We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, loved it, loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it, loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Situated only five kilometres from Camps Bay (5 mins) and only 15 mins from the V&A Waterfront, this is an excellent hotel for a relaxing break.

The rooms are modern and spacious and the beds are very comfortable with a choice of pillows. The rooms are serviced twice a day with the beds being turned down of an evening and a treat and snippet of information along with a bottle of water and ice being left. The staff are very professional, accommodating to your every need.

There is a complimentary shuttle service to and from Camps Bay and the V&A.

Although this is an expensive hotel it is a five star hotel and you really do get what you pay for. The attention is in the detail and we would definitely stay here again.

Thank you to all at the 12A for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Reading such a great report on our service and facilities is a real pleasure. I am happy that you enjoyed and appreciated all the small touches that we believe makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa truly special. Our team strive to deliver the highest levels of personal service and I am delighted that we took such special care of you.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    106
    38
    19
    21
See reviews for
140
596
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the 12A during late January and early February 2013. I have stayed at many high quality hotels across the world and I have to say that this beats the lot. The views are incredible, the food superb and the service was exemplary. We found that nothing was too much trouble for the staff and little touches which showed attention to detail were commonplace. We also found the staff to be extremely friendly and highly professional. The hotel was not cheap but you get what you pay for and I have no hesitation in saying that we will be going back.

Thank you for a fantastic holiday, John and lindy

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear John and Lindy,

Thank you for your lovely review following you stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that it was the best hotel experience that you have ever had. What an accolade?

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had the pleasure o staying at the Twelve Apostles in January. The weather was excellent, although a bit on the windy side on the Atlantic Seaboard! Gorgeous oceanfront suite. Housekeeping was great, dining options perfect and concierge services very accommodating.
If you are a city person and want things to do, the hotel may feel a bit isolated. That said, you are 5 minutes from Camp's Bay and 15 minutes from the City Bowl.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

At our beautiful hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. The hourly, complimentary shuttle service between the Hotel, Camps Bay and the V&A Waterfront allows guests easy access to both Camps Bay and Waterfront Restaurants.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first visit to The 12 Apostles and it was an overall very good hotel. The views are fantastic. A few km's out of the hustle and bustle of Camps Bay, which suited us really well. The service was very good upon arrival - spa treatments and complimentary helicopter were said to be confirmed and booked when checking in - although we then realised that this was not the case within the next two days - although we were accommodated accordingly (only let down). The hotel is clean and the room was lovely, staff friendly and willing to assist with anything. Food at Azure restaurant was amazing!

Room Tip: choose room away from 'wedding venue hall' as music travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post review following your recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking.

I am sorry to read about the lack of service you experienced with regards to the reconfirmation of your Spa treatments and heli-flip by the Reception staff. I hope you will accept my reassurances that the receptionists have all been given a reminder about the standards we expect.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was our second visit to 12A and our experience was just as good as the first time. Staff were welcoming and attentive in every area of the hotel. The facilities are first class. Rooms are bright and decorated to a high standard. Love the bed turn down and the little biscuit snack with a fun snippet of information about Soth Africa! A bottle of water left beside the bed is such a simple thing but shows the attention to detail. The Leopard Bar is a great place for pre (& post) dinner drinks with really good food available. The Azure Restaurant is really THE place to eat...if you can get booked in. Do book early as it is so popular. Breakfasts are excellent, so much choice and of great quality. Really helpful staff by the pool. The view across the ocean is to die for. Must spend longer at 12A next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good although some have a shower over the bath instead of a separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your second stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Our award winning Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, prides him in the exceptional quality of local produce and there is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic Ocean.

We pride ourselves on the little touches we provide to our guests and were delighted that we met your expectations with the turn down snacks and bottled water at your bedside.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The desk and restaurant service at this property was top notch. The beds were so comfortable and the food was excellent...Champage and oysters for breakfast:) We liked the fact that we were not right in Camps bay...it was quieter and more relaxing. The hotel is small but even at a busy time, like during our stay, it didn't seem too crowded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and I have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was the first stop upon arrival in South Africa! The choice was either the Commodore in Cape Town, or The 12 Apostles out on the coast! This was a GREAT choice! The staff was wonderful...we arrived late, having a connection delay in Joberg, but everyone was was warm and welcoming when a van of 12 tired, jet lagged people arrived from New York at midnight! I shared a room with my mother (412) which was very comfortable? Two twin beds, comfortable chairs, a balcony with beautiful view....fresh fruit and water daily...along with a daily spa "treat" (a small lotion, mask, or scrub) waiting bedside! The pool and grounds are lovely...didn't use the pool, a bit too cold, but given a few more degrees it might have been irresistible. Dinner at Azure was excellent...and the same dining room is e joyed for the buffet breakfast (included). Beautifully presented and very nice choices! We found the staff friendly and welcoming, and have suggested to several friends planning trips to stay! We were there on September 2008 and will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with southern views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely review following you recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, South African Hotels, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.