We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camps Bay Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Camps Bay Retreat to your Saves list
Camps Bay Retreat
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Camps Bay Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Set in a Nature Reserve in the heart of Cape Town and opposite the famous Camps Bay beach it offers a real retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. It has four acres of wooded and landscaped gardens with a mountain pool, waterfall and streams. There is a choice of accommodation from the elegant old manor house to the contemporary villas. A unique experience of tranquility, together with good food, excellent service and a Spa to pamper one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

The beauty of Camps Bay Retreat is splendid and unique. The natural surroundings lend itself to relax one's mind, body and soul.

I am very happy to hear that you were able to indulge in all those aspects.

We hope to welcome you back soonest.

Take care.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    34
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
180
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived in Camps bay and after a long journey this place was just the perfect place to be, the grounds are gorgeous and the sun set is just always breath taking. The staff were so kind and helpful- including booking our day trips for us. We were the only people staying in the hotel it felt like but the service did not reflect that at all, we had dinner here one night and it was like our own private dining experience and the best steak we had the whole time we were in SA (we were there three weeks). The breakfast was amazing- the homemade muesli and fruit- OMG out of this world. Their homemade lemonade was like nothing we have ever tasted!
We did take up on the hotel driver most evenings and he was a perfect gentleman and the cars were just lovely! To my surprise we had hot water bottles in our bed every evening with water beside our bed and a homemade fudge, it was a truly amazing experience and the dogs were just so behaved and gorgeous! My only fault with this place was that the gym was at another hotel and although the transfer was free it just made you not want to go! You will not be disappointed here its so relaxed and quiet.

Room Tip: Front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to review Camps Bay Retreat.

We can only be proud that you were able to enjoy every aspect of Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

I have let all the Chefs Know they are doing a fantastic job and to keep up all the great work.

We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you soon again.

Take care and Thank you again

The Camps bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We managed to find this lovely place whilst in camps bay, it's away from all the noise yet close enough to walk and be involved.. The staff are absolutely fantastic.. Food was great and the destinationis easy to get to away from traffic... I would go back there and enjoy my stay again... The dogs area blessing...

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 12, a villa with a sea view... Perfect bathroom for romantic occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

We will send your regards to all the little doggy friends.

All the best for the future.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was impressed from the moment I arrived at this hideaway only 5 km from Cape Town. The 1920's mansion built by a german family is nestled at the edge of the Lion's Head forest. One of my favourite rooms in the world in any house is the library here, packed with art and books. The staff made me feel it was my private retreat, bringing me champagne, fabulous homemade tomato soup and lighting the fire in the fireplace for me. Truly one of my favourite places to stay in the world (and I've been to 67 countries!) I will be back.

Room Tip: there are rooms across the rope bridge called the "deck rooms" where you have your own pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We very grateful to hear that you had a good time here with us at Camps Bay Retreat.
As quoted by one of our guests the Retreat is “Camps Bay’s Best kept secret”

We wish you all the best for future, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you
The Camps Bay Retreat Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There can be no doubt that this place has beautiful grounds and that the deck houses are rather unique, but this place just missed the mark for the price point and sadly, it all amounted to the service. While some members of the staff really did try to help, when you pay this much for accommodations, you expect it to be much better. Perhaps this was a fluke, as past reviewers seemed to have had different experiences, but for us, we did not feel like we experienced the 5-star treatment we had anticipated for our honeymoon.

We first arrived at night (between 10 and 11 PM) and were greeted nicely and accompanied to our room. I thought this place was great, but when we couldn't access the internet because we needed a password, which hadn't provided, and were unable to get the DVD player to work, we called reception for help. No one answered. We tried again -- after all, we were specifically were told that someone would be at reception all night. So we thought it odd that no one was answering the phone. We tried again and again and no one answered. Sadly, we needed the internet to confirm certain hotel bookings, so my husband got dressed and went back across the bridge to reception. While the person at the front desk was really nice (still not sure why the phone wasn't answered though), he was unable to provide any help. He gave my husband more than a few passwords and ultimately called us back to tell us to call someone else for the internet password. Really?

