We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theres a review titled "waste of money"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Camps Bay
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Theres a review titled "waste of money"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I completely agree with the review titled "waste of money" i dont believe ive ever tried harder to get into this hotel and have been so disappointed. The linens and quality of the room/bathroom must be the worst Ive ever stayed in. The pool which is clearly the ONLY reason I can see people enjoying is in the middle of a parking lot. A very basic of delvering coffee in the morning was worse than dishwater. The room has furniture in it that looks like it was constructed by a blind man. On checking in their internet was not working and when it did it was useless. They had no extra hangers and when I finally told them to go out and buy some.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Clingpeach. We thank you for your detailed comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel and advise that they will be referred to our management for action. We are most distressed to note the unpleasant experience you had, and for these we extend our apologies. We are, however, firmly of the opinion that your experience is exceptional and does not confirm to the norm at the hotel. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    100
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
37
280
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great location
Manager Graeme needs to worry about service as apposed to letting people who are not guests into the pool area
Breakfast service wasn't great
Awesome pool
Rooms perfect
Reception staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear HackyG. Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is noted that your experience at the hotel was less than perfect, and for this we apologise. We can assure you that, at all times, we endeavour to satisfy our guests to the best of our abilities, and do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks very Nice, The rooms are Nice. People are Friendly. Service is Good. The view At The sea is Amazing.
The street Between hotel and sea is a Little bit noisy but we did like The action on The street. The only thing that could BE better is a fine dining restaurant. I hope The next time i Will go they Have a Nice restaurant of their own.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Ellen B. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a real pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay and thank you also for your comment regarding our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming back in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days and loved it. My room was facing the water above a pool so the view was spectacular. See the attached pictures and judge for yourself. The hotel I was told is the only one in Camps Bay so if you want to stay there you do not have much choice. The amount I paid for the room was excessive but if you want to stay in Camps Bay you have to pay the price. Camps Bay is only about 4 short blocks long. The waterfront street is wall to wall restaurants, some of which are good but most of which are overpriced tourist traps. Watch your bill carefully in these places because they are not above overcharging you. There is a convenient grocery store two blocks to the left of the hotel where you can stock up on evening munches. The hotel's breakfast was superb with both a cold buffet and hot made to order food. There is a cigar bar in the hotel but the cheapest cigar they had was about $35 US which was out of my price range. The other nice thing about the hotel was that you could walk around at night without having to worry about being mugged. This nicety was not available at the other hotels I stayed in in the city center. Service everywhere in the hotel was flawless. I guess my only complaint with the hotel was that they give you only a short period of free Internet and the charge excessive amounts for added time,
Bottom line is the hotel was great and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Taniquan. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in such detail. We are firstly thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments, which we accept as being constructive. We trust that we will have a opportunity of welcoming back in the future and assure you of our best attention at all times. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

ups:
- location is great in front of the beach - if that is what you want (it's 15 mins from Cape Town centre)
- service is very attentive and with a smile from all personnel
- room is big and mine had direct access to the pool area.
- breakfast is all you could wish for

no downs, no so-so. just ticking all the right boxes. ok the price? it's not cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear dirkdewilde. Many thanks for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary. As a treat, I decided to book us into the Bay Hotel in Camps Bay.
We have never had such a wonderful anniversary! Carla and her team made us feel like V VIP's from the moment of arrival to the morning that we left. Not only was our room upgraded from what I had booked but upgraded to the penthouse!! When we checked in there were rose petals spread on the floor leading up the stairs to our room, champagne on ice and two lovely pieces of cake to indulge on.
The room was stunning - have never had anything like it before with magnificent views of the ocean and all I can say is that we were totally spoilt and will have fond memories for a long time to come....will definitely be back next year. Thank you once again to Carla and all of the team for making our anniversary as special as you did.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear MSG_32. Congratulations. We are delighted that you chose The Bay Hotel to celebrate your anniversary and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your wonderful feedback, which we have shared with Carla and the team, and look forward to welcoming back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just came back from a 2 week vacation in Cape Town and 2 nights were spent at The Bay in Camps Bay. Generally the hotel is recommendable for its superb location and the service. It is right by the beach on Camps Bay and so was very convenient to get around. If you are a fan of the Hop-on/Hop-Off bus tours, there is a stop directly outside the hotel which brings you to the city and to Table Mountain. The only thing is that the rooms are looking a bit dated and a little sprucing up can go a long way. The design of the bedroom and bathroom were still a bit like in the early 90s and was not really my style but guess most people might be ok with it. There is nothing to complain about the cleanliness and tidiness of the room though. The common areas are kept up and the pool area is amazing with a huge pool! The Sandy B private club is like just on the other side of the main entrance where the bar is and private members have access to it including hotel guests. It’s like a lounge area with a plunge pool looking across the car park to the beach and it’s a nice place for a sun downer but in Camps Bay you are spoilt for choice where to go for a sun downer. Breakfast is a buffet where you get the usual stuff plus a hot dish you can order from the menu which is included. They have 2 private cars you can book to bring you to your destinations and they charge like 50 Rand for a 10mins ride and 150 Rand all the way to the city centre. The plus point, you get either an Audi A8 or a Porsche Panamera to arrive in style! Overall I would rate the hotel above-average instead of excellent only because it is slightly pricey for what you get but if you get a good deal, go for it!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear CNTraveller74. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for letting us know how we are doing. Your feedback is appreciated as it is through the observations of our guests that we are able to maintain our standards of service. We are of course delighted to note that you enjoyed the hotel and our location and trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Bay Hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering 5-star luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.