We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% OFF!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband I stayed in this amazing hotel for three nights and during this time we also had our wedding within this incredible venue!

Well, where do I start...the hotel is without a shadow of a doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot of nice places)! The rooms are uniquely decorated with attention to detail and our room (along with a few others our guests were staying in) had amazing views of either the ocean or the Twelve Apostles backdrop - beautiful!

The spa is also worthwhile a visit and the treatments so relaxing and reasonably priced!

The views here really are unbeatable which leads me on to the hotel as our wedding venue...we booked the venue from the UK based on some photos and recommendations....and I can honestly say that there was no disappointment when we arrived. The hotel as a wedding venue is truly beautiful, with the Fynbos Gardens providing panoramic views of both the Atlantic Ocean and The Twelve Apostles Mountain range. I couldnt imagine a more magical venue and that really is just the start. The Atlantic Marquee provides a stunning setting for a sunset reception and we couldnt be happier with the way in which it looked on the day, everything we could ever have dreamed of and more!! In particular we need to say a special thank you to Stehanie Hall, our AMAZING wedding co-ordinator who we really couldnt have done it all without. No request is too large or difficult for Stephanie and she has been brilliant. She is a credit to the Red Carnation Group and she did everything she could to meet our needs on the day. The staff in general were attentive throughout the day and even our guests were quick to tell us that the staff couldnt have done more to help them out or assist them. They were extremely well organised and they made a perfect team in a perfect location.!!!!

Aside from the wedding, particular thanks goes to Dale (the concierge) for being generally amazing and on-hand at anytime - nothing was too much hassle for him!

If you are considering staying here, then don't hesitate, it is worth every penny!

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend the sea view suites, although all the rooms we saw were exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffyB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! We trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

I was extremely happy to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations and that Stephanie Hall, our personal wedding coordinator, and Dale Scholtz, our assistant concierge, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. All of the team here always tries their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and I have passed on your kind words to them.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back on many future anniversaries.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our family has just returned from a three night stay at this fabulous hotel. This is truly first class accommodation and the staff are sooo... friendly, they cannot do enough for you. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a magnificent sea-facing suite which surpassed all our expectations. The Azure restaurant served superb food to us both at breakfast and evening dinner. Our son and new daughter-in-law were getting married in the hotel's Fynbos Gardens and I can honestly say that everything went incredibly smoothly. Particular credit should go to Stephanie Hall, the hotel's wedding co-ordinator - nothing was too much trouble and she was always around when we needed her. The Wedding Day was absolutely fantastic - it was a fairy tale wedding and everything the couple had wished for and more. The Atlantic Marquee was amazing - wow, wow, what a setting overlooking the Atlantic ocean, with a stunning sunset. Thank you to all at The Twelve Apostles Hotel for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent experience at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I am very pleased that you recognized our high level of service. We have a very passionate and dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is most rewarding to read that you did.

I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Stephanie Hall, our personal wedding coordinator, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. Stephanie epitomizes the service values and ethics we strive to uphold and I will make sure that this is shared with him at our next employee appreciation party.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us and for allowing us to be part of your very special memories. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Situated only five kilometres from Camps Bay (5 mins) and only 15 mins from the V&A Waterfront, this is an excellent hotel for a relaxing break.

The rooms are modern and spacious and the beds are very comfortable with a choice of pillows. The rooms are serviced twice a day with the beds being turned down of an evening and a treat and snippet of information along with a bottle of water and ice being left. The staff are very professional, accommodating to your every need.

There is a complimentary shuttle service to and from Camps Bay and the V&A.

Although this is an expensive hotel it is a five star hotel and you really do get what you pay for. The attention is in the detail and we would definitely stay here again.

Thank you to all at the 12A for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Reading such a great report on our service and facilities is a real pleasure. I am happy that you enjoyed and appreciated all the small touches that we believe makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa truly special. Our team strive to deliver the highest levels of personal service and I am delighted that we took such special care of you.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the 12A during late January and early February 2013. I have stayed at many high quality hotels across the world and I have to say that this beats the lot. The views are incredible, the food superb and the service was exemplary. We found that nothing was too much trouble for the staff and little touches which showed attention to detail were commonplace. We also found the staff to be extremely friendly and highly professional. The hotel was not cheap but you get what you pay for and I have no hesitation in saying that we will be going back.

Thank you for a fantastic holiday, John and lindy

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear John and Lindy,

Thank you for your lovely review following you stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that it was the best hotel experience that you have ever had. What an accolade?

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had the pleasure o staying at the Twelve Apostles in January. The weather was excellent, although a bit on the windy side on the Atlantic Seaboard! Gorgeous oceanfront suite. Housekeeping was great, dining options perfect and concierge services very accommodating.
If you are a city person and want things to do, the hotel may feel a bit isolated. That said, you are 5 minutes from Camp's Bay and 15 minutes from the City Bowl.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadley_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

At our beautiful hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. The hourly, complimentary shuttle service between the Hotel, Camps Bay and the V&A Waterfront allows guests easy access to both Camps Bay and Waterfront Restaurants.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first visit to The 12 Apostles and it was an overall very good hotel. The views are fantastic. A few km's out of the hustle and bustle of Camps Bay, which suited us really well. The service was very good upon arrival - spa treatments and complimentary helicopter were said to be confirmed and booked when checking in - although we then realised that this was not the case within the next two days - although we were accommodated accordingly (only let down). The hotel is clean and the room was lovely, staff friendly and willing to assist with anything. Food at Azure restaurant was amazing!

Room Tip: choose room away from 'wedding venue hall' as music travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post review following your recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking.

I am sorry to read about the lack of service you experienced with regards to the reconfirmation of your Spa treatments and heli-flip by the Reception staff. I hope you will accept my reassurances that the receptionists have all been given a reminder about the standards we expect.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was our second visit to 12A and our experience was just as good as the first time. Staff were welcoming and attentive in every area of the hotel. The facilities are first class. Rooms are bright and decorated to a high standard. Love the bed turn down and the little biscuit snack with a fun snippet of information about Soth Africa! A bottle of water left beside the bed is such a simple thing but shows the attention to detail. The Leopard Bar is a great place for pre (& post) dinner drinks with really good food available. The Azure Restaurant is really THE place to eat...if you can get booked in. Do book early as it is so popular. Breakfasts are excellent, so much choice and of great quality. Really helpful staff by the pool. The view across the ocean is to die for. Must spend longer at 12A next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good although some have a shower over the bath instead of a separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your second stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Our award winning Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, prides him in the exceptional quality of local produce and there is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic Ocean.

We pride ourselves on the little touches we provide to our guests and were delighted that we met your expectations with the turn down snacks and bottled water at your bedside.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#20 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 105 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing