We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Camps Bay Retreat to your Saves list
Camps Bay Retreat
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed 7 nights as part of a surprise 50th birthday trip to South Africa for my wife. We were lucky to spend our stay in room 1 in the Manor House. It is a simply stunning room & due to the enormous size you have views from 3 sides of the property. It is decorated & furnished to the highest standard whilst keeping an old world charm. This can be said for the entire property with a fantastic lobby & lounge/library that you can quite easily spend your evenings in front of an open fire whilst enjoying a glass or 2 of wine from their fantastic wine cellar. I'm certain it would make a fantastic choice for a summer stay but it really can't be beaten for a winter break. The house had a really cozy feel whilst the weather was doing it's worst outside.
The entire team are a credit to Camps Bay Retreat from the housekeeping & restaurant staff up to the management team. It would be unfair to single out anybody in particular because the whole team do a great job making your stay memorable.
After a long day sightseeing it was really nice to be greeted back "home" where they were genuinely interested in what we'd been up to along with ideas for other things to do & assist with any bookings we needed to make. Once back in the room our bed had been turned down (hot water bottles in place) & the open fire ready to be lit.
Breakfasts were great with plenty of choice from either just a coffee & Danish to a full cooked breakfast. We had 2 evening meals in the restaurant & both times the food could not have been better. This included a meal there for my wife's 50th Birthday where she was treated to a special birthday sweet & a bottle of bubbly waiting in our room afterwards. These were lovely touches & not expected which really shows how much they value their guests.
The dogs are really nice to have around & we really missed them when the were away for a couple of days.
The location is perfect - completely private but the shops & restaurants of Camps Bay are just a short stroll away.
I can't recommend Camps Bay Retreat enough. If you're visiting Camps Bay it must be the place to stay & we hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Room 1 is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Rob L

Thank you so much for the amazing review, we had a wonderful time with you and we do hope that you wil definitly came and visit in the near future. Camps Bay Retreat will be your home away from home.

Kind Regards

Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    34
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
180
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the Camps Bay Retreat , it is simply the most tranquil , relaxed and enjoyable hotel we have ever stayed in. The Hotel has a fanatic location and is steeped in South African history which is all around you and it feels like stepping back in time. The staff are amazing , so helpful , kind and attentive. The rooms are luxurious and the partnership with The Bay Hotel means you can use the facilities like the gym etc. We loved the fact that the dogs are a part of the family and come and go as they please.

The food was quite outstanding - we ate in twice and on both occasions could not have asked for a better meal. Breakfasts really set you up for the day!

You could not beat curling up by a roaring log fire after a long day out with a glass of red wine to combat the cold front that had blown in and was beating down outside. Despite staying in a hotel it felt like 'home' thanks to the friendly atmosphere, relaxed approach. Very highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Richard G, thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. We really appreciate all of the compliments and are so glad that you found this to be like a "home" to you. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful property sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Hotel staff have impeccable manner it's my second day here and I am
in live. The rooms are well wow! Great view from room two. The food tastes heavenly the retreat kitchen is filled with magicians! Everything is top notch. I know a lot about hotels. This one has definitely left it's mark..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear F1rsLady

We just came across your review of our establishment and we want to thank you for the excellent rating and the kind words. We strive to make every stay as memorable as the next. We trust that we will host you once a gain in the near future.

Kind Regards

Marco Fourie
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

On a recent trip to Cape Town decided to change accommodation while in Camps Bay and chose Camps Bay Retreat. This was the correct choice. We stayed in the manor house room 4 - wonderful room with view over the tennis court and out to the bay. This retreat is like living in a museum really enjoyed looking at all the memorabilia, the open fires, library, sitting room. Breakfast was great value, and no request was too small. All staff were extremely friendly. Also had meals in the dining room of an evening - great food (try the beef). Sat out on the lawn area and enjoyed the sun of an afternoon while looking out to the bay - even had our laundry presented in a giant gift box. Able to get a 'soy milk' cappuccino which can be an bit of an effort in Cape Town.
If you get the chance to stay at Camps Bay Retreat do so - it will be a wonderfu treat.

Room Tip: Maintenance was being carried out to the property while we stayed here - but was not a problem, staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Hyacinthandfriends,

Thank you for the lovely review on trip advisor, we thoroughly enjoyed to have you with us. Hopefully we will see you in the near future to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Kind Regards
Marco Fourie
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Although I have rated very low for the review, this was due to a bad experience having money stolen from our safety deposit box and not the overall experience of the accommodation. I will elaborate further.

Upon arrival staff very personable and friendly and we were shown around the Manor House part of the hotel which was built in 1929 and had all original features and furniture, really beautiful house.

The views from the restaurant (outside) where we had breakfast were lovely and the breakfasts were very good.

We stayed in Deck House 9 which was on the top floor of the deck houses across the suspension bridge which was quirky and our house was the best for the view - such amazing sunsets right outside our window and view from the decked area. The room was quite big as well, next door was a lot smaller and not quite as easy to see the view. The villas (more for families) were lovely (we were invited into one) with private pools but they would not have had the view we had and they didn't have the lovely sunny decked area either.

Ben one of the dogs was funny! He wasn't too interested in the adults normally if kids were about as they played with him but one day he followed us to our room (up the stairs) and waited to go into our room at the door but having read what he is like, we kept it closed! He then decided to steal one of our lounger towels and bunched it up in his mouth so he could carry it down the stairs, over the bridge and no idea where it ended up but was funny to watch, cheeky thing!

