We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience EVER!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View House

Save Saved
You added Ocean View House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Absolutely cannot fault this place.
Location stunning, room stunning, the staff were incredibly friendly - every single one of them!

The breakfast was delicious and the whole setting was beautiful!
We have just got back yesterday after 7 nights here and will definitely be re-booking for next year. I would not stay anywhere else in Camps Bay.

Location wise only 5 minutes from restaurants in Camps Bay and only 15 minutes from V&A Waterfront. Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    39
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
155
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent almost a week along with 3 other couples during April. Ocean View House not only provided wonderful accommodation in a great location but the assistance they gave us during a medical emergency went way beyond the call of duty.

Fabulous breakfast with the most amazing range of fruits on offer - the best I have ever experienced!

A really great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Marilyn R

I trust that you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay and experience at Ocean View House.

Yes, we, the staff at Ocean View House, always strive to exceed guests' expectations by going the extra mile.

We are truly happy to hear that everything worked out well for you and your family.

Breakfast is always a great start to the day, and yes, we do offer a variety of seasonal fruits daily.

Best of luck and we trust to see you in the near future!

Kind Regards
Bronwynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Really recommend this top spot in Camps Bay. Stayed just one night at the end of out trip and booked via Late Rooms and was really pleasantly surprised. Room excellent, view beautiful, breakfast super and really great service. Can't beat it for Camps Bay. Bit of a walk to the heart of Camps Bay which was lovely in the morning but you wouldn't want to do it t night.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the lovely feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Ocean View with our two young daughters, 2 and 4, over Easter and had a really nice time. We took one of the suites which was perfect for the kids as the bedroom and living areas were separated by sliding doors and there was a small kitchenette so that we food make small meals for the kids when they were hungry.

The set up and the gardens are lovely and service is very attentive. The breakfast is very generous and delicious.

The guest house is a short and beautiful stroll away from the restaurants and beach of Camps Bay, so a perfect place for exploring the suburb but also the city of Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Alexkafka,

thank you for the great feedback!

Yes, the Milkwood suite is indeed ideal for a family with children as this room is the only room that has a kitchen and the possibility to separate the sleeping area from the lounge area!
All in all a very spacious room.

We welcome kids of all ages!
Looking forward to welcome you again sometime

Best Regards
Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room and a really pretty setting. We liked the gardens and the hammocks! Fab breakfast by the pool area (unfortunately a little too chilly to get in...). It is a five minute or so drive to Camps Bay but is great value for the quality of the place. Amazing staff too, so helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Lovely Review, thanks!!!! :-)

Liz, thank you for the feedback - although we are heating the pool with solar panels it does cool down quickly again, when it is cloudy during the day and cool at night! At least still a touch warmer than the Atlantic Ocean ;-)

Hope to see you again sometime

Camps Bay greetings

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We finished our holiday in South Africa with 6 nights at Ocean View. Whilst it had many good points, we were a bit disappointed with the room we got, but perhaps we had been spoilt elsewhere!

Our room was described as "luxury" room, but it fell short of the luxury we had experienced at other hotels in SA. It was quite small and it didn't have a bath- only a shower. The bed was only queen-sized and the room had limited decoration and facilities. I would compare it to a room at a Premier Inn in the UK, although it was a bit more tasteful than them. Overall, it fell short of what I would consider to be "luxury".

Apart from that, we had few complaints. Our balcony, although small, had lovely views of the coast and enjoyed full evening sunshine. There was a nice pool area with towels and cushioned sunloungers, plus a small garden, all of which were looked after really well by the maintanance staff.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, gave us good advice (like to go to Fish Hoek for the best beach)! They checked if Table mountain was open, checked that our flight home was OK and supplied fresh milk to our room each day (as we don't like UHT)! They gave us advice and arranged for us to extend our departure from the room until the evening on our last day, even though they were almost full that night. All told, we couldn't fault the service.

They only served breakfasts, but these were superb, with the best range of fruit, cereals, meats and cakes we came across on our stay in SA. They also fresh cooked a full "english" breakfast as required. We walked each evening to Camps Bay and enjoyed the restaurants there, which were of a good quality. We felt quite safe doing that, even though it was dark when we came back.

So it's not too bad really!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony and try to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Henso,

thank YOU so much for such detailed and honest review.

I really think that your review and comments can assist fellow travellers to get a good idea of Ocean View House and what we have to offer.

We have also taken your comment with regards to the Luxury Room Category in consideration and renamed this category to "Classic room" and hope that this description will assist in meeting the guest expectations in future.

Once again thank you for the detailed genuine review!

Till next time in Cape Town

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Ocean View Guest house and used it as a gateway to explore the western cape. The location is great (you can take the Ocean view quite literally), as is the service that is delivered by the very friendly staff.

The only minor thing to be aware of is the lack of a restaurant for dinner - but then, Hout and Camps Bay are only minutes away, so why would you want to dine in anyways?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, Front Office Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Flomilie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay and experience at Ocean View House.

The Ocean View House, indeed, offers unobstructed ocean View from either your private terrace or balcony.

We do offer light lunch, daily, from 12h to 15h, but as you mention, Camps Bay is about 1.5 km walk to our right and Hout Bay about 10km drive to our left, to enjoy Dinner with a beautiful sunset.


We trust that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to ocean View House.

i remain,

With Kind Regards
Bronwynne Du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Address: 33 Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.