We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantic Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Atlantic Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I arrived at the Bay from the Blue Train - and the luxury continued. The management had upgraded us to a sea view room as we were celebrating a birthday, together with a fruit basket, cake and wine. The room was super - throw open the balcony doors and invite the breath of the Atlantic Ocean to refresh your senses. Breakfasts are served late - to midday at least and the staff - Yolanda in particular - extremely friendly and helpful. The location is so good - plunge pools are fun and if pool side service was a little on the slow side, well, that just meant more time to enjoy the wonderful views. We were booked for 4 nights and then a further 4 at the Radisson, near the V&A Waterfront. In hindsight, we should have stayed the full 8 nights at the Bay - something we will be sure to do next time. We did have a slight problem with Room Service, but Mark, the manager, rectified this the next day by offering a complimentary meal in the Bistro, which was most acceptable.

Room Tip: Our room, 233, was superb with great sea views, 30 seconds from the pool deck and just along the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear laurence_kevin. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments following your Birthday celebration at the hotel. We are truly delighted to hear that you and your partner enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in the future, hopefully for a longer stay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    114
    58
    22
    19
See reviews for
43
308
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Returned to our room on the first evening to find scattered rose petals along the floor and bed, a bottle of champagne and a chocolate cake-a lovely touch. Rooms were clean a stylishly decorated. Great views from our room overlooking the pool/sea-amazing sunsets whilst sipping delicious cocktails. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear emegriff. Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and are planning to share your experience with your family and friends. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future and assure you of our best service and personal attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We started our South Africa trip with three nights at the Bay hotel. The last time we went there was 15 years ago and we were looking forward to the stay very much indeed....this time with our three children. The hotel is still great but if I'm honest parts of it are looking a little 'tired'....the bathrooms in our two rooms were clearly in need of a refurb.....tiles were cracked, taps well worn etc. but the rooms were still clean and pleasant.
Incidentally we booked 'adjoining rooms' which do not exist in this hotel , which was annoying. So we split the adults and shared with the kids....not the end of the world but worth noting.
The food was good, service a bit slow (but we reminded ourselves this is meant to be a chilled out place), the front desk staff very helpful when planning trips etc and couldn't have been more helpful. The pool area is quite small and 'grown up'. The hotel wasn't so full, so we had some fun in the pool but it's not really a pool for kids to frolic in and splash about. The 'kids' room went down well with out two youngest (9 and 10). My wife tried the spa but left a little disappointed....a 45 minute massage really equates to 30 mins by the time forms have been filled and general faffing about.
The hotel is right in the middle of Camps Bay so close to lots of good restaurants and right opposite a beautiful beach. There's not much to do in Camps Bay aside from the beach and a few decent restaurants but for us, for the start of our trip it was perfect. 15 mins by taxi into the 'Waterfront' area and 10 mins by taxi from Table Mountain, 30 mins from the airport. Getting around by taxi was very cheap and at times we took the hotel cars (Porsche Panameras) which meant paying £12 into town rather than £9 by normal taxi!! Good fun and worth the extra money!
Food is very cheap in SA and our bill when we left was embarrassingly small.
In short, it's a great hotel, a few things that weren't so amazing (bathrooms, massage and service wasn't always fast) but I'd recommend staying there.

Room Tip: There are no adjoining rooms so families need to remember this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
266MatthewT266. Thank you for posting a review of the hotel and your comments, which we accept as being constructive. Firstly, we are happy to note that your stay with us was enjoyable and satisfactory in most respects, and disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in other areas. All feedback, be it positive or negative, is important to us as it provides us with the opportunity to develop and improve our service delivery. We trust that despite this, we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at the hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have read so many of the reviews about The Bay Hotel I thought its time that I had my say.
I have stayed at the bay 6 times now over past years and all I can say is this place is a rite gem.
I feel so relaxed when I am there. The staff are so helpful, they stretch that extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable.
Until November 26th, seems ages away. See you all then.
Camil get the Tanqueray 10 ready!

Room Tip: Beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear LMP-Hull. Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us, and for your continued patronage. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at the hotel and look forward to seeing you later this year. Unitl then, warm regards. P.S. Caamil will have the Tanqueray 10 ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

To start with they did not pick us up at the airport with the hotel Porsche as had been pre-arranged. Then I booked the hotel car to take us to a restaurant. The driver did not show. I asked for the manager, Sean Geyser, and I was told he was busy then saw him hanging out with friends. The hotel driver couldn't pick us up from the restaurant because I was told he didn't show up for work at all. The next day I complained and instead of politely listening (client should be always right) he (Mr. Geyser) interrupted and argued with me. The wifi sucked. The view is nice. That's all. And plenty of other choices with same view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear haagensena. Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at the hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you were made to suffer as a result of poor service on our part. This is definitely not the norm and what we aim to offer our guests, and we will be addressing the issue as a matter of urgency with the relevant staff in order to improve our service in this department. I sincerely hope that you will be returning to The Bay Hotel and would appreciate your contacting the writer at manager@thebay.co.za so that I have the opportunity of ensuring that you recieve the treatment to which you are entitled. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed 6 nights. The hotel facilities are clean and nice. Personel is kind and professional. The spa is top notch!!
We most appreciated the big pool (better for the kids). But there are 3 other more quiet, "adult" pools right up front. Restaurant was great along with wine list.
We had a gorgeous suite (top floor) with 2 terraces (one with an outdoor jacuzzi, amazing at sun sunset!!), with a dining area.
Our girls most loved the transfer to the V&A waterfront using the hotel car (a Porsche Panamera!!) driven by Dereck, a kind and safe driver.
Lots of restaurants and commodities stores right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, try the suites! If not, ask for ocean view rather than moutain view (we had both, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Virginie M. Thank you for staying at The Bay Hotel on your recent visit to Camps Bay. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed everything that the hotel has to offer. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our first trip to South Africa and we loved it. The hotel made a great impression from the start. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a beautiful and spacious room overlooking the bay. From our lovely balcony we could watch life on the beach but the road between it and the hotel was largely hidden from view. It would be worth paying for the upgrade but I’m sure the view at the back would be good, too. We arrived early morning and the room wasn’t ready, but there’s a changing room so we could get out of our travel clothes and sit by the pool. The Bistro does lovely lunches and you can buy cakes to take to your room, which we did. We spent some hours in the afternoons on our balcony enjoying the cake, complimentary tea and coffee, and the view. This was particularly good on the windy days we had there – and it can get very windy (late February), but that didn’t interfere with anything we wanted to do. All members of staff were great and we had excellent recommendations for dinner (Codfather, Gold & Zen Zero), and there was no hesitation in organising trips for us. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff, again, brilliant. We were greeted by name and every effort was made to ensure we enjoyed our stay in the area. The hotel has two fantastic bars and a wonderful location, right by more excellent bars and restaurants. I could go on, but just read other reviews. Suffice to say, we don’t often go to the same place twice, but we do hope to visit the Bay Hotel again.

Room Tip: One on the front overlooking the pool and bay - we had 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Holleeds. Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and have shared your comments with our colleagues. We are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering 5-star luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.