Very relaxing hotel, good location if you don't mind about 10mins walk to the main strip of restaurants in Camps Bay although at night would suggest getting the hotel car or taxi because its a bit lonely. We decided to hire a car which we did through the big sister hotel, Thrify Cars, they were the cheapest but they did charge our credit card with an extra £12 when we had returned home, which we knew nothing about and our bank has refunded! They also did not turn up at the hotel when they said they would to collect the car so we were not happy leaving the country without them signing to agree there was nothing damaged on the car.

Plenty of choice of restaurants in Camps Bay, its very relaxed so you can go out casually dressed or dress up if you wanted. South Africa is so cheap, the most we spent on a meal was £23 which was at the Indian restaurant but we had lots of food! We went to Table view bay one night and had fillet steak for £7.50! Large glass of wine is under £2 too!

The room was well equipped and nice feature having the bath in the room (although we didn't use it) but it also meant there was a drains smell which came up through the bath - we reported this to the reception but nothing happened. We also had a toilet which was constantly filling up if you didnt press the flush several times (you didn't always remember so in the night, it could be annoying), we reported this twice but again nothing happened.

For a 5* I think the cleaning could have been better, along the headboard was very dusty and the blinds, and the floors were not brushed/mopped in the 8 days we were there. Plus if you didn't eat your "treat" left on the pillow in the evening, the next day it was gone!

One morning we were up early and went to Table Mountain before the crowds arrived there (amazing view of the mountain above the deck house). Unfortunately, we didn't lock our safe although the door was closed (so it looked locked) and it was in the closed wardrobe. We were gone for 3hrs and realised that we had left it open. We checked our stuff was still there (which we thought it was) and that was it. There was laptop, kindle, ipods, purse, wallet and all of our travel documents in the safe.

3 days later when we were packing to leave, we realised that £420 was missing from the purse. We knew the money was there a few days before as we had taken some out to exchange. £120 was left so they did not take everything or any other items from the safe.

We went to reception and spoke to one of the manager's and were treated very well. We could not recall at that time which day we had left the safe unlocked but the staff came and checked the actions of the opening/closing of the safe and it was confirmed the day we went to Table Mountain. They called the police for us and they came to take our statement very quickly.

The hotel is gated with security and we were "tucked away" in the grounds so our initial thought was that it would have to have been a cleaner. The Police officer said that is likely and usually the case in their Country. If it was a true burgler, they would have taken everything of value and not left some cash and also, how would they have got in / out of the grounds, properties in SA is very secure as was our locked room.

A very bitter end to an amazing holiday but we left with a promise that the small number of staff who had access to our room would be interviewed and a polygraph would take place the following week. After 3wks of being home, I had to keep emailing the hotel Manager for updates and it seems they did not carry out the polygraphs and so just by interviewing the staff they did not identify the thief.

So, our recommendation is that if you do stay at the hotel, you are VERY careful not to leave ANY valuables out at all and keep your safe locked. We felt very violated in so much as the one time we made a mistake, they were straight there taking our money which meant they had been checking possibly every time we were out if they could take anything. This is not what you want from a 5* hotel, you need to feel your belongings (whatever it is) are safe.

In terms of location, we were about 15mins drive from the V&A Waterfront (very vibrant and busy but parking cheap and plenty) and with having a car, you can get out and see the amazing coast, visit Cape Point via Chandlers Peak and defo stop off at Scarborough beach, Simons' Town (for the Penguins) and for sure, Table Mountain!

Room Tip: Deck room 9, top floor with amazing view of sunset every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Ms. Scott,

Thank you so much for the your constructive critizism and the fact that you still had so many good things to say about our establishment regardless of what unfortunate situation that occured.

Kind Regards
Marco Fourie
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

While waiting for our room (we arrived early) we were made at home - offered soft drinks and chatted to by the lovely reception staff. Somehow we were upgraded and stayed in the main house in a room overlooking the gardens and the sea. With the windows open we could here the tinkle of cutlery on the restaurant terrace below us but this didn't bother me. They are in the process of changing over their electricity outlets so be aware and still take converters from UK or wherever. Breakfast is a delight and could be endless. Ate lunch once and that too excellent. The gardens are lush and as the whole place is way above the coast road, it is a tranquil spot. Very lovely walk to Camps Bay (be aware this is quite steep) through the gardens and a private locked gate (key on your room fob) onto the public path Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, well worth it. Check about access if you have problems with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Westcountrypro,

How exciting it was to read your review. The Team at Campsbay Retreat really strive to go the extra mile and make sure that our guests are as comfortable as possible and that the experience does not change what so ever.

We hope that we will be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Marco Fourie
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I was recommended to visit Camps Bay Retreat for dinner by my boss who visited in September. So I emailed ahead and booked a table for our first night in South Africa. Unfortunately our taxi driver didn't know where the plase was and dropped us on the main road next to the sign. After a bit of a treck, we eventually found our way in, feeling a little disgruntled with our driver. A warm welcome awaited and we had a drink overlooking the bay - too late for the sunset though but I can imagine it would have been spectacular. On going to the dining room, there didn't appear to be a table with our name on, but luckily they had room for us (not sure what happened to our booking). We picked our food and wine and wow! We started with pâté and samosas, followed by beef and kingklip, with apple cake and a chocolate, marshmallow and tonga bean slice for desert. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, the service we received from our waiter was superb so despite the false start we were blown away. It really did set the bar high for the rest of the holiday. And they happily arranged our taxi back who had more knowledge of the area :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Kingfan,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We really do like to hear that we have changed you whole experience around and that you were inlove with the cuisine.

We hope that we will in the near future satisfy you tastebuds once again.

Kind Regards
Marco Fourie
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Camps Bay Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat 5 Star Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.