We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute dream of house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camps Bay Retreat to your Saves list
Camps Bay Retreat
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“An absolute dream of house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lovely setting, beautiful house and exceptional staff, my girlfriend and I stayed for the romantic break offer which is also great value. The food was amazing and the grounds were a great place to watch the sunset whilst supping on an amazing cocktail (what was that called by the way?!?!). Overall a lovely place would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your romantic break with us.

While you were enjoying the beauty Camps Bay Retreat has to offer, you were sipping down on our Army Navy Cocktail!

We wish you all the best for the future.

Hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    37
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
193
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I had the most amazing nights stay at Camps Bay Retreat. The entire experience from arrival to check out was wonderful. The staff were so friendly and accommodating - the food was flawless - and the accommodation was top class. The spa was my favorite as we had the facility all to ourselves :) I would recommend the retreat to anyone, whether it be just for a dinner, cocktails, a treatment or a weekend away! I look forward to our next weekend away there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villas and found them to be very spacious and private!!! Great accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us.

It is great to hear that you were able to experience everything that Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

We can not wait to welcome you back soon.

Take care and all the best for the future.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was looking for a venue with a difference to celebrate my husband's milestone birthday with a few close friends and decided on the Camps Bay Retreat where we dined in the celebration private dining room. Every detail was immaculately managed and the food was absolutely out of this world!

This staff here pay attention to every detail - the service and food is of a standard that puts them in a class of their own. We have traveled extensively and eaten at many places, but this has got to be my new favourite!

Jenni, you and your team rock!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very greatful for your amazing review.

We are very lucky to have shared this time with you and your husband on his specail day.

I will let the team know they must keep up the good work.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

posts: 5

reviews: 3




Save this Post

26. Re: Where to stay in camps bay

Dec 05, 2012, 8:46 AM





We spent our final 4 days of a 3 week trip to South Africa at Camps Bay Retreat, a secluded resort on acreage a short drive from Cape Town and just a 5 min walk through the grounds to the beach and a 10 minute walk to the end of the town of Camps Bay. There is a restaurant on site which serves breakfast/lunch and a wonderful dinner.

Our accommodation was superb. I called it 'our treehouse' as it was reached by means of a suspension bridge. A modern, opulent suite with huge deck overlooking the ocean at the front and the cable car doing up to Table Mountain at the rear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Camps Bay Retreat.

We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

I am happy you were able to experience Camps bay Retreat and everything that it has to offer.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall it was an excellent stay. It is a most beautiful retreat. It is convenient to the synagogue and to the beaches.
2 suggestions:

First impressions are crucial. When we arrived the rooms were freezing. They could have been warmed before we arrived.
In the room where we initially met to have some refreshments, which could also be a reading room, the lighting was quite poor. It should be improved.


Thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

We are very happy to here that you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for the feed back, we have addressed the issues accordingly.

I wish you all the best for you future and hope to welcome you back soon.

Take Care.

KInd regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajaccio, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

4 days in this old fashion mansion (colonial style) and a lot of beautiful pictures. The main house is just incredible , coming from a Hitchcock movie with these huge wooden stairs and windows. The garden is also peaceful and beautiful and calls you to stay on a transat during your whole journey. Food is another very good point, maybe even better than the two firsts, which means a lot. We less appreciated the new aisle of the guest house which is very modern and too much different. However, the comfort in these new rooms across the bridge is more that good and there's nothing to complain about it except the thing that the "mansion spirit" does not exist in this aisle.
To resume: getting a journey in this place is magic, booking a room in the main mansion is the cherry on the cake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

This is a place that it spoilt by nature, as quoted by the Cape Argus in 1929 "It is nature aided by subtleties that pass as Nature's handiwork."

We are so glad you were able to appreciate the property and its beauty.

We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Managent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were welcomed by Jenni and Tammy on Saturday afternoon. Upgraded to one of the manor rooms, OMG, speechless! It was beyond all expectations! Sunset canapes and a cocktail on the greenest lawns with beautiful views set the mood for the evening. Dinner was at 8pm, 3 course and we decided to skip starters and go straight to the mains, lamb rack to die for! Desert we took to the room. When we returned to the room, turn down had been done. Strawberries, chocolate and rose petals on the bed, a path of rose petals to the bathroom with floating candles, nothing was spared! THANK YOU! A good night sleep on "marshmallow" pillows!!! Woke up to breakfast in the room, delicious and then off to the SPA. Thanks to Angelique and her assistant who went totally overboard with the most divine massage, including a hot stone, the use of their Sauna, steam room and jet bath - Mint Wellness - FANTASTIC! Overall we could not have asked for anything more, the atmosphere, the gardens, the food, the staff.....just everything! This venue comes highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We only stayed in one of the four manor rooms, but you can't go wrong....it is so beautiful ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Valued Camps Bay Retreat Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

As a team, we are all so greatful that you had an extraordinary time here with us.

We wish you all the best for the future.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Camps Bay Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat 5 Star Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.