We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Cape Town Big 5
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best ever !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Twelve Apostels Hotel & Spa is something to behold. This is the best service my wife and I ever received at a hotel. Location is perfect with a stunning view of the Atlantic seaboard, Lion's Head, Table Mountain ( side view) and the Twelve Apostels Mountains. Food is excellent (especially Azure Restaurant with top chef Henrico Grobbelaar). Everyone goes out of their way to meet your every need. Service is precise and speedy. The Luxury Room that my wife and I shared was romantic and clean with mirrors abound!. Their attention to detail is amazing especially with their internet/e-mail pre-check-in need and demand questionnaire(which they meet to the letter). The Spa is neat and cozy and worth a try. Although on the expensive side the Hotel and experience is worth every cent/ penny. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. You will not be disappointed. Steyn and Louise Van Sittert, Pretoria, ZAR

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Dr. and Mrs. Van Sittert

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. Our award winning Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, prides him in the exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a track record for the Azure Restaurant and establishing ourselves as a ‘contender’ on the South African food map.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    90
    32
    18
    16
See reviews for
120
522
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Outstanding service that matches your own style - we love friendly, personal service (which we got) - but we also observed the staff giving outstanding more formal service too. The location is great, away from the hub-bub of the city, but still only 15 minutes away from most places you would like to see in the area. The restaurant is top-draw, with excellent food and wine, and attentive waiting staff. The hotel layout takes a little getting used to (it is very compact), but this means that if you forget something it is only a quick walk to your room. Our only minor gripe would be that the rooms could be slightly larger - but the bed was amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was great too...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do have passed on your kind words to them.

Our award winning Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, prides him in the exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a track record for the Azure Restaurant and establishing ourselves as a ‘contender’ on the South African food map.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

For us this was a trip of a life time, big celebrations, after leaving the best game lodge ever in Sabi sabi, Leopard Hills we did not know what to expect. From the moment you reach this magical property a sincere warm friendly greeting was given by everyone. If ever there was 10 stars to be awarded this hotel has it. Not only was every expectation met and exceeded but it has the wow factor. The location is stunning but it is the attention to detail and the staff who make it so special, front of house and behind the scenes. The breakfast is a gourmets dream, champagne oysters, everything you can imagine from a top class hotel, there is a shuttle bus to Camps bay and theV & A waterfront so you dont feel isolated. I seriously believe that this hotel could set up a training school to coach all other 5 star hotels how to run an amazing place. I am sure they have a smile school. A special mention must go to Dale Scholtz whose energy tires me out. Nothing is too much trouble, arranges flights, golf days trips always there to help. It was also unfortunate i was taken ill one evening with a reaction to tablets, which meant a visit to the Chris Barnard Hospital, a car was ready within 5 mins, a doctor was arranged to meet us at the hopital and the care was 2nd to none. Need i say more. you are in safe, professional and very proud hands at this hotel. Thanks so much for making our holiday very very special. Tricia and Phil Lewis

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room overlooking the mountain and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Lewis,

The most amazing Hotel ever – what an accolade!

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

I am delighted that you appreciated our service, we do take great pride in ensuring that are guests are well looked after and our motto is "No request too large, No detail too small". I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Dale Scholtz, our Assistant Concierge, had a positive impact on your stay with us. Dale epitomizes the service values and ethics we strive to uphold and I will make sure that this is shared with him at our next employee appreciation party.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we took the recommendation of several friends to come to The Twelve Apostles' Leopard Bar for sunset drinks. The view and romance factor was off the charts. We were lucky to get a table out on the terrace, and my vanilla/passionfruit cosmopolitan was voted the best drink in our group. The staff were all very friendly, and we received spectacular service even though we were walk-ins and were not hotel guests. Cheers!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Yes, it is expensive but the cost will fade long before the memory of quite the most perfect hotel for service and attention to detail. Trivial but they even have a choice of power sockets so you do not need an adaptor. Strike 'trivial' it just goes to show that this management go the extra mile to delight their guests. If you can...go there for a very special experience not easily matched by far grander hotels that just rely on their name and location. By the way, its a great location too! The Twelve Apostles is truly one of the great hotels of the World!

Room Tip: Watch for ground floor mountain view rooms. The view is restricted due to steep slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm unable to rate the accommodation, only having had cocktails on the patio of the Leopard Lounge bar a few times, but worth a visit. Unparalleled views, great snacks (NB olives), and wide cocktail selection. Though not all the cocktails are brilliantly prepared, and service can be slow, everyone is cordial and the overall vibe is really good for a fairly formal five-star environment. Food is generally good, and even reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Definitely get out to the balcony of the bar. And take a drive up Chapman's Peak - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

I am sorry that the service you received in the Leopard Bar was slow and I hope you will accept my reassurances that our bar staff responsible for providing this service have been given a reminder about the standards we expect.

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Attention to detail, personalized service from knowledgeable, warm and friendly staff,
Breathtaking views, tantalizing meals. Well, I could go on and on and this is because my experience together with that of my friends while at The Twelve Apostles was in a word ' FANTASTIC'
Right from the airport pick up service, one is treated with the care and attention that leaves one feeling like royalty while at the same time they do manage to ensure they do not invade one's personal space. The long drive to the hotel is made even more memorable by the picturesque views one has driving through Camps Bay. The view of the sunset from the hotel every evening is simply breathtaking. Breakfast at the Azure, sipping on some bubbly, taking in the view while feeling the ocean breeze is an amazing and therapeutic experience.
It was a pleasant surprise to receive a well filled up Christmas stocking on Christmas Eve, the simple pleasures do make a world of difference. I loved the room facilities too, clean and well maintained.
Perhaps the only downer for me was that I did not get a chance for the spa treatment, despite the fact that the spa did offer a complementary treatment. This of course was largely my doing but then again, it gives me every reason to plan a comeback, if only just for the spa treatment.
I would have no reservation in recommending the Twelve Apostles Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room proved to be cosy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely review following you recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

We have a very dedicated team of people who works incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

We do like to spoil our guests with little treats on special occasions and I am delighted that we have created such a memorable and lasting impression with the Christmas stocking left in your room on Christmas Eve.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.