In addition, upon arriving and showering, we discovered that our shower had a leak which caused our bathroom to become soaked; further, the DVD player didn't work (we wanted to play music provided to us in our room). To the credit of the staff, these issues were addressed immediately the next morning - they offered to transfer us to another room or to fix the leak/DVD player. As we liked our original room better (apart from the leak!), we opted to stick with the original room.

The next day, we had breakfast, which was actually quite good, especially those cappuccino muffins. But when I looked into the kitchen, I saw a dog in there! My husband and I actually love dogs (our parents have 3), but the kitchen is not an appropriate place for dogs to be in a resort and it should be easy to keep them out. Dogs on premises=cute; dogs in kitchen=gross.

After breakfast, we asked the reception for directions to Table Mountain. For some reason though, they were unable to provide any directions at all! While they tried to find Table Mountain on a map and did attempt to draw a route there, they could not actually tell us one turn to make. Instead, they just gave me a map and didn't even tell me which way to turn out the driveway. This was really surprising because Table Mountain is one of Cape Town's most popular attractions and is only 10 minutes away.

Finally, when I tried to put our leftovers in the fridge, I accidentally broke one beer bottle. Upon checkout, the receptionist asked us if we used anything from the bar. I told him that I had unintentionally broke a bottle of beer. The receptionist then CHARGED us for it. Given our previous issues with the room, we were surprised that the resort did not endeavor to make even such a minor gesture of goodwill as to not charge us for an accidentally broken beer bottle. When asked, the receptionist told us he would have to take it up with the manager, but we opted to let it go and avoid the headache.

All in all, while the grounds are beautiful, I will be recommending my friends go somewhere else for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your having taken the time to let us know how we are doing after your recent Honeymoon visit to the hotel.

Clearly we were not performing to your complete satisfaction and for this we offer our sincerest apologies. Your experience is not what aim to offer our guests and you will be happy to know that as a result of your feedback we have been able to successfully address all of the issues.

We do hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the Camps Bay Retreat in the future and assure you of our best intentions. Warm regards.

Kind regards

The Camps Bay retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked the Camps Bay Retreat after reading previous Trip-advisor Reviews, and can verify that they were all on target. This is a beautiful hotel. The setting is amazing, the views stunning, the room I was in tasteful and the dogs are a delight.

From arrival to departure, the service was friendly and professional. I only ate breakfast in the hotel, so cannot vouch for the other meals, but breakfast was delicious, with a good choice.

Definitely one for the repeat list of hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

We are very pleased to know that Camps Bay Retreat lived up to your expectations.

The beauty and setting speaks wonders, the furry friends make it a home.

We hope to see you soon again.

All the best.

Kind regards

The Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved Camps Bay Retreat. Everything about it. The location, the room, the food, the attentive staff (thanks Sean and Jenny), the deck house, the tennis court, the dogs. All great.

Its just so subtle the 5 star influence. We were there on our honeymoon and we wouldn't be used to 5 star hotels but one morning we were playing tennis (badly) and one of the staff came out with cold lemonade for us, it was just so nice. We really enjoyed their braai night also. Great BBQ! And the setting as the sun went down was just lovely.

Camps Bay is a great spot. Beware the winds though, it whips the sand on the beach when its windy! You are surrounded by stunning views, Table Mountain on one side, the Ocean on the other.

Couldn't have hoped for a better end to our honeymoon. Thanks to all...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking out the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

We are excited to know you had a great time here with us, especially on our Traditional South African Braai evening.

The sanctuary of Camps Bay Retreat really lends itself to romantic setting and environment.

We are so happy that we were able to share in your time together on your honeymoon.

We wish you all the happiness in world together, and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Camps Bay Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat 5 Star Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.