We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View House to your Saves list
Ocean View House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Return Guest Special
Ranked #12 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 8 nights at the beginning of March and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a large suite which was very comfortable with fabulous views of the ocean and you could hear the waves crashing on the rocks at night. The gardens are lovely to relax in as is the pool area. Our only regret was that we were trying to pack in so much sightseeing while we were in Cape Town that we rarely had time to just relax by the pool. However, we did enjoy several evenings on our balcony watching the sunset over the ocean with a glass of wine. The breakfasts were very good, and the chef not only cooks but was happy to spend time with us making some helpful suggestions as to places that we should visit. The receptionists were extremely helpful although a couple of times we did think that it might be helpful to have someone on duty past 7 p.m. Ocean View is in a great location as one has the feeling that one is away from all the hussle and bussle - yet it's only a 5 minute drive down to Camps Bay at night for a vast choice of great restaurants. It also only took us about 15 minutes to drive downtown to the V&A Waterfront and other tourist attractions. We would both be very happy to return for another holiday at the Ocean View.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    60
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
217
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We asked our travel agent to book us into somewhere not too far out of Cape Town for one night before our flight home............as we drew near to Camps Bay I realised we had stayed at Ocean View twice before............9 years ago, we loved it then and we loved it this time! Delighted to be back somewhere that had been so good in every respect on previous visits and to find it was still delivering the same level of food and sevice in their wonderful location - only wish we'd remebered how much we'd liked it previously and actually factored in a few days there when planning the trip!! - which we will do next time as, not only is everything about Ocean View just right, it's also in an excellent location for getting out and about.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and would definitely visit again. The accommodation is first class, and staff were so welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was good and we took advantage of the offer of a picnic hamper which did not disappoint. The location is ideal for Camps Bay, Cape Town and surrounding area. The views from the hotel are exceptional and hotel gardens lovely. There is a good sized pool and plenty of comfortable sun loungers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was not our first visit to OCV but it did not disappoint! The location is ideal (a short, flat walk from the very quiet and surprisingly secluded location towards the end of Camps Bay into the buzzing centre). The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, going the extra mile to help us enjoy our stay. The accommodation was spotless, wonderful (and I am fussy), the sunbeds the most relaxing I have ever experienced, and the gardens a real treat. The breakfast 'Specials' menu and day time snacks mean this guest house must be in line for a 5th star! We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Gill & Bill,

thank you for a lovely review! It was great having you back at Ocean View House - coming to work during your stay was alwasy fun. You are part of the family! Looking forward to see you next year - I will get the Picnic basket and chairs ready;-)
Please stay in touch.
Katrin and the Ocean View House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

we stayed four nights at ocean view and loved it. Lovely grounds and sun terraces spacious bright bedroom with lovely ensuite with fabulous ocean views. extremely helpful staff. delicious breakfasts to cater for all tastes and lovely snacks available during the day until 3pm. Amazing honesty bar which was a wonderful facility.(and hopefully never abused)Ideally placed to explore surrounding areas. we were made to feel welcome safe and all our needs were attended to promptly . we would definitely return

Room Tip: all seemed excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Ian r,
thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Ocean View House.
It helps us as well as fellow travelers to make their stay at Ocean View House an unforgetable one! Hope to see you next February.
Katrin and the Ocean View House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommeren
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spend 4 nights and stayed in the Panorama Suite 18, which in our opinion was probably the best room in the house. Very spacious, separate livingroom and bedroom, amazing and spacious bathroom and large balcony with uninterupted seaviews. In the evening we were able to see the sun set in the Atlantic Ocean from our room and we could hear the waves crash on the rocks, only 150 meters from the house. Great location if you want to be close to the sea but still in a quiet location. Not even 5 minutes drive to the busy Camps Bay beach with plenty of restaurants and bars. Very nice breakfast and friendly staff. If you are looking for a nice, unpretentious place in Camps Bay that is affordable but does offer an amazing seaview, then Ocean View House is perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher level where the pool is have better seaview. I would not recommend the poold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very easy to find. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip. We were very pleasantly suprised to be upgraded to a fantastic suite but by all accounts all of the rooms are amazing with great views. My only regret was that we were not there longer to enjoy the pool and relax. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The accommodation is spotless with a great choice at breakfast. The gardens are beautiful and as mentioned before the views of the ocean and 12 apostles are amazing. Great to sit on the balcony with a sundowner. Located about a mile from the bars/restaurants of Camps Bay which is a pleasant walk although taxis are very cheap. Great base to explore all that Cape Town has to offer. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms furnished and decorated to a high standard, would depend on your personal choice and budge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Kimberly T, thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us!
Your feedback is very much appreciated.....and yes 2 days are short to explore Cape Town and surroundings, there is so much to do and see......and at the same time relax ....:-) A good reason to come back for longer next time:-)
Looking forward to welcoming you again - in the meantime I send you some sun to a chilly Glasgow;-) Please stay in touch! Katrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Address: 33 Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.