We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best steak in the world?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hussar Grill, Camps Bay

The Hussar Grill, Camps Bay
108 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
27 21 438 0151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best steak in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We've been coming to the Hussar Grill for several years, whenever we come to Cape Town, and are always looking forward to eating here. The steaks are out of this world and cooked to perfection all the time. With BYO without corkage you cannot beat this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    114
    27
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“you have to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

fantastic old fashioned steak house, we had the best steak of our lives, and for a Brit really cheap!I cant say enough good things about the reataurant, but you must book work is already out

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great steaks, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We started with cocktails - Margaritas, followed by a great meal - the steaks were fabulous. Bentley looked after us very well and we had a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camps Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favourite restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I am part of the furniture. I don't have a bad thing to say about a place which is so good, it has been around for 50 years. Unbelievable burgers, ribs and steaks and at completely non rip off prices! Well Done Hussar!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazingly delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

food and service fantastic, we will be back - we visited with friends while on holiday and enjoyed ourselves so much we went back 3 times in a weeks visit

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill, Camps Bay also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill, Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hussar Grill, Camps Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.