations after staying in several 5-stars hotel, and it was absolutely outstanding.
The staff pulled out all stops when they got to know my plan and made the stay exceptional good. They made the room fantastic and gave us a great in-room-dining.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations on your recent engagement! We are delighted to have been a part of your very special memories.

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was lucky to have the opportunity to stay at this great property for four nights in March 2013. This LHW boutique five star property is located along the coast just underneath it's namesake Twelve Apostles range of Table Mountain.
This luxury property is just the place to relax and enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer and is rated the number one property in Cape Town.

Many of the 70 rooms and suites have stunning ocean or Table Mountain views. The rooms are varied in size and style and views but even the classic rooms are well appointed. The small but lovely bathroom came with great products including bath salts and large towels. All categories of rooms come with 2 sets of robes - the classic Turkish and my preference, the cotton kimono.

The dining venues have beautiful view. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, a stop at the Leopard Bar for sunset drinks is a must do in Cape Town. Dining options are varied and delicious and the breakfast buffet is outstanding including fresh oysters and sparkling wine and dining on the outside terrace with the ocean and Lion’s Head views is a perfect way to stay the day.

Service at the hotel is outstanding and very personalized. There are two pools - one in the rocks with Table Mountain in the back and the other on the Atlantic Ocean. The resort has a small but great spa with hot and cold plunge pools and a salt-water floatation tank. They also have a private cinema room that shows films and can be reserved for a group.

It's a great honeymoon spot perfect for romance. There are even two hidden gazebos for private treatments or a catered picnic. There are very nice venues for small or large events and we had the opportunity to experience a great dinner in one. Food and service is great.

Unless on a strict budget, avoid the classic rooms as they are small and dark since they face a rock wall. But if you choose the classic, the rooms is still only steps from great views from anywhere in the hotel.

The hotel is located outside of Cape Town and the taxi ride depending on the time of day (it's a 2 lane coastal road) can be expensive ($30). However, Camps Bay is close by with shops and a lively nightlife.

I can highly recommend this wonderful unique property for a memorable stay in South Africa!

Room Tip: Worth it to do more than a classic room to get a great Ocean or Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here that makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa a very special place to work and for our guests to stay in. All of the team here always tries their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs. I have passed on your very kind words to them and I hope they we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Service in restaurant and bar very slow - parties split up at breakfast as unable to sit at one table, repeatedly having to ask for tea/coffee/toast as they forget! Rooms not next to each other as a family either - on two separate floors in spite of being booked for 10 months! Rooms love and view and faculties fab. Lo g way out from anything no shops or restaurants near by but shuttle service available.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

Naturally I was very disappointed to learn of your comments, particularly as we receive so much positive feedback about the hotel and we are sorry that you did not experience our usual high standards.

Please rest assured that we have taken your comments on board and will be reviewing service in the areas that you have highlighted to ensure that your experience was a most unfortunate once off and that other guests do not encounter similar situations in future.

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention, we truly value your feedback

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;