We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Place on the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Place on the Bay to your Saves list
The Place on the Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Our room was perfect. It was sea facing, had a full roof sky light, plus excellent self contained facilities. The staff were excellent, friendly, professional and very friendly. The only thing I could possibly advise other travellers of is that the safe was slightly temperamental, but the on site concierge sorted the issue very promptly. This was for our honeymoon and I would recommend it to all traveller lucky enough to stay in camps bay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Louisecairn
A big thank you for the feedback. I am glad to hear that our staff was excellent and that you enjoyed your honeymoon in Camps Bay.
All the very best for your future and hope to see you one day again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    67
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
96
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Camps Bay is one of the most spectacular places around Cape Town with the beach and the Table Mountain as a background. The hotel is within walking distance of Good restaurants and interesting bars where you can have a cool one as you watch the sun go down.

The Place on the Bay is convenient if nothing else. As a a family we had a roomy apartment over 2 floors. Rooms were on the small side. There is a pool area. The place is slightly on the neglected side, it could do with bit of sprucing up. In summary I would call the place convenient rather than inviting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Martin H
Thank you very much for your feedback. I will make sure that the pool is well looked after.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at The place on the Bay and we were a bit disappointed. You couldn't knock the location as its right on the beach and you can watch the sunset from your balcony and walk out to fabulous restaurants but we felt the accommodation was a bit tired.

We had booked a two bedroomed deluxe apartment and overall it was a bit tired, a bit dark and a bit dingey

On our first night the hotel is next to a bar and the noise was terrible with pumping music going on until the early hours, however it didn't happen again which we were grateful for as we had two children with us that couldn't sleep. In the morning the noise started again but this time it was the staff starting work at 07:00.

Overall its ok if you want a great location and probably not bad if you are with friends and enjoying the nightlife but we expected more and felt it was just average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel unless its a weekend when the bar is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear VicsM71
Thank you for your feedback and you right - if you have children, rather stay more to the back. The night life in Camps Bay is very busy - speacially in season - but it calm down later.
Happy that you enjoyed the sunsets.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Friends of our were married in the region and The Place on the Bay was one of their recommendations for Camps Bay accommodation.

I booked online, very easy, I think through a 3rd party vendor (the Booking Button). We received a helpful email prior to our arrival, directions, etc. We had a TomTom and found the location easily. They have free secure parking onsite.

Being in Cape Town for a wedding and in happening, gorgeous Camps Bay, we did not spend much time in the room. That said, we were still fortunate enough to receive an upgrade as Place on the Bay was doing some shuffling to accommodate all their enquiries. My partner and I booked a studio for 2 nights at ZAR 1,400 per night which is the equivalent to USD 300. We actually ended up with a 2 bedroom deluxe suite that has its own little pool, kitchen, etc. Very nice of them!

Everything was ready and clean each day. The properties are older but they have made efforts to keep the design and decor new and fresh. The age only shows up in some of the furnishings and bathroom. But for this location and value, I think its great.

We didnt eat at the restaurant attached but it smelled good. You have lots of choices for restaurants, cafes, bars, beach right outside the door. We fell in love with The Grand Cafe next door / around the corner.

I would recommend The Place on the Bay and would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: These images are from the 2 bedroom deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Cocorotsie
Thank you very much for the photo`s you uploaded - much appreciated!!
Camps Bay is always a good choice if you want to have a really good holiday combines with a wedding because of all the bars and restaurants. With most of Cape Town`s attractions close by, it is a easy choice.
Thank you for the compliment about the cleanliness of your apartment. I will tell the staff.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was a good wedding.
Kind regards and keep well!! Hope to see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is obvious from some of the recent reviews that some have had a very bad experience here. But I can't fully contribute to that view. I am not saying it was excellent but more than adequate for our 4 night stay. We had a 2 bedroom apartment right at the front overlooking the beach and just above the pool with a veranda to front and side. The bedrooms were spacious and clean (although one of the sliding wardrobe doors did not slide). Bathroom with shower upstairs and toilet with shower cubicle downstairs and kitchen area. Must say showers were very good in relation to power and hot water.
As we were out nearly all day the apartment was absolutely fine for what we wanted. It was right over from the beach and right next to bars and restaurants. There was some road noise at night but not enough to keep you awake. They could consider putting some complimentary bottles of water in the fridge for your arrival. But in general I found the staff very friendly and helpful. All in all I can't really find much to fault the hotel but that is not to say others will find the same view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear BasilEdenburgh
Thank you for this review!!!! I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you had a good time in our beautiful city!!
To stay in an apartment right in front is always a plus because of the beach and beautiful sunsets. For that you can tolerate the little bit of noise.
Keep well and hope to see you in Place on the Bay again (Will remeber about your water).
Kind regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite in the Place on the Bay. We found the staff very accommodating, the suite was massive, comfortable and very clean and the view was stunning. It is perfectly placed just down from the bars and restaurants but I didn't hear any noise from them in the room.

Don't forget to ask if you want pool towels at reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Holly Star

A big thank you for your review and I am really happy that you had a wonderful stay. Hopefully the weather was good as well.
Winter arrived overnight and it is much cooler now but our winters are also very good with temperatures up to 25C
Hope to see you again in Camps Bay with us.
Kind regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A total rip off. Our room was outside the actual hotel overlooking a busy noisy road as well as all the restaurant noise at night. Toilet was broken and hotel refused to move us. We paid for the deluxe suite with a jacuzzi.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. We have stayed all over the world and this has been our worst experience. How it is rated 4 stars I have no idea.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear MRParodi
I am so sorry we could not move you because we were fully booked. Your unit is part of the hotel - it is just that the entrance to this unit is just outside the side gate.
The toilet was fixed immediately after you report it the next morning.
Hope you enjoyed your last night in our Penthouse and take that memories with you!!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.