We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View House is so much more than a place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View House to your Saves list
Ocean View House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Return Guest Special
Ranked #12 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ocean View House is so much more than a place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We have just returned from 10days at Ocean View House.
Like Nigel who commented earlier, we were given a room which did not match the description of the rooms on the web.We immediately addressed our disappointment with the front of house staff and we were moved.
The location,(a few minutes by car from the main strip)the views ,and the gardens are incredible.
Tania is the front of house encyclopedia of where to go and what to see,nothing was too much trouble.
The team of ladies and gents who work behind the scenes make this a fabulous place to stay,everything was done to a very high standard.
If you are looking for a gem this is it.
We started the day with a wonderful breakfast and ended it watching the amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    60
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
217
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Great welcome and hospitality. All of the staff we came into contact with were really brilliant, knowledgable and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton aycliffe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Having read the reveiws on trip advisor we were not disapointed when we arrived actually it was even better. The assistance we got from Tania and Werner was first class and all the staff at the guest house were very friendly and helpful. The location was superb just a 15 minute walk into lovely camps bay and at no time did we feel unsafe. We did various tours and some local driving and at the end of the day we came back to beautiful gardens and watch the magnificant sunset. We intend to return in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

All the staff were very helpful and the room was spotless and comfortable.
Camps Bay was 10 mins walk away to lots of good restaurants
The view was stunning

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband and I wanted to stay near Camps Bay to truly experience summer in South Africa. Ocean View Guest House is just outside Camps Bay which was a complete blessing due to the traffic in town. The hotel was easily accessible to Cape Town and all the surrounding sites. The staff was extremely helpful on booking excursions and suggestions of places to tour not only in Cape Town but through out our time in South Africa.

We were lucky to have a recently remodeled room that overlooked the ocean. Although we were on the main road you could not hear the traffic when the windows were closed. Everynight we watched the sunset dip below the ocean from our balcony. It was the perfect place to start our month long vacation and offerred a great value for everything you got. I would recommend this to anyone going to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful guest hous in December. This is a friendly place about 8 minutes walk from the centre of Camps Bay and with excellent views out over the Ocean. It is well managed and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and you find almost everything you need. Pricewise it is not a bargain

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

When searching for somewhere to stay in Capetown we were amazed at how expensive it is to stay (particularly Camps Bay in the summer), so were delighted to have stumbled across the Ocean View House. Located only 1km away from Camps bay (a 15 min walk realistically) you are spoilt with a tremendous location with stunning ocean views and the 12 appostles/table mountain behind you - all for a reasonable price.
The staff could not have been more helpful from our check-in to helping us with sun loungers, cleaning the room etc - they are a credit to the establishment. We stayed in a luxury room which was nicely appointed and totally adequate. Nevertheless if you want to have absolute luxury plumb for the best rooms and they really are truly elegant (very modern). The breakfasts are great with cooked and cold things on offer, although you will have to cater for yourselves at lunch and dinner as its not offered (being a guest house). This isn't a problem though because Camps Bay is so close and has a miriad of restaurants - or you can even get food delivered to the hotel and eat on your balcony overlooking the sea (ask for menu's at reception)! Don't let the 'guest house' tag put you off, it is truly a hotel in its own regard and a place I would gladly go back to.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Address: 33 Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.