We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outdoor Jacuzzi deck
Outdoor Jacuzzi deck
Outdoor Jacuzzi deck
Sea view
Ensuite Bathroom
Lions Head & pool view
Sunset from pool lawn
Camps Bay
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clanmeerb...
1 review
“"360 degrees of pure bliss"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in the villa for five days and enjoyed every second of it. The kids had a great time playing in the entertainment room, watching the fowls and mungoose in the backyard at the foot of the mountain or splashing in the pool under the benevolent eye of Giant Lion's Head. We found the spot gorgeous, the views astonishing and the house well equipped. It's oh so easy to feel at home there even if we had to rub our eyes and pinch our arms a couple of times... Nope, not dreaming! ;-)
Thanks Duncan and Gillian for giving families and travelers the opportunity to live such splendour!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
4 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at Aview. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & that the children had such a fantastic time. Aview has to be rated along with the best in terms of global property position. We encourage guests to have the best possible holiday experience, while staying at Aview.
We look forward to having you or your friends stay at Aview,in the furure.
All best wishes, Duncan & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
howards20...
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, good location and adequate accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Aview, a group of 2 families, in total 7 people. The view is probably one of the finest in Cape Town with Camps Bay beach in the foreground (NB its not in walking distance so you have to have a car!!) and a view of Table Mountain from the backyard.

The venue is adequate and although the furniture is old, it is perfectly suitable. The kitchen is modern and the house has all the required amenities, with the pool being spectacular. A few things could be improved such as properly working remote controls, more modern TV sets (they are dated and their remotes did not work properly) and aircons in more areas of the house. But none of these detracted from our great time we had. It certainly enhanced our holiday,

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Minor irritants like TV remotes not working
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2013
Many thanks for your constructive review. We are continuously reminded by visitors (icluding interior decorators) how tastefully the villa is decorated. Tv's are in the process of being upgraded to flat screens.. but bear in mind SATV is not digital as yet & hence elongated pictures on flat screens! The remotes should work.. however, with regret sometimes guests remove the good batteries! It is always nice when departing guests let us know exactly what needs attention, so that we can get it 100% for the next incoming guests. We are sure that the back garden, which is in fact, the Table Mountain Nature Reserve (The Twelve Apostles), brought your entire party, much pleasure. We look forward to a return visit from you & your party in the not too distant future. We know that the villa offers exceptional value for money. Thank you for staying at Aview!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
leolimonc...
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great stay at a wonderful house, very nice owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just came back from a 10 day vacation in Capetown/Camps Bay. Camps Bay seems to us one of the perfect places to go to and with the villa we rented on Theresa Avenue we hit the jackpot. The vila is very spacious and modern yet cosy with the nicest view of the ocean and Camps Bay from most rooms. A great extra was the backside terrace with view of the twelve Apostles. The bathrooms are very clean, as is the rest of the house. Nothing seems old or not taken care of.

The place is perfect for day tours or for just relaxing all day long at the pool.
We went to Vergelegen wine estate which is only a 45 minute drive from Camps Bay (see oher review, great place!!) and of course to Cape Point and Boulders Beach.
A walk down to Camps Bay is enjoyable and only takes 20 minutes. A little store is in 15 minutes walking distance, they offer the daily necessities and yummy breakfast stuff such as croissants, rolls, baguette etc. We walked there every morning in the sun to get fresh pastries and bread.
For more groceries shopping we can recommend Woolworths Foods or Spar in Sea Point, 10 minutes by car. There is a small Pick'nPay in Camps Bay for groceries but the variety isn't too good there.

A drive to Cape Town only takes 10 minutes. We recommend to walk up or down table mountain while you're there.

The villa's pool is not extremely large but nice and we enjoyed the hot tub until late at night. The pictures on the website reflect reality. The owners, Gillian and Duncan are the nicest people, helpful in every way if necessary. We felt welcome and enjoyed the villa VERY much.

The only "downside" if we had to mention one would be that the internet speed isn't very fast, so checkng emails is fine but trying to open google maps to check out day trip routes could be taking very long. Also the villa sleeps 10 but the pots and pans to cook with are relatively scarce and small so just go out to dinner or have a BBQ on the terrace. :)
EVERYTHING else is PERFECT!

We higly recommend the villa for families or a group of friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the modern, spacious style of and the views from the villa.
Liked least: cooking utensils
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing report. We try our best!
We will be upgrading the WiFi shortly, but have been waiting for a new service in Camps Bay to be rolled out into our neighbourhood. As for the pots & pans.... we can only learn from your comment & increse the number!! Gillian does not know that people do actually cook!!! It must be said that you left the place immaculate! Many thanks, we much appreciated you looking after our villa. You are welcome back ANYTIME!!!

Thank you also for all the useful information that you shared... we are sure that prospective visitors to our villa will find it exceptionally useful.
With kindest regards,

Duncan & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MJ4eva_9
dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

This villa is an absolute gem! We stayed here with 3 people for 1 week in November 2012. It has some of the best sea views from the front and stunning mountain views from the back. The pictures reflect exactly how the villa is, if anything, the place is even more stunning in real life. The villa was clean and the kitchen contains all the modern amenities to make your life easy. The rooms have each their own tv and the bathrooms have both shower and bath. You will have plenty of privacy as it is the last villa from the mountain side. The villa is in an absolute perfect setting with some of the best restaurants and local supermarkets just a few minutes away. Also, it has one of the best security systems we have seen, so you will always feel safe. The owners are the kindest people that will go out of the way to make your stay nothing but wonderful. Always on call, they were extremely professional and available if we needed them. We hope to come back again soon and definitely recommend this villa! It is everything you dreamed off for a perfect holiday.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. As you know, renting a property can be a big risk! We do everything that is reasonably possible to make the villa homely.. the best possible experience for our guests! We feel that we over deliver compared to most other rental villas in Camps Bay. Our pricing is exceptionally competitive. Our position (in our humble opinion) rates as one of the finest in Camps Bay. We get told this over & over again.
Thank you for looking after our villa & we look forward to having you stay at Aview one day in the near future.
With kindest regards,

Duncan & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jc S
Marseille
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, magic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Google Translation

Dans cette maison tout est fait pour le bien-être des locataires.
La vue sur la baie de Camps Bay est fabuleuse, La vue arrière sur les 12 apôtres est d'une beauté incroyable.
Nous avions l'impression d'être chez nous dès la première minute.
Duncan et son épouse sont merveilleux de gentillesse et de disponibilité.
Ce sera notre camp de base, lors de notre prochain voyage en Afrique du sud.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Le cadre, la décoration, la facilité d'utilisation
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at Aview! You had the chance to live in it & experience it as you flew past!!! So glad that you had such a wonderful stay & we look forward to having you stay with us again, one day in the near future. All best wishes!! With kindest regards, Duncan & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$484
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Duncan & Gillian Marshall
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 119 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing