We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place on the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Place on the Bay to your Saves list
The Place on the Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was my first time in Cape Town and the hotel impressed me, not only by the facilities but also by the well educated staff. I spent an amazinh week where the hotel staff supported me with all the arrangements for doing sightseeing and at the same time we had a blast using the swimming pool with a beautiful view of the bay. It's worth in all senses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    67
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
95
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights early in spring and had an enjoyable stay. The location is fantastic - almost on Camps bay beach and not far away from the city centre and other attractions. We had a studio room which consisted of a large double bed, a well sized kitchen which was fully equipped, bathroom, lounge area and an outside patio. The views were great, beach on one side and the mountains behind us. The property is starting to look a bit dated. However there are good special offers that you can find which suited us well. There is also a restaurant on site and we throughly enjoyed the breakfasts there. The hotel is also just meters away from the numerous bars, cafes and restaurants in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The room was above and beyond sufficient. Perfect spot! Staff were all very friendly (except receptionist, ironically) and welcoming. Had a super stay there and couldn't have asked for better. Great value for money. Safe parking. Very convenient. Room was suitable for a long term stay too - very cleverly designed and equipped. Will definitely be back if I ever need a room in Camps Bay again. The pillows were too fat though! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Go in the winter! You can get a good room overlooking the bay if you do! This was wonderful. I woke up to the ocean pounding, the palm trees waving and the moon setting in the west over the Atlantic. I could watch the volleyball on the beach from my balcony and the crazies surfing in the frigid, jellyfish infested water. Every single one of the hospitality crew were extremely helpful and tirelessly accommodating to this old lady who was a bit intimidated by driving on the other side of the road and such experiences. I was carefully coached and counseled about what to do and what not to do (take the city bus, don't take the small vans, etc.) The room was very nice though the water, as one might expect in Africa, could sometimes be a bit of a problem with flow and temperature. This room was self catering with every piece of equipment you need and a grocery store with ATM within walking distance. Location is the best! Price is right for the winter. Restaurant next door, mountains in the back. Everything you need for a pleasant stay no matter the season.

Room Tip: Go in the winter for the best room choice. In summer they book months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

whooops - chose the tail end of "winter" but still great weather.

value - excellent
location - pretty good, by the beach, safe, with the exception of the occasional creeper (yes, we had a bum our first night, but after that a OK)
beds, TV, bed, service - all great.

only exceptions:
-either we didn't figure it out, but we always have to hit the "call" button to get back into the hotel. would've been better if we could just swipe our card...
-registered for a taxi coming from Cape Town, and they forgot!! don't know if it was on hotel's part or taxi's. anyway, we got an apology e-mail so it was all good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Place on the Bay was great. Staff were most helpful from day one to the end. Unit was well kept and offered us a true home away from home experience by allowing us to operate to our own schedule and requirements and yet be in a location normally reserved for prime hotels. Location is difficult to beat in Cape Town and my family - all first time visitors to C.T. were very happy and thoroughly enjoyed the time. Also perfectly located for meals and evenings out within walking distance!

Room Tip: We were on a side road and though on street leve this location limited street noise to a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

With a beach front room you can live right on the beach like you are one of Cape Towns wealthiest home owners. Great view of the beach and access to heaps of great restaurants. While more self service then hotel style the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Defiantly ask for the rooms at tge front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.