We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was our first stop on an amazing 2 week tour of South Africa, and it was our favourite hotel. On check in we were given a voucher for 2 full body massages, which was a lovely touch and later on in the day a bottle of bubbly and passion fruit cheescake, what a way to start our honeymoon! The room itself was fantastic, spacious with two levels, leading out on to a veranda which led out to the pool. The view from the hotel is very special, we just loved Camps Bay and wouldn't have stayed anywhere else in Cape Town. Staff were great, hotel was spotless, breakfast amazing, with so much choice - my hubby was in cooked breakfast heaven!! I was particularly fond of the french toast, with maple syrup and bacon - yum. We had the best meal of the honeymoon in the hotel, it was 5 course tasting menu evening for the launch of new wines by a local company. There are also great restaurants nearby, in particular a place called the Codfather in Camps Bay, fantastic seafood! If you want to stay in Cape Town but want a beachy location this is the place to go, the beach is directly opposite the hotel, but watch out...the water is cold!! And that's coming from a couple of scots!! The Bay hotel was the perfect start to a perfect honeymoon and we would love to go back some day....

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably had a sea view but ground floor have a veranda with direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    116
    58
    22
    20
See reviews for
44
312
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you want to experience the beauty of Camps Bay 1st hand, this is the place to stay. Very good service, lovely views and good food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

As all will say location,location,location but there is work needed to be done. Lifts not working then one but i would rather walk. Rooms were spacious but if you are over 5ft 8 the showers are a problem. Being 6ft 2" the shower spray was on my chest. I had to bend to actually wet myself and pressure was not great, therefore needs an overhaul. Reception area needs to look like a 5 star hotel. Asked for good restaurants outside of Camps Bay could not really help. Staff I found were hospitable and helpful.Breakfast was great but after staying for more than three days the buffet becomes a bit boring but this is like most hotels.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is a must, you do not want a side view of the mountain as you will face the bowlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and please accept our sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. We aspire to provide an exceptional experience to all our guests and it is hugely disappointing that this appears not to have been the case with you.

Unfortunately the hotel has been dealing with a reoccurring problem with the one elevator and I can assure you that this issue is a top priority.
Thank you for your constructive criticism with regards to our Buffet breakfast and our Reception staff this issue has been raised with our head of departments.

I truly hope that you will grant us the opportunity to win you over with our improvements with a future visit.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked our anniversary night stay, and we were incredibly impressed with the service, the way we were welcomed and made to feel at home. We will certainly be back and tell everyone of our fantastic experience!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a comfortable hotel in a great position that needs to work harder to maintain their reputation as one of CapenTown's best. The housekeeping staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing too much trouble - in contrast to the front desk staff who were often aloof and uncommunicative. Service in the restaurant at breakfast was very slow (allow plenty of time for anything cooked) and the organization in the otherwise excellent Spa seemed very hit-and-miss. (My wife tried to make appointments for 3 days running, leaving messages which were never returned.) Very comfortable room with lots of amenities, but at these prices that's what one would expect. Tellingly, one of the two elevators in the hotel was out of order for the whole of our six-day stay, which speaks volumes about management priorities. Laurels are clearly being rested upon here, and there are now better options in this competitive area at this price level.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We view your feedback with high regard and consider the fact that you had a less than satisfactory stay as a serious concern.

I am most pleased that the housekeeping staff were helpful yet i am disappointed that you found our front office staff to be uncommunicative and unfriendly. We are continuously working on creating the theatre for the hotel and believe that the front desk staff should be the “opening act” to a brilliant show. I will ensure that management use your feedback constructively and include it as part of our winter workshop.

My sincerest apology for the slow service at breakfast, I will take this matter up with our chef and his team.

Regarding the spa, i have asked the spa manager to address the issue with both the therapists as well as the front office staff and investigate the reason as to why your wife’s calls were not returned. I will forward you any feedback i receive.

Unfortunately the hotel has been dealing with a reoccurring problem with the one elevator and i can assure you that this issue is a top priority for all managers concerned.

In light of your feedback, I truly hope your unfavourable experience will not deter you from returning to our establishment in the future. We would love to wow you in creating a better “show at our beautiful theatre”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and again it didn't disappoint. The hotel is in a prime location in walking distance to beautiful restaurants and the beach and only a short drive to the waterfront.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were only there for 5 days but the hotel was well work the experience. Beautiful location and in general the staff did everything they could do to help. One small criticism, the service in the restaurant was slow at time but otherwise, I would highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering 5-star luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.