We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Perhaps we expected too much but this is a 5 star hotel which we thought had a prime location.
We had booked a sea view room & perhaps this was a mistake. The noise from the road is continuous & the soundproofing not good. Trying to sit on our terrace & enjoy the view was also not pleasant. In addition 2 nights of weddings with very noisy guests going on till 2.00pm did not help.The room itself looked tired & in need of some refurbishment & the air conditioning was not reliable requiring several staff & several attempts before it was sorted. There were profuse apologies for this but no recompense in any way.
The food in both restaurants was good & no complaints with the choice for breakfast.
The majority of staff were also extremely pleasant & helpful.
Overall disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Through your valuable feedback we will be able to consider future enhancements and fulfil our service philosophy of “no request too large, no detail too small”. It is our full intention to exceed your expectations and we greatly appreciate your help in achieving this goal.

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention, since it is often only when guests highlight issues that we can take whatever remedial action may be necessary to prevent a similar situation spoiling a stay for another guest.

I am very sorry that you have been left with a poor impression of the hotel but I do hope that you will reconsider your decision about returning. I very much hope that you will provide us with an opportunity to restore your faith in The Twelve Apostles, please let me know should you would like to return and I will be delighted to personally take care of the reservation for you.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    65
    23
    15
    15
See reviews for
92
401
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I recently stayed at this property as well as 41 in London . Mrs. Tollman's attention to detail truly makes her hotels the best anywhere. They are usually small and cozy have a very warm staff and every detail is looked after from the fluffy towels to the excellent family supervised restaurants. My wife truly enjoyed some of The Tollman's family recipes. When traveling you should not just look for 4 seaons as I usually do but now I add red carnation hotels to my list whenever I travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inhambane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our nights at the Hotel ! I love the Decor , the food at the bar was amazing , the oysters for breakfast a fantastic idea !

About the so well known restaurant , we were a bit disappointed with the starters , but the mains and dessert were very good, the staff at the restaurant was really helpful and kind .

We did not like the way the duty manager spoke with us because were late for dinner ( as the restaurant kitchen was about to close ) , the reason we were late was because our transfer was late , so i think that Mr Alex should have that in consideration when we arrived at the reception .Luckily the manager at the restaurant was BRILLIANT!

About the spa , too much traffic, the Rasul treatment was great but when i was about the get out of the Rasul there was a male cleaning man that passed by (i was naked) . The MASSAGE WAS BRILLIANT , the place that we had the massage outside casitas amazing , the manicure TERRIBLE.

Overall , i really liked it , but i felt that i had to tell you a few things that were not right :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little out on a limb but we found this an advantage not a disadvantage ....it has wonderful views, 5 minutes from the hustle & bustle of Camps Bay & 15 minutes from the centre of Cape Town via the free shuttle bus. The compact hotel has every facility & the staff go out of their way to make sure you enjoy every minute of your stay...our room was bright, spacious & well appointed. The main restaurant was lovely but the quality of the food at dinner & lunch was not as 5 star as it should have been...there is room for some improvement here. If we go back to Cape Town we would only stay here..a luxurious & memorable experience !

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the start of our trip to SA. Arrived straight from the airport and our overnight flight and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite which was extremely comfortable and was big enough for the four of us to the extent that the children were given a bed each instead of them both going on the sleeper couch. Plus they got the room ready for us early which was much appreciated after a long flight.
Whilst the decor is a bit too fussy for my taste all the common areas are comfortable. We ate in Azure ,again it was a little ' fussy' ( husband nearly not allowed in for inappropriate footwear) but the food was incredible ( try the springbok) . The pools are a little small but are adequate for what you need. The Leopard bar was a great place for cocktails as the sun went down. I had a treatment at the spa and it was really good ( again allowing for the slightly strange decor).
What however makes this place stand out is the service. Our children were treated like royalty and as all parents know if they are happy that is half the battle. They loved the cinema room and the popcorn and were not made to feel a nuisance anywhere.
The test of a hotel is whether or not you would come back and yes we would

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travellers.

I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do have passed on your kind words to them.

Our award winning Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, prides him in the exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a track record for the Azure Restaurant and establishing ourselves as a ‘contender’ on the South African food map.

The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa’s ‘child-friendly’ attitude is unique and unparalleled in South Africa making it a must for mums and dads who want to spoil each other and the whole family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After a wonderful week playing golf with friends in Knysna, we arrived, just a little tired, after a 7 hour drive at the 12 Apostles. We were immediately made welcome and throughout our stay found the staff to be highly professional and attentive without being too fussy.

The facilities are amazing! What a location ... can there be any better? Mountains on one side, or sea the other! What a choice. Having lunch in Azure restaurant, or sitting on the terrace of the Leopard's Bar watching the sunset ... they say the next port of call is South America!

Would we stay there again? Without doubt!

Room Tip: If I could, I would try and get an ocean view. Guests who want total peace and quiet may want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travellers.

I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do have passed on your kind words to them.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 4nights for our 35th anniversary and what a treat. From the moment you step into this hotel, you feel welcome and at home.
The staff are exceptionally kind and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. After the first day they even knew our names. We received a special "to die for'' chocolate cake for our celebration.The winesteward, Brian, gave a winetasting on the Tuesday evening and was so knowledgeable about Cape wines. we really larnt a lot from him!
All the public areas are exquisite with so much attention to detail and relaxation.
The Azure Restaurant and balcony has beautiful views over the ocean, with Lion's Head and the Twelve Apostels as backdrop-stunning. The food was excellent!! We dined there twice-try the fish or pork belly! Breakfast is served here as well and there was no limit to what was on offer, even oysters and champaigne!!
The Leopard Bar was our favourite. It has a relaxing atmosphere where you can curl up on a sofa, read, chat, have drinks and be spoilt with snacks, nibbles, even kids are welcome. It really has a homely feel.
The pool and terrace adjacent to the restaurant also overlooks the Atlantic and is heated. The Rockpool was my favourite, built next to the Cafe. It was warm even though it wasn't heated and is almost like a jacuzzi in the mountains!
Our room and bathroom was beautiful and clean, with all the finer touches of the Red Carnation group. However, we would have prefered a bigger room (ours was 33sqm) and we could not use our patio , because it was always wet due to a sprayer system from the garden.
All-in all it was a fantasic experience and a huge spoil.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a seafacing room!! Tha classic garden rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your 35th wedding anniversary! We trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

Our award winning Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, prides him in the exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a track record for the Azure Restaurant and establishing ourselves as a ‘contender’ on the South African food map.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The Twelve Apostles Hotel
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.