We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Dining, Superlative Ambience, Ocean View - 6 Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com
and 12 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dining, Superlative Ambience, Ocean View - 6 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The 12 Apostles, distinct mountain bluffs about 2KM behind the hotel, are magnificent, and set the backdrop for this elegant hotel. Small but lovely rooms, complete intimacy and subtle professional service. Highly recommended for dining, absolutely outstanding. Dinner for two, seafood "platter", enough delicious victuals to feed 5 angry UFC fighters and some of South Africa's finest Merlot, all the whopping $210 USD. Great value, lively atmosphere, unbeatable ocean views.

Recommend a walk through the sparse brush behind the hotel up to the mountain bluffs themselves (30-45 min).

Justin Pold
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Pold,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. Our Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a track record for the Azure Restaurant and establishing ourselves as a ‘contender’ on the South African food map.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to welcoming you back home in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    65
    23
    15
    15
See reviews for
92
403
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Twelve Apostels Hotel as part of our 20th anniversary. Everything was superlative from the very efficient internet booking (thank you Petra Smit) where every aspect of our weekend visit was anticipated and organized in advance. The hotel inquired upfront about your needs and delivered accurately on them. The hotel was everything I wished for and more. It is not big but feel cozy and very elegant(in a colonial way) and the service is among the best I have ever encountered in a hotel (service with a friendly smile everywhere!). The hotel is close to all the important spots of Cape Town but still nestle in a quiet spot between Camps Bay and Llandudno (although the relative busy coastal road runs right in front of the Hotel, it never bothered us). The Azure restaurant serve classy food and the Spa is small but with a beautiful atmosphere and good service. The Hotel is not perfect but in the real world it is worth the charged tariffs and we will recommend it to anyone especially for romantic weekends. They will definitely see us again! Steyn and Louise (Pretoria)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Steyn and Louise,

Congratulations once again on your 20th wedding anniversary! We trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

I was delighted to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations. We have a very dedicated team of people who works incredibly hard and who takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas and enjoyed our time. The location is great as I wouldn't have wanted to stay in Camps Bay....way too busy. I did feel a little claustrophobic in the hotel as it is much smaller than I envisaged from the reception area,restaurants,rooms and swimming pools, fine during quiet times but not great during peak periods. The room decor was also quite dated, a bit Mediterranean 1980's! The food in the Azure restaurant was wonderful!
The reason our stay was a good one was due to the fantastic staff who were brilliant! Some elements that the hotel lacked were made up by the great people who are a credit to Carnation Hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers.

It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here that makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa a very special place to work and for our guests to stay at. I have passed on your very kind words to them and I hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The view is amazing, but the hotel is small, everything is small. The rooms, the swimming pools,.. The only thing which is big is the parking. We kept the room 30 minutes after the 11 am check out time, and as we were going back to our room to pack, the concierge was exiting our room, officially looking for us.. On the breakfast terrasse, there were not enough chairs. Morning house keeping was more than noisy. We had a terrible experience, which ended up nicely. We asked the concierge to rent a car for us in Cape Town. The shuttle driver dropped us at Hertz (anticipated rental agent), unfortunately it was not. And we did not know where to go. We finally went to the local rental agency, which was not easy to find without any help from the hotel.
Fortunately, a few weeks later we got compensated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

Naturally I was very disappointed to learn of your comments, particularly as we receive so much positive feedback about the hotel and we are sorry that you did not experience our usual high standards of service and prompt attention at all times.

Please rest assured that we have taken your comments on board and will be reviewing service in the areas that you have highlighted to ensure that your experience was a most unfortunate one off and that other guests do not encounter similar situations in future.

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention, we truly value your feedback

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Twelve Apostles was the perfect place to start our Christmas holiday in South Africa.
Great location, just outside Camps Bay, with easy access to all of Cape Town's attractions.
It is a small boutique hotel but with charm and character and fantastic views of the ocean.
There are 2 small pools, which the children loved, and, if we hadn't had limited time to see CT sight, we would have loved to spend more time relaxing by either.
There are a number of different dining options to satisfy most needs - we had afternoon tea and snacks in the bar area - and breakfasts were great, even if service was a little haphazard!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the ocean - the view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

I am sorry that you experienced the service you received at breakfast as haphazard and I hope you will accept my reassurances that the staff responsible for providing this service have been given a reminder about the standards we expect.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the 12 Apostles in December for our belated honeymoon and had the most amazing time. Everything about the stay was beyond all our expectations. The hotel is nestled along the road that winds its ways from capetown and has the ocean on one side and table mountain on the other. The room was an upgrade- amazing. Looking out onto the Ocean and split across a number of different levels. As we were there for a week this worked really well. The food and drink was sensational. The staff made the place. It was a real pleasure to see people so happy with their jobs and so keen to make your stay amazing. The hotel organised for us to go for amazing day trips to Cape Point and the wine region. We also took advantage of our time and visited excellent local restaurants - again all organised by the hotel. This place is expensive but it is real value for those really special moments in your life. Go ahead and book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

I am really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Whilst the children were spending this year with 'the inlaws' we were free to go to much loved South Africa. Research and a good agent guided us towards the Twelve Apostles which, from the reviews seemed too good to be true. Not at all, the perfect setting, perfect service, appetising food and great ambience.......just the place to spend Christmas day and not feel at all homesick for the grandchildren. So much thought has gone in to the good running of this establishment.......right down to their very own cinema. A shuttle bus will take you into Cape Town itself and it also took us to our car rental place. All service with a smile.....no detail too small and no obsequiesceness!

Room Tip: th deluxe rooms leave nothing to chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

I am delighted that you appreciated our service, we do take great pride in ensuring that are guests are well looked after and our motto is "No request too large, No detail too small". I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.


Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The Twelve Apostles Hotel
